Like this site? Help us to make it better.


Tour Series Round 1: Home win for Rapha Condor Sharp at Canary Wharf

London team get three in top six, but's Tony Gibb wins the sprint...

City workers and cycling fans alike were treated to a fast and furious first round of the 2010 Halfords Tour Series at Canary Wharf last night, with Londoner Tony Gibb of snatching victory by a tyre’s width from the evergreen Malcolm Elliott of Motorpoint-Marshall’s Pasta.

This being the Tour Series, though, the classification that really counts is the team one, and again the spoils here went to the locals, with home team Rapha Condor Sharp putting paid to any suspicions they might be suffering from jet-lag after returning from the Tour of Japan at the weekend, with Dean Downing the best placed of their riders, coming in third behind Gibb and Elliottt, with team-mates Dean Windsor and Graham Briggs coming in fifth and sixth, respectively.

The pace was high from the very start, and any escapes that did form were quickly pulled back on the 1km circuit, shaped like an elongated rectangle with tied turns at either end and the landmark Canada Tower, still Britain’s tallest building, in the centre., of course, were there in the mix too, always in the thick of the action, and did enough to take eighth place in the team classification, and we’ll bring you the team’s views on the race as soon as we can.

One new feature of the Tour Series this year is the Boardman Bikes Sprints Competition, and t was a rider from a team sponsored by another bike company, Raleigh’s Liam Holohan, who becomes the first wearer of that jersey.

Before the Tour Series race, British Road Race Champion Kristian House of Rapha Condor Sharp, who won a stage of the Tour of Japan last week, claimed another victory when he took the sprint after riding the anchor lap for Barclays Capital in the six-lap pro-am Canary Wharf Corporate Challenge race.

You can catch all the action from Canary Wharf tonight on ITV4 at 7pm, and the next race is in Durham on Thursday, with more information available at

Round One Results

1) Rapha Condor Sharp
2) Endura Racing
3) Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta
4) Team Raleigh
5) Pendragon-Le Col-Colnago
6) Sigma Sport-Specialized
9) Team Corley Cycles
10) Team Ireland

1) Tony Gibb (
2) Malcolm Elliott (Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta)
3) Dean Downing (Rapha Condor Sharp)

Simon has been news editor at since 2009, reporting on 10 editions and counting of pro cycling’s biggest races such as the Tour de France, stories on issues including infrastructure and campaigning, and interviewing some of the biggest names in cycling. A law and languages graduate, published translator and former retail analyst, his background has proved invaluable in reporting on issues as diverse as cycling-related court cases, anti-doping investigations, and the bike industry. He splits his time between London and Cambridge, and loves taking his miniature schnauzer Elodie on adventures in the basket of her Elephant Bike.

Latest Comments