Like this site? Help us to make it better.


Lincoln to host 2015 British Cycling National Road Championships

Road race circuit to feature Michaelgate cobbled climb

The routes for the 2015 British Cycling National Road Championships have been announced. Taking place in Lincolnshire from Thursday 25 to Sunday 28 June, the time trials will begin on Cadwell Park Motor Racing Circuit, while the road race will tackle the Michaelgate cobbled climb which is used in the Lincoln Grand Prix.

The elite men’s and women’s road races take place on the Sunday. Starting at The Yarnborough Leisure Centre – which will also serve as race headquarters and team village – they will take in the villages of Stow, Willingham by Stow, Kexby, and Corringham on a 28-mile loop followed by laps of a finishing circuit. The men will complete 10 laps of the circuit in a 186km race, while the women will do four laps as part of a 101km race.

The route is a variation of that used for the 2014 Lincoln Grand Prix, the centrepiece of which is the steep cobbled climb up Michaelgate in Lincoln.

British Cycling’s cycle sport and membership director, Jonny Clay, said of the route:

“The prestigious Lincoln Grand Prix has been an integral feature of the British Cycling elite road racing calendar for decades so it is fitting that in its 60th year, the city will host the biggest single day bike race on the calendar.

“The routes for the 2015 championships will present riders with challenging courses which will see the first uphill finish at the road race championships for a number of years. With the famous cobbled climb of Michaelgate featuring heavily in the road race courses, we can expect to see enthralling battles which will produce worthy champions.”

You can see a video about the 2011 Lincoln Grand Prix here, which inclues footage of the key Michaelgate climb.

The elite time trials take place on the Thursday and begin on the Cadwell Park Motor Racing Circuit before heading off into the Lincolnshire Wolds. Speaking to the Lincolnshire Echo, Jonathan Palmer, Chief Executive of Cadwell Park owners MSV, said:

“Cadwell Park is adored by motorcycle racers because of its twisting, undulating, and challenging layout, and by spectators because of its beautiful setting in the Lincolnshire Wolds.

“We’re sure the country’s top road racing cyclists will find it just as exciting, and we’re honoured to be hosting them.”

The women’s event is 21km long, while the men will complete two laps of the same course.

The current national time trial champions are Emma Pooley and Bradley Wiggins who triumphed earlier this year in Monmouthshire, while the current national road race champions are Peter Kennaugh and Laura Trott.

Alex has written for more cricket publications than the rest of the team combined. Despite the apparent evidence of this picture, he doesn't especially like cake.

Add new comment


ColT | 9 years ago

Look out for Colin Sturgess. Planning to ride 25 years after winning there.  16

Latest Comments