Like this site? Help us to make it better.


Vuelta Stage 16: Greipel's third stage win tightens grip on green

German sprinter proving as clinical as Cav

Image © Unipublic

Vuelta Stage 16: Cordoba - Puertollano, 168KM

Columbia-HTC’s André Greipel claimed his third bunch sprint victory of this year’s Vuelta this afternoon to reinforce his lead in the points competition. On a day tailor-made for the sprinters, there was no change in the general classification, and Caisse d’Epargne’s Alejandro Valverde keeps the race leader’s golden jersey. 

Jesus Rosendo Prado of Andalusia-CajaSur made an early solo attack, at one point getting 11 minutes ahead of the peloton, but with the chasing pack led by Columbia-HTC, who obviously fancied the stage win, the Spaniard was gradually reeled in, eventually being caught 18 kilometres from the stage finish.

Liquigas tried to force the pace in the closing stages in an effort to launch Daniele Bennati for the sprint, but the Italian had to settle for third as Greipel came off his wheel to win. William Bonnet of BBOX Bouygues Telecom came through in second place.

A nasty-looking crash within the last three kilometres saw Britain’s Roger Hammond, riding for Cérvelo TestTeam, hit the deck, along with Quick Step’s Wouter Weylandt and Garmin-Slipstream’s Kiwi rider, Julian Dean.

Tomorrow the riders race the 194 kilometres from Ciudad Real toTalavera de la Reina, with the stage profile once again favouring a bunch sprint.

Top 20 Stage 16 

1 André Greipel (Columbia-HTC)              04:50:44
2 William Bonnet (BBOX Bouygues Telecom)    00:00:00
3 Daniele Bennati (Liquigas)                00:00:00
4 Gerald Ciolek (Milram)                    00:00:00
5 Fco. José Pacheco (Contentpoli-Ampo)      00:00:00
6 Leonardo Duque (Cofidis)                  00:00:00
7 Jurgen Roelandts (Silence-Lotto)          00:00:00
8 Sébastien Hinault (AG2R La Mondiale)      00:00:00
9 Matti Breschel (Saxo Bank)                00:00:00
10 Inaki Isasi (Euskaltel-Euskadi)          00:00:00
11 Borut Bozic (Vacansoleil)                00:00:00
12 Enrico Gasparotto (Lampre-NGC)           00:00:00
13 Javier Benitez (Contentpoli-Ampo)        00:00:00
14 Mickael Delage (Silence-Lotto)           00:00:00
15 Mikael Cherel (Francaise Des Jeux)       00:00:00
16 Ezequiel Mosquera (Xacobeo-Galicia)      00:00:00
17 Michael Schär (Astana)                   00:00:00
18 Christophe Riblon (AG2R La Mondiale)     00:00:00
19 Johnny Hoogerland (Vacansoleil)          00:00:00
20 Paolo Tiralongo (Lampre-NGC)             00:00:00

Top 10 General Classification after Stage 16

1) Alejandro Valverde (Caisse d'Epargne)    69:59:34
2) Robert Gesink (Rabobank)                 00:00:31
3) Samuel Sánchez (Euskaltel-Euskadi)       00:01:10
4) Ivan Basso (Liquigas)                    00:01:28
5) Cadel Evans (Silence-Lotto)              00:01:51
6) Ezequiel Mosquera (Xacobeo-Galicia)      00:01:54
7) Joaquin Rodriguez (Caisse d'Epargne)     00:05:53
8) Paolo Tiralongo (Lampre-NGC)             00:06:28
9) Thomas Danielson (Garmin-Slipstream)     00:08:28
10) Juan José Cobo (Fuji-Servetto)          00:10:45


Simon has been news editor at since 2009, reporting on 10 editions and counting of pro cycling’s biggest races such as the Tour de France, stories on issues including infrastructure and campaigning, and interviewing some of the biggest names in cycling. A law and languages graduate, published translator and former retail analyst, his background has proved invaluable in reporting on issues as diverse as cycling-related court cases, anti-doping investigations, and the bike industry. He splits his time between London and Cambridge, and loves taking his miniature schnauzer Elodie on adventures in the basket of her Elephant Bike.

Latest Comments