Like this site? Help us to make it better.


Final four teams announced for Tour of Britain

Katusha, Rabobank, Joker Bianchi and ISD-Neri get ready

With only nine days to go before the start of The Tour of Britain, organisers SweetSpot Group have announced the names of the remaining four teams to make up the total line up for this year’s event. They are Katusha, Rabobank, Joker Bianchi and ISD-Neri.

All four squads make their Tour of Britain debuts, with Rabobank bringing former Tour of Britain winner Mauricio Ardila to the race, while Katusha boast former King of the Mountains Ben Swift and stage winner Filippo Pozzato among their provisional line-up.

Both Joker Bianchi and ISD-Neri bring strong rosters to The Tour, with both teams more than capable of winning stages or featuring high in the overall classification in their first appearance in the race. The final four teams and their riders are:

ISD-Neri - Bartozs Huzarsky, Simon Clarke, Ruslan Pidgornyy, Oleksandr Kvachuk, Denys Kostyuk, Vitaliy Kondrut.

Joker Bianchi - Alexander Kristoff, Frederik Willmann, Stian Remme, Sondre Sortveit, Lars Petter Nordhaug, Vegard Stake Laengen.

Rabobank - Mauricio Ardila, Graeme Brown, Stef Clement, Laurens Ten Dams, Grischa Niermann, Joost Posthuma.

Team Katusha - Ben Swift, Vladimir Karpets, Danilo Napolitano, Filippo Pozzato, Evgueni Petrov.

This year sees eight Tour de France teams, who won 12 stage between them this summer, competing for the yellow leader’s jersey on British soil – Agritubel, Ag2r La Mondiale, Cervélo Test Team, Euskaltel-Euskadi, Katusha, Garmin-Slipstream, Rabobank and Team Columbia-HTC.

The Tour of Britain runs from September 12-19, starting in Scunthorpe and finishing a week later on Victoria Embankment, London. And the first of two Tour of Britain amateur rides to promote The Prostate Cancer Charity takes place this Sunday in Stoke-on-Trent.


Latest Comments