Like this site? Help us to make it better.


Jasmijn Muller forced to abandon Land's End-John O'Groats record attempt

38-year-old ultracyclist had covered 370 miles when decision to stop was taken


Jasmijn Muller has been forced to abandon her attempt on the Land's End to John O'Groats solo women's record due to illness.

The 38-year-old from London was aiming to beat the 52 hours, 45 minutes record held by Lynne Biddulph since 2002.

The fomer British national 12-hour time trial champion was also targeting the 1,000 mile record also held by Biddulph, which stands at 64 hours, 38 minutes.

Muller set off from Land's End yesterday morning on the 841-mile trip to John O'Groats, but abandoned after covering 370 miles.

In a statement, her support crew said: "She was feeling increasingly unwell during the night and, after conferring with her crew, decided to stop at Chorley.

"She is being well looked after (by husband Chris and on-board paramedic Erica), and expects to make a swift recovery, though sadly not swift enough to get her to John O'Groats within the time limit.

"Jasmijn and the team are very grateful for the huge amount of support this LEJOG record attempt has received from people up and down the country, both online and at the side of the road," the statement added.

"Jasmijn will be in touch herself once she has recovered."

Simon joined as news editor in 2009 and is now the site’s community editor, acting as a link between the team producing the content and our readers. A law and languages graduate, published translator and former retail analyst, he has reported on issues as diverse as cycling-related court cases, anti-doping investigations, the latest developments in the bike industry and the sport’s biggest races. Now back in London full-time after 15 years living in Oxford and Cambridge, he loves cycling along the Thames but misses having his former riding buddy, Elodie the miniature schnauzer, in the basket in front of him.

Add new comment


Luke2105 | 6 years ago

"The fomer (sic) British national 12-hour time trial champion" - and current 24-hour time trial champion.

Latest Comments