2009 Tour de France teams announced

Teams from Russia, Switzerland, Kazakhstan, the US, Denmark, Italy, Belgium and… France

Straight from our inbox to you… Quite a lot of teams from France and assorted cycling nations plus the welcome return of one from Kazakhstan.

As expected the Cervelo Test Team get a wildcard entry – given their start to the season and the fact that last year's winner, Carlos Sastre rides for them it would have been pretty amazing if they hadn't.

20 teams will make up a peloton of 180 riders and set off from Monaco on the 96th edition of the Tour de France on the 4th of July. Can't wait.

Team Milram (MRM)

Quick Step (QST)
Silence - Lotto (SIL)

Team Saxo Bank (SAX)

Caisse d’Epargne (GCE)
Euskaltel - Euskadi (EUS)

United States
Garmin - Slipstream (GRM)
Team Columbia – High Road (THR)

AG2R La Mondiale (ALM)
Agritubel (AGR)
BBox Bouygues Telecom (BTL)
Cofidis, Le Crédit en Ligne (COF)
Française des Jeux (FDJ)

Lampre – N.G.C. (LAM)
Liquigas (LIQ)

Astana (AST)

Rabobank (RAB)
Skil-Shimano (SKS)

Team Katusha (KAT)

Cervélo Test Team (CTT)

Tony has been editing cycling magazines and websites since 1997 starting out as production editor and then deputy editor of Total Bike, acting editor of Total Mountain Bike and then seven years as editor of Cycling Plus. He launched his first cycling website - the Cycling Plus Forum at the turn of the century. In 2006 he left C+ to head up the launch team for Bike Radar which he edited until 2008, when he co-launched the multi-award winning - which he continues to edit today. His favourite ride is his ‘commute’ - which he does most days inc weekends and he’s been cycle-commuting since 1994. His favourite bikes are titanium and have disc brakes.

Latest Comments