Home
Verdict: 
Impressive outputs and burn-times make this durable light a great longterm investment
Weight: 
90g

For 2018, Exposure's Blaze DayBright rear light has had a few tweaks, resulting in this MK2 version. Thankfully, the excellent output levels, superb burn-times and robust durability still remain, so if you are willing to splash out 90 quid on a light then this should be on your list.

  • Pros: Excellent brightness levels, easy to set up for the conditions
  • Cons: It ain't cheap...

When I was cycle commuting 200 miles a week whatever the weather, lights were something I was happy to invest in. If you are riding in the dark both ends of the working day, at rush hour, on one of the busiest A-roads in Wiltshire, then not only do you need lights to make you stand out, you need them to be reliable. This is where I see lamps like the Exposure Blaze justifying their price tag.

> Find your nearest dealer here

For starters, its liquid ingress rating is IPX6, which means it has to pass testing where it is subjected to powerful water jets from any direction.

Gone is the top cover of the MK1, which encased the charge port and button, replaced by a black rubber cap like that used on Exposure's front lights.

On two wet rides which killed the IPX4-rated NiteRider Omega 300 (review to come), the Blaze shrugged everything off and no water got past the cover at all. Exposure has placed the charge port on the top of the light rather than on the bottom, which also shows good design sense, unlike many other light makers out there.

Output & battery life

The Blaze offers three programmes, each with a pulse and a steady state mode within them, which keeps things really simple.

Program 1 is the brightest with an output of 80 lumen, which Exposure calls DayBright mode. It's bright enough to be seen on even the sunniest of days from a fair distance, but by no way overly extreme for use in the dark in my opinion.

The pulse mode is definitely eye-catching, with the bright LED flashing once and then a double pulse while a low power output keeps the red glow on permanently.

Early morning rides can often see fog being an issue, but it'll cut through that too.

Battery life is good for a light of this size and power, with the 80 lumen solid mode giving you more than the claimed 6hrs – I achieved 6hrs 28mins – and the pulse giving you 12hrs.

You can see what is happening to the battery life by the colour of the button. It's green when the juice is above 50%, then amber until 25%, before turning red until battery life drops to 5%. If it flashes you haven't got much time left, but the light will switch to the lowest power output to eke out the last of the power.

Charging takes 4hrs from a 500 mA power supply so it's easy to top up at work provided you remember to take the cable with you. Most Exposure lights use a specific cable rather than Micro USB, for example.

Dropping to Program 2 drops the power output by 50% and doubles the burn-time, the same from Program 2 to 3. Flashing in this lowest mode is about 20 lumen, and will give you 48hrs of illumination.

Mounting bracket

The clamp is a simple push fit around the recessed part of the Blaze, which might make you a little nervous on rough roads but fear not! I've using these clamps for years and never lost a light yet. The plastic bracket has a very firm hold on the light and the rubber band is a solid piece of kit.

Exposure Blaze Mk2 Daybright rear light - bracket

It will only fit round seatposts, though, so if you have an aero model you'll need to buy the specific clamp from Exposure.

Build quality

Durability is another place where the Blaze justifies its price for me. I've had one of the original Blaze lights from when they first came out probably five or six years ago. It's been used extensively and is still working fine and holding those burn-times. It's been dropped and seen plenty of rain and even snow plus loads of freezing temperatures.

The overall design of this new MK2 Daybright version is pretty much identical, so I see no issues here either. You also get a two-year warranty.

> Buyer's Guide: 16 of the best rear lights for cycling

I think the build quality and output make it good value, but you can buy cheaper: Blackburn has both its Dayblazer 125 and the less bright 65 lumen option. Priced at £44.99 and £27.99 respectively, they are quite a bit cheaper than the Blaze.

There is also the excellent Oxford UltraTorch, which costs just £17.99.

I stand by my initial thoughts, though: if you want a bright, reliable light for many years to come, the Blaze MK2 DayBright is worth the investment.

Verdict

Impressive outputs and burn-times make this durable light a great longterm investment

If you're thinking of buying this product using a cashback deal why not use the road.cc Top Cashback page and get some top cashback while helping to support your favourite independent cycling website

road.cc test report

Make and model: Exposure Blaze MK2 DayBright

Size tested: 80 Lumens

Tell us what the light is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

Exposure says, "High power rear lighting for commuting, road cycling and Time Trial.

DayBright flash pattern to cut through distractions of busy roads to alert other road users.

High capacity battery for substantial burn times.

Features USB convenience, a choice of 6 burn times and side illumination for 180 _visibility."

I think the Exposure offers a very complete package for the money.

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the light?

Exposure lists these features:

Output

LED Configuration: 1 x Red XPE-R Cree LED

Lumen output: Max 80

Battery: 1500mAh Lithium-Ion

Burn time: 6hrs - 48hrs

Rechargeable: Mains and USB

Charge Time: 4hrs

Construction

Anodised 6063 Aluminium

IPX6 Rated

Dimensions

Length : 70mm

Head diameter : 28mm

Rate the light for quality of construction:
 
9/10
Rate the light for design and ease of use. How simple was the light to use?
 
9/10

The instructions are clear and simple.

Rate the light for the design and usability of the clamping system/s
 
8/10
Rate the light for waterproofing. How did it stand up to the elements?
 
10/10

Even on really wet rides nothing got past the rubber cap.

Rate the light for battery life. How long did it last? How long did it take to recharge?
 
10/10

I consistently got slightly longer burn-times than Exposure claims, plus charging is quick enough should you need to top it up during the working day.

Rate the light for performance:
 
9/10
Rate the light for durability:
 
9/10
Rate the light for weight:
 
7/10

Heavier than a lot on the market because of its alloy body.

Rate the light for value:
 
7/10

You can buy cheaper, but for the quality and finishing I'd argue that it's good value.

Tell us how the light performed overall when used for its designed purpose

Plenty of options to set it up for whatever conditions you are riding in.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the light

Great all-round quality backed up by good battery life.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the light

I don't really dislike anything.

How does the price compare to that of similar products in the market, including ones recently tested on road.cc?

You can get the same burn-times and power outputs for much less money, but the Blaze does offer excellent durability and finishing.

Did you enjoy using the light? Yes

Would you consider buying the light? Yes

Would you recommend the light to a friend? Yes

Use this box to explain your overall score

It does everything I'd expect of a high-end rear light and is worth the outlay.

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 40  Height: 180cm  Weight: 76kg

I usually ride: This month's test bike  My best bike is: B'Twin Ultra CF draped in the latest bling test components

I've been riding for: Over 20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Expert

I regularly do the following types of riding: time trialling, commuting, club rides, sportives, fixed/singlespeed

Stu knocked out his first road.cc review back in 2009 and since then he's chucked the best part of seventy test bikes around the West Country, a couple of them quite literally! With three alloy and two steel bikes in his fleet he's definitely a metal man (that'll be the engineering background) but is slowly warming to that modern carbon fibre stuff along with fat tyres & disc brakes.
It's not all nostalgia though, after spending the last few years in product design Stu keeps banging on about how 3D printing is going to be the next big thing and he's a sucker for a beautiful paint job too.

32 comments

Avatar
Plasterer's Radio [520 posts] 6 months ago
4 likes

I've had the Blaze for a few years now.

Well, well worth the cash.

Buy right; buy once.

Avatar
Rapha Nadal [1053 posts] 6 months ago
3 likes
Plasterer's Radio wrote:

I've had the Blaze for a few years now.

Well, well worth the cash.

Buy right; buy once.

Yeah, same here and completely echo what you said.

Avatar
only1redders [117 posts] 6 months ago
1 like
Plasterer's Radio wrote:

I've had the Blaze for a few years now.

Well, well worth the cash.

Buy right; buy once.

Make that +2

Avatar
r.glancy [27 posts] 6 months ago
0 likes

Buy nice or buy twice..

Avatar
Keith57 [9 posts] 5 months ago
0 likes

I’ve had 2 of the Mk 1’s in the past - excellent lights in my opinion. The best for riding in poor visibility or in the dark.

The current Mk 2 version has 2 extra functions not mentioned in the review...

1 - a ‘Brake’ function. When you brake it glows brighter. 

2 - a ‘Peleton’ function. When riding in a group. If you have someone begind you the Blaze dims the output. When you don’t it glows bright. 

The instruction says they can’t be used at the same time. I haven’t tried these yet, but they sound interesting!!

Now it’s winter I ride with this on the back of the bike all the time, a Strada at 1500 lumens sits on the front. Both use the new flash pattern which is good in that it lasts all day.

Avatar
crazy-legs [1073 posts] 5 months ago
0 likes

+1 for Exposure build quality and customer service.

I've got a Tracer, the brake light function on it is superb.

Avatar
Tom Jones [12 posts] 5 months ago
1 like
Plasterer's Radio wrote:

I've had the Blaze for a few years now.

Well, well worth the cash.

Buy right; buy once.

80 lumens max brightness!! My rear light is 110 lumens on the lowest setting .. Goggle ! Ds 500 rear light !! 850 lumens max brightness.. That's 8 times brighter than your little light .. 

Avatar
Tom Jones [12 posts] 5 months ago
1 like

To all these people who think this is a bright rear light.. If only you all did some proper research and realised what a  useless this little light is.. D.S 500 rear light .. Minimum level 110 lumens!! Max level 850 lumens .. 

Avatar
madcarew [1003 posts] 5 months ago
5 likes
Tom Jones wrote:

To all these people who think this is a bright rear light.. If only you all did some proper research and realised what a  useless this little light is.. D.S 500 rear light .. Minimum level 110 lumens!! Max level 850 lumens .. 

Yep. I've done my research. I have a 70 lumen back light, and a 50 lumen back light. Both of them are bright enough that they can be seen hundreds of metres away in full daylight, and are bright enough to hurt the eyes of whoever might be riding behind me at night. Just because you have a brighter rear light doesn't mean these arent bright. And what are you trying to achieve with a 850 lumen rear light? That's simply a hazard to other road users. And it's not available any more.

Avatar
Tom Jones [12 posts] 5 months ago
1 like
madcarew wrote:
Tom Jones wrote:

To all these people who think this is a bright rear light.. If only you all did some proper research and realised what a  useless this little light is.. D.S 500 rear light .. Minimum level 110 lumens!! Max level 850 lumens .. 

Yep. I've done my research. I have a 70 lumen back light, and a 50 lumen back light. Both of them are bright enough that they can be seen hundreds of metres away in full daylight, and are bright enough to hurt the eyes of whoever might be riding behind me at night. Just because you have a brighter rear light doesn't mean these arent bright. And what are you trying to achieve with a 850 lumen rear light? That's simply a hazard to other road users. And it's not available any more.

850 lumens is for daytime use only ..  You silly person you have no idea.. Do you honestly think car drivers will see your tiny little lights in broad daylight with so many other distractions.. In bright sunlight.. As for night riding it still produces 110 lumens ..  You have no idea tbh ... How many other people have said to you how bright your lights are in daylight .. Not one I bet ..  Bit different than me then .. 

Avatar
Windy Cyclist [14 posts] 5 months ago
9 likes

Oooh, somebody needs to be igonored!

Avatar
Tom Jones [12 posts] 5 months ago
1 like
Windy Cyclist wrote:

Oooh, somebody needs to be igonored!

oh no not another silly person with a tiny little bike light.. There's no hope now !! It's about time someone threw  some light on this subject ,, ha ha get it .. Shine some light .

Avatar
StraelGuy [1679 posts] 5 months ago
4 likes

Hey Tom, isn't it about time you finished your Fortnite game before mummy calls you downstairs saying tea's ready?

Avatar
hirsute [786 posts] 5 months ago
6 likes
Tom Jones wrote:
Windy Cyclist wrote:

Oooh, somebody needs to be igonored!

oh no not another silly person with a tiny little bike light.. There's no hope now !! It's about time someone threw  some light on this subject ,, ha ha get it .. Shine some light .

Are you feeling ok?

 

If there is a  need for an 850 Lumens light in daytime, then the problem to be solved is not one involving a light as the solution.

Avatar
Mybike [46 posts] 5 months ago
2 likes

Tomm Jones. Pls. Stop calling people name to help you justify your purchase of a shit light.

Avatar
Tommytrucker [125 posts] 5 months ago
2 likes

I always wondered if you could like your own posts. Now I know.

Avatar
Mungecrundle [1419 posts] 5 months ago
4 likes

And there was me worrying about tensions between China and the USA over the disputed Paracel Islands as being a potential flashpoint leading to WW3.

Avatar
Tom Jones [12 posts] 5 months ago
1 like
hirsute wrote:
Tom Jones wrote:
Windy Cyclist wrote:

Oooh, somebody needs to be igonored!

oh no not another silly person with a tiny little bike light.. There's no hope now !! It's about time someone threw  some light on this subject ,, ha ha get it .. Shine some light .

Are you feeling ok?

 

If there is a  need for an 850 Lumens light in daytime, then the problem to be solved is not one involving a light as the solution.

of course there's a need for a 850 lumens light .. On a sunny day on a main road with cars travelling past doing 40 mph and more .. better to be safe than sorry .. It's called common sense .. Unfortunately you haven't got any .. You ain't got a clue with your poxy little light that you think is oh so bright.. 

Avatar
don simon fbpe [2963 posts] 5 months ago
4 likes
Tom Jones wrote:
Mybike wrote:

Tomm Jones. Pls. Stop calling people name to help you justify your purchase of a shit light.

ha ha .. And what amazing super bright rear light do you use then you silly little man. I hope it's better than this amazing light in this review 

Surely the mug is the one who's spunked money on any light to be used during the fucking day.

Avatar
Tom Jones [12 posts] 5 months ago
1 like
Mybike wrote:

Tomm Jones. Pls. Stop calling people name to help you justify your purchase of a shit light.

ha ha .. And what amazing super bright rear light do you use then you silly little man. I hope it's better than this amazing light in this review ..  If my lights shit then I can't begin to imagine what yours is ...  

Avatar
Tom Jones [12 posts] 5 months ago
1 like
don simon wrote:
Tom Jones wrote:
Mybike wrote:

Tomm Jones. Pls. Stop calling people name to help you justify your purchase of a shit light.

ha ha .. And what amazing super bright rear light do you use then you silly little man. I hope it's better than this amazing light in this review 

Surely the mug is the one who's spunked money on any light to be used during the fucking day.

you ain't got a clue little boy..   All the gear no idea I bet ... No common sense .. Ain't got a clue have you ... I love winding twats like you up .. Go on little man ..  Reply to this ... You know you want to.. Or are you to busy looking for a decent rear light .. 

Avatar
don simon fbpe [2963 posts] 5 months ago
4 likes
Tom Jones wrote:
don simon wrote:
Tom Jones wrote:
Mybike wrote:

Tomm Jones. Pls. Stop calling people name to help you justify your purchase of a shit light.

ha ha .. And what amazing super bright rear light do you use then you silly little man. I hope it's better than this amazing light in this review 

Surely the mug is the one who's spunked money on any light to be used during the fucking day.

you ain't got a clue little boy..   All the gear no idea I bet ... No common sense .. Ain't got a clue have you 

//www.northstandchat.com/images/smilies/tosser1.gif)

Avatar
Tom Jones [12 posts] 5 months ago
1 like
don simon wrote:
Tom Jones wrote:
don simon wrote:
Tom Jones wrote:
Mybike wrote:

Tomm Jones. Pls. Stop calling people name to help you justify your purchase of a shit light.

ha ha .. And what amazing super bright rear light do you use then you silly little man. I hope it's better than this amazing light in this review 

Surely the mug is the one who's spunked money on any light to be used during the fucking day.

you ain't got a clue little boy..   All the gear no idea I bet ... No common sense .. Ain't got a clue have you 

//www.northstandchat.com/images/smilies/tosser1.gif)

ha ha luv it well done you clever little boy.. Mummy can buy you a new bike light for xmas now..  I knew you'd reply .. Told you so didn't I .. Luv winding gullible people up ... Ps .. You haven't said what amazing rear light you own.. Come on little boy don't be shy 

Avatar
Mybike [46 posts] 5 months ago
3 likes

I know my gear and trust it . Im not the one justifying my purchace by calling other people names like you are .   

Avatar
Stu Kerton [105 posts] 5 months ago
2 likes

Keith57 wrote:

The current Mk 2 version has 2 extra functions not mentioned in the review...

1 - a ‘Brake’ function. When you brake it glows brighter. 

2 - a ‘Peleton’ function. When riding in a group. If you have someone begind you the Blaze dims the output. When you don’t it glows bright. 

Hi Keith57,

Those functions are on the ReAKT version which costs an extra £20 which is why they aren't mentioned in this review.

https://road.cc/content/review/232875-exposure-blaze-mk2-reakt

Cheers

Stu

 

Avatar
cjlynch1978 [4 posts] 5 months ago
4 likes
Tom Jones wrote:

To all these people who think this is a bright rear light.. If only you all did some proper research and realised what a  useless this little light is.. D.S 500 rear light .. Minimum level 110 lumens!! Max level 850 lumens .. 

 

There is no need for an 850 lumen rear light. Red light is not the same as white light, a 50 lumen rear light has the same brightness as a 200 lumen front light, this is to do with how the human eye reacts to different light colours.

So your 850 lumens is like running a 3400 lumen front light, no one rides along burning 3400 lumens into the eyeballs of fellow road users becuase its downright dangerous and causes people to be dazzled, and yes they might have seen you briefly before being blinded and now can't see anything.

Well done of on your purchase, but you really should re-think running 850 lumens, 110 lumens is a hell of alot for a rear light, read 440 lumens which is way more than is needed to be seen, infact its enough to see with if your going backwards. I good 400 lumen front light (Hope R2) is enough for me most of the time riding unlit country lanes.

Avatar
Tom Jones [12 posts] 5 months ago
0 likes
cjlynch1978 wrote:
Tom Jones wrote:

To all these people who think this is a bright rear light.. If only you all did some proper research and realised what a  useless this little light is.. D.S 500 rear light .. Minimum level 110 lumens!! Max level 850 lumens .. 

 

There is no need for an 850 lumen rear light. Red light is not the same as white light, a 50 lumen rear light has the same brightness as a 200 lumen front light, this is to do with how the human eye reacts to different light colours.

So your 850 lumens is like running a 3400 lumen front light, no one rides along burning 3400 lumens into the eyeballs of fellow road users becuase its downright dangerous and causes people to be dazzled, and yes they might have seen you briefly before being blinded and now can't see anything.

Well done of on your purchase, but you really should re-think running 850 lumens, 110 lumens is a hell of alot for a rear light, read 440 lumens which is way more than is needed to be seen, infact its enough to see with if your going backwards. I good 400 lumen front light (Hope R2) is enough for me most of the time riding unlit country lanes.

850 lumens is only used on a clear bright sunny day on busy roads.. I never ride at night therefore it's never an issue.. The lights got 12 settings ranging from 850 down to 110 lumens .. 6 flash modes 6 steady / flash modes.. I've yet to encounter any one Motoris/ cyclist / pedestrian that says the lights to bright.. In fact I've lost count of the number of times I've had motorist say to me how effective the bright mode is.. As for being damnright dangerous you adjust the power output to suit the situation .. 

Avatar
Tom Jones [12 posts] 5 months ago
1 like
Mybike wrote:

I know my gear and trust it . Im not the one justifying my purchace by calling other people names like you are .   

you no your gear.. Really !! All the gear no idea !! 

Avatar
vonhelmet [1350 posts] 5 months ago
5 likes

Well, this comments section got a bit weird.

Avatar
don simon fbpe [2963 posts] 5 months ago
3 likes
vonhelmet wrote:

Well, this comments section got a bit weird.

I'd like to see our enlightened friend get his teeth ino a serious issue (helmets would be a good start, or undertaking horses), one wonders what levels of animation we'd have the pleasure of witnessing.

Pages