Like this site? Help us to make it better.


Tour of Britain Stage 7: Swift grabs first pro win as Boasson Hagen extends lead

With one stage to go Boasson Hagen looks to have it in the bag

Ben Swift scored his first professional win in today's 7th stage of the Tour of Britian, and became the first Brit to win a stage of their home tour for two years. In the process he denied race leader Edvald Boasson Hagen what would have been his fifth straight stage victory.

The Norwegian race leader had to settle for third place behind Swift's Katusha team mate Filippo Pozzato, but he did manage to stretch his lead in the overall competition to 23 seconds over the Dutch rider Rai Kreus (Rabobank).

Top 20 Tour of Britain Stage 20

1) Ben Swift (Team Katusha)                        3:52:19  
2) Filippo Pozzato (Team Katusha)    
3) Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Columbia - HTC)    
4) Mauro Finetto (CSF Group - Navigare)    
5) Alan Marangoni (CSF Group - Navigare)    
6) Geraint Thomas (Barloworld)    
7) Kai Reus (Ned) Rabobank )    
8) Christopher Sutton (Garmin - Slipstream)    
9) Kristof Vandewalle (Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator)    
10) Huub Duyn (Garmin - Slipstream)    
11) Michal Golas (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team)    
12) Martin Reimer (Cervelo Test Team)    
13) Simon Clarke (ISD-Neri)    
14) Dan Craven (Rapha Condor)    
15) Brice Feillu (Agritubel)    
16) Russell Downing (Candi TV- Pinarello RT)    
17) Nicolas Roche (AG2R La Mondiale)    
18) Carlo Scognamiglio (Barloworld)    
19) Graham Briggs (Candi TV- Pinarello RT)    
20) Aitor Galdos (Euskaltel - Euskadi)

Top 10 on General Classification after Stage 7

1) Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Columbia - HTC)        26:09:32  
2) Kai Reus (Rabobank)                                0:00:23  
3) Martin Reimer (Cervelo Test Team)                  0:00:25  
4) Christopher Sutton (Garmin - Slipstream)           0:00:28  
5) Russell Downing (Candi TV- Pinarello RT)           0:00:37  
6) Geraint Thomas ( Barloworld)                       0:00:40  
7) Geoffroy Lequatre (Agritubel)                      0:00:43  
8) Simon Clarke (ISD-Neri)                            0:00:44  
9) Reinier Honig (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team)       0:00:46  
10) Kristian House (Rapha Condor)

Tony has been editing cycling magazines and websites since 1997 starting out as production editor and then deputy editor of Total Bike, acting editor of Total Mountain Bike and then seven years as editor of Cycling Plus. He launched his first cycling website - the Cycling Plus Forum at the turn of the century. In 2006 he left C+ to head up the launch team for Bike Radar which he edited until 2008, when he co-launched the multi-award winning - which he continues to edit today. His favourite ride is his ‘commute’ - which he does most days inc weekends and he’s been cycle-commuting since 1994. His favourite bikes are titanium and have disc brakes.

Latest Comments