Home
Verdict: 
Really high quality hardshell with pro-level fit and performance
Weight: 
287g

Gore has been making bike gear for 30 years now (as shown here) and some of what it's learned has been distilled into this Oxygen 2.0 Gore-Tex Active anniversary jacket, which is an excellent hard shell for winter riding in all conditions. At north of £200 it's expensive, but you won't be disappointed with the performance.

The Active in the name refers to Gore's Active membrane, which is "built for extreme breathability and ideal for highly aerobic, done in a day activities", according to Gore. "All components are built for optimized sweat management to ensure extreme breathability and optimum comfort in high aerobic conditions. The performance is also supported by a tight fitting and minimalistic garment design.' So there you go: expect a high quality race-fit top that's good for sweaty, high-intensity riding.

> Find your nearest dealer here

> Buy this online here

That's what Gore promises, and that's what it delivers. This really is an excellent fast riding top.

Gore 30th Oxygen 2.0 Gore-Tex Active Jacket On Bike

The cut is sufficiently bike-orientated for it to feel a little ungainly off it – it pulls at the shoulders a bit and feels tight across the chest. Once you're on the bike and riding, though, it's exactly right. There's plenty of room in the arms without them being over-long or wide, with a zip cuff to allow you to get your hands in without needing extra material.

Gore 30th Oxygen 2.0 Gore-Tex Active Jacket - cuff

The collar rises at the back to keep more of your neck covered (and more water out in a downpour) and the tail drops to cover your lower back well. It's elasticated too, with silicone grippers to keep it in place. I felt I could have done with maybe an extra few centimetres of length.

Gore 30th Oxygen 2.0 Gore-Tex Active Jacket Back

There's some subtle gold reflective on the tail, and also on the arms, collar and cuffs. If you don't want a stealthy black one there's a black and red option too.

The jacket doesn't have any pockets, instead opting for two long zips that allow you to get into your jersey for snacks or spares. If you're a bit warm these can also be opened for venting, although obviously that compromises the waterproofing of the jacket. And being waterproof is something it does very well. Fully taped seams all round mean there's no water ingress through the fabric and the aforementioned collar and cuffs are better than most at guarding against trickles. I've completed two-hour rides in genuinely unpleasant conditions with very little dampness getting in: a small amount from the side zips, and a little soaking in from the cuffs, but nothing through the fabric, at all.

Gore 30th Oxygen 2.0 Gore-Tex Active Jacket Pocket

The Active membrane also makes the Oxygen 2.0 jacket very windproof. I'd struggle to name another jacket that's better in that regard. Tight cuffs and collar and an excellent riding cut, coupled with a storm flap behind the main zip, mean that it's a welcome outer layer when the cold winds are blowing in from the north. Plus there's very little excess material to flap about, making it a quiet jacket even in the blowiest conditions.

Gore 30th Oxygen 2.0 Gore-Tex Active Jacket Cuff

All this would be to nought if the Active fabric didn't breathe well, because you'd just be a soggy mess after an hour's riding. But again, it's excellent. After two hours of hard riding in the dry, in temperatures in the low teens – which are very much at the upper end of what you'd expect to be needing this for – taking off the jacket revealed that my baselayer was still essentially dry, as was the inside of the shell, which meant the jacket had coped admirably with getting rid of any excess moisture.

Gore 30th Oxygen 2.0 Gore-Tex Active Jacket Zip

The one time I did manage to get a bit soggy was on a two-hour chaingang in the pouring rain, where the combination of near-race pace coupled with constant spray from following wheels managed to breach the Gore's defences. I think most of it just dribbled down the front of my neck, to be honest. Even then the jacket was windproof and warm.

> For more winter cycling jackets, check out our guide here

I've got very little bad to say about this offering from Gore. The fabric is excellent, and the cut on the bike is almost perfect. I would have liked a little extra length in the rear but that's the only niggle. At £220 it's certainly in the upper echelons, but if you're not too bothered about the 30th anniversary badge and the gold piping then last year's jacket, which is essentially the same, can be snapped up for less than £150. And that, my friends, is a stone-cold bargain.

Verdict

Really high quality hardshell with pro-level fit and performance

If you're thinking of buying this product using a cashback deal why not use the road.cc Top Cashback page and get some top cashback while helping to support your favourite independent cycling website

road.cc test report

Make and model: Gore 30th Oxygen 2.0 Gore-Tex Active Jacket

Size tested: Large, Black

Tell us what the jacket is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

Gore says: "This GORE-TEX® Active jacket offers maximum breathability for the dedicated performance oriented road cyclist who trains in all weather conditions. A slim race cycling cut provides perfect fit. Two zipped side openings allow for easy access to the jersey pockets."

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the jacket?

Ergonomically shaped collar

Reflective print on shoulders

Reflective print on sleeves, sides, and back

Reflective logo on front and back

Reflective print on sleeve cuffs and collar rim

Partially elastic hem

Reinforced hem for easier closure of the zipper

Reinforced collar for easier opening of the zipper

Zip-underflap and zip-port

Zip tags for easy opening

Long back

Rate the jacket for quality of construction:
 
9/10

Really well put together and finished, feels like a quality jacket.

Rate the jacket for performance:
 
9/10

Great in the rain, great in the wind.

Rate the jacket for durability:
 
8/10

No issues during testing, material finish is hardy and seams are well finished.

Rate the jacket for waterproofing, based on the manufacturer's rating:
 
10/10

It's a really waterproof jacket, and the collar and cuffs are well designed too.

Rate the jacket for breathability, based on the manufacturer's rating:
 
8/10

Very good for a full waterproof.

Rate the jacket for fit:
 
8/10

Definitely cut for a fairly aggressive position on the bike.

Rate the jacket for sizing:
 
9/10

L was a race fit on me, which is what I'd expect.

Rate the jacket for weight:
 
8/10

Just about packable into a jersey pocket, but this is the jacket you dig out when you *know* it's wet or cold.

Rate the jacket for comfort:
 
8/10

Excellent fit means it's comfy on the bike. Best with long-sleeved stuff underneath.

Rate the jacket for value:
 
7/10

Definitely not cheap, but represents good value for money if you're serious about going out in all weathers.

How easy is the jacket to care for? How did it respond to being washed?

It's machine wash and Gore recommends a tumble dry on a low heat to keep the surface beading. It's been easy to care for.

Tell us how the jacket performed overall when used for its designed purpose

Very well.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the jacket

Almost everything.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the jacket

A bit more length in the tail would have been nice.

Did you enjoy using the jacket? Yes

Would you consider buying the jacket? Yes

Would you recommend the jacket to a friend? Yes

Use this box to explain your score

Not cheap, but you get what you pay for here. This is a top quality waterproof.

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 43  Height: 189cm  Weight: 92kg

I usually ride: whatever I'm testing...  My best bike is: Kinesis Tripster ATR, Kinesis Aithein

I've been riding for: Over 20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Experienced

I regularly do the following types of riding: road racing, time trialling, cyclo-cross, commuting, club rides, sportives, general fitness riding, fixed/singlespeed, mountain biking, Mountain Bike Bog Snorkelling, track

Dave is a founding father of road.cc and responsible for kicking the server when it breaks. In a previous life he was a graphic designer but he's also a three-time Mountain Bike Bog Snorkelling world champion, and remains unbeaten through the bog. Dave rides all sorts of bikes but tends to prefer metal ones. He's getting old is why.

20 comments

Avatar
Leviathan [3057 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

That badge is in a funny place.

Avatar
KoenM [100 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

I got me one of these a month or 2 ago and I absolutelty love it, it's super dry and breaths very well. Had it on while it was storming and nothing got in. As for the breathing, I use it often even if I know it isn't going to rain, it's a great windproof jacket to.

Avatar
The _Kaner [1173 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

it's pricey, it's black..meh!

Take my money now!

Avatar
macrophotofly [321 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Looks good - like the gold labels. Wish it didn't have 2015 on the badge though (hardly going to buy something now with 2015 written on it) - just 1985 on the badge would have been fine and not dated the garment.

I note matching bibs or possibly waterproof winter bibs in the photos. Is there going to be a review of them?

Avatar
dave atkinson [6430 posts] 2 years ago
1 like

The _Kaner wrote:

it's pricey, it's black..meh!

Take my money now!

it's also available in white

Avatar
dave atkinson [6430 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

macrophotofly wrote:

I note matching bibs or possibly waterproof winter bibs in the photos. Is there going to be a review of them?

indeed there is: http://road.cc/content/review/172007-gore-30th-element-windstopper-soft-...

Avatar
Kadenz [112 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Yes, yet  another cycle top - and one for rain and hence overcast or dark conditions - in stealth black. 

Ok, it's also (apparently) available in soon-to-be-grey White, but not in an hi-viz & fluorescent  colour for those who (1) want to be easily seen by drivers who want to see cyclists; and (2) don't wish to give drivers & their insurance companies an all-too- often accepted 'excuse' for not seeing them. 

Why is it that clothing companies like Gore so often want to cater only or largely for the 'looking cool beats being easily seen' cyclists?

Surely, there is sufficient demand for them ALSO to cater well for cyclists who place being seen as more important than looking cool?

I'm not decrying those who prefer stealth black at all - it's their right to wear what they prefer/choose - just puzzled that Gore et al don't cater equally as well for the more safety conscious cyclists.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Avatar
dave atkinson [6430 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Kadenz wrote:

Yes, yet  another cycle top - and one for rain and hence overcast or dark conditions - in stealth black. 

Ok, it's also (apparently) available in soon-to-be-grey White, but not in an hi-viz & fluorescent  colour for those who (1) want to be easily seen by drivers who want to see cyclists; and (2) don't wish to give drivers & their insurance companies an all-too- often accepted 'excuse' for not seeing them. 

Why is it that clothing companies like Gore so often want to cater only or largely for the 'looking cool beats being easily seen' cyclists?

Surely, there is sufficient demand for them ALSO to cater well for cyclists who place being seen as more important than looking cool?

I'm not decrying those who prefer stealth black at all - it's their right to wear what they prefer/choose - just puzzled that Gore et al don't cater equally as well for the more safety conscious cyclists.

you could always get last year's, in a nice bright red. there's still plenty around and it's cheaper.

 

http://road.cc/content/review/142767-gore-bike-wear-oxygen-20-gore-tex-a...

Avatar
dave atkinson [6430 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

actually, this one is available in red too, not white. my bad, I was looking at the softshell one  1

http://www.goreapparel.co.uk/gore-bike-wear/men/jackets-vests/30th-oxyge...

Avatar
caaad10 [190 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
Kadenz wrote:

Yes, yet  another cycle top - and one for rain and hence overcast or dark conditions - in stealth black. 

Ok, it's also (apparently) available in soon-to-be-grey White, but not in an hi-viz & fluorescent  colour for those who (1) want to be easily seen by drivers who want to see cyclists; and (2) don't wish to give drivers & their insurance companies an all-too- often accepted 'excuse' for not seeing them. 

Why is it that clothing companies like Gore so often want to cater only or largely for the 'looking cool beats being easily seen' cyclists?

Surely, there is sufficient demand for them ALSO to cater well for cyclists who place being seen as more important than looking cool?

I'm not decrying those who prefer stealth black at all - it's their right to wear what they prefer/choose - just puzzled that Gore et al don't cater equally as well for the more safety conscious cyclists

 

 

If you can live without the badge a popular online retailer has the exact same jacket in hi viz, I prefer the black (which I have) and apart from it being a very narrow fit around the torso (meaning it rides up very easily) it's not too bad. You need to try before you buy though, the fit is not for anyone of medium/ larger build, even without a jersey underneath

Avatar
Tony Farrelly [2963 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Good question Kadenz - I'm on of those who'd never wear bright colours, but i do think it's odd that so many clothing companies don't offer stuff in fluro yellow as an option.

My guess is it's to do with fashion, and where a company's biggest markets are.

Over the last couple of years there has been a lot more fluro and hi-viz performance gear, partly I think because those colours were fashionable - particularly in Italy - but what comes in to fashion goes out again too - black is always a safe colour. White is the fashion colour in Europe now. If you're producing high end garments in relatively short runs and you're selling them across a number of territories you're probably going to go for the colours you know will sell. So that's a fashion colour + black/navy/grey with maybe red as a second fall back.

My observation, and that of some of the other guys here is that fluro yellow is a particularly British thing - you don't see much of it in Europe (when it's not in fashion) so from a clothing company's point of view if you're spreading yourself across a lot of markets you probably want to ensure you've got a range of colours you know will sell everywhere rather than different  colours for different countries. By contrast British brands like Endura, Altura or Lusso - that make the bulk of their sales in the UK would always have multiple bright yellow options in their ranges.

Avatar
BBB [487 posts] 2 years ago
2 likes

To those who moan about the lack of bright colour options, just get yourself a +60 lumens rear light and be done with it.

It'll make more difference on a dark day than the colour of your jacket.

Avatar
Angry Egg [33 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Hmm... This or the sportful fiandre extreme jacket? Are they even simular products or designed for different situations?

Avatar
Hobbanero [3 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Seems like this jacket is old hat now that the new 2 layer Gore-Tex Active has been released. The new fabric is much lighter but just as waterproof, allegedly.

http://www.goreapparel.com/gore-bike-wear/men/one-gore-tex-active-bike-j...

Avatar
Disfunctional_T... [335 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

This jacket breathes like a PLASTIC BAG!!!  I owned one. 

Every independent test of Gore-tex membranes vs. the competition show how poorly Gore-tex's membranes perform.  The new Gore Active (NOT the version in this jacket) released last month may be the exception... because it actually has an air permeability greater than 0.  But this jacket has an air permeability of zero... the same as a plastic bag.

By the way, the non-anniversary version of this jacket is available in fluoro yellow. 

 

 

 

Avatar
bendertherobot [1529 posts] 2 years ago
1 like
Disfunctional_Threshold wrote:

This jacket breathes like a PLASTIC BAG!!!  I owned one. 

Every independent test of Gore-tex membranes vs. the competition show how poorly Gore-tex's membranes perform.  The new Gore Active (NOT the version in this jacket) released last month may be the exception... because it actually has an air permeability greater than 0.  But this jacket has an air permeability of zero... the same as a plastic bag.

By the way, the non-anniversary version of this jacket is available in fluoro yellow. 

 

Let's not get carried away with hyperbole. While it's true that there's degrees of effectiveness I'd be surprised if this wasn't one of the more effective out there. A plastic bag has zero breathability. Even if you cannot demonstrate Gore's claims, this will breathe better than a plastic bag. And an Altura Night Vision.

The best rain jacket I found was the Madison Race Apex. It performed as well as a Gore, or Rapha, and was under £90. 

In the end, given that most of my riding is tempo, I even ditched that and now wear a Parentini Mossa in the wet. 

Avatar
Disfunctional_T... [335 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
bendertherobot wrote:

Let's not get carried away with hyperbole. While it's true that there's degrees of effectiveness I'd be surprised if this wasn't one of the more effective out there. A plastic bag has zero breathability. Even if you cannot demonstrate Gore's claims, this will breathe better than a plastic bag. And an Altura Night Vision.

The air permeability of the membrane in this jacket is 0 CFM.

The air permeability of a plastic bag is 0 CFM.

This video demonstrates it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6TmzwZgEVmA#t=3m5s

Avatar
caaad10 [190 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
Disfunctional_Threshold wrote:

This jacket breathes like a PLASTIC BAG!!!  I owned one. 

Every independent test of Gore-tex membranes vs. the competition show how poorly Gore-tex's membranes perform.  The new Gore Active (NOT the version in this jacket) released last month may be the exception... because it actually has an air permeability greater than 0.  But this jacket has an air permeability of zero... the same as a plastic bag.

By the way, the non-anniversary version of this jacket is available in fluoro yellow. 

 

Maybe if you sweat buckets or ride in +20C, the thing that impresses me most about this jacket it how much it DOES breathe, I have never had any problems on that front no matter what they 'prove' on youtube. Added to that, past experience has shown that genuine goretex appears to be the only truly waterproof (and breathable) material too, but I have no idea why it is still so expensive for many applications.

Avatar
maldin [147 posts] 2 years ago
1 like
Disfunctional_Threshold wrote:

This jacket breathes like a PLASTIC BAG!!!  I owned one. 

Every independent test of Gore-tex membranes vs. the competition show how poorly Gore-tex's membranes perform.  The new Gore Active (NOT the version in this jacket) released last month may be the exception... because it actually has an air permeability greater than 0.  But this jacket has an air permeability of zero... the same as a plastic bag.

Its not air that we hope to move through the fabric though, is it? It's water vapour. I think the tech behind the fabric is that capillary action draws water vapour that settles on the inside of the jacket through the membrane to the outside (via capillary action). That doesn't require the membrane to easily allow air  to pass through. Other fabric like neo-shell accomplish their internal temperature and humidity regulation differently by allowing air to pass out of the fabric. That may or may not provide a better experience for the user but it doesn't mean that goretex technology can't work to transfer moisture out of the jacket. 

Avatar
Disfunctional_T... [335 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
maldin wrote:

Its not air that we hope to move through the fabric though, is it? It's water vapour.

The moving air can transport a lot more water vapor than other means. That's why NeoShell and eVent are so much more "breathable" than Gore's membranes.