Like this site? Help us to make it better.


Rio cyclists recognised in New Year Honours List

The Kennys, Clancy and Cundy among 18 Rio athletes handed gongs this year

The Olympic and Paralympic cyclists have cleaned up for a second time this year, with eighteen riders having their achievements recognised in the 2017 New Year’s Honours List.

Laura Kenny, who won two gold medals in Rio to become the first British woman to win a total of four Olympic titles, and husband Jason, who won three gold medals in Rio to draw level with Sir Chris Hoy as Britain’s most successful Olympian with six gold medals, have both been awarded CBEs for services to cycling.

The Kennys already hold OBEs, so as we reported earlier this year, the higher honour comes as little surprise.

Ed Clancy, who won gold in Beijing, London and Rio, has been given an OBE, as has Jody Cundy for his service to cycling and swimming, having won a total of seven Paralympic gold medals so far in his career.

Olympic gold medallists Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker and Owain Doull along with Paralympic gold medallists Steve Bate, Jon-Allan Butterworth, Karen Darke, Adam Duggleby, Lora Fachie, Megan Giglia, Corrine Hall, Louis Rolfe, Helen Scott and Sophie Thornhill have all been awarded MBEs for their services to cycling.

Kadeena Cox, who won gold in both para-athletics and para-cycling in Rio, is awarded with an MBE for her services to athletics.

Apart from the Olympians, four other stalwarts of cycling in Britain have been granted honours.

British Cycling’s para-cycling head coach Jon Norfolk has been recognised with an MBE for his services to cycling, as has Bill Owen – former president of Welsh Cycling, founder of the Abergavenny Festival of Cycling and an organiser of cycling events for over 30 years – for his services to cycling particularly in Wales.

Brian Robinson, the first British rider to finish the Tour de France and the first to win a stage of the Tour, has been given a BEM for his services to cycling and charity, as has Neville Pettitt, chairman of West Suffolk Wheelers, for his services to cycling and youth participation in cycling.

British Cycling president Bob Howden said: “The New Year’s Honours List represents the latest round of accolades for the Great Britain Cycling Team in what has been an extraordinary year for cycling. In total, British cyclists claimed 12 Olympic medals, 21 Paralympic medals, 16 elite world titles, and yellow jerseys in the Tour de France and Tour of Britain so it’s great to see so many of our cyclists awarded with an honour.

“Along with every other British Cycling member, I am very proud that our sport has such wonderful ambassadors who inspire huge numbers of people to get on their bikes.

“I’m also thrilled for Brian Robinson that his role as a true cycling pioneer has been rewarded. Brian, an inspiration to me and many others in our formative years, has given a huge amount to the sport, particularly in Yorkshire.

“Equally, it is vital that the contributions of Bill Owen and Neville Pettitt are recognised – without their work and that of the thousands of volunteers nationwide who turn out week-in, week-out we simply would not have a sport.

“On behalf of everyone at British Cycling, I’d like to congratulate all of those recognised for their services to cycling in the New Year’s Honours list and thank them for their contribution to our great sport.”


Add new comment


drosco | 6 years ago

Successful atheletes are driven by competition and personal glory. To reward them under the premise of some service to GB doesn't seem right.

Stumps | 6 years ago

He's the type of person who deserves recognition.


davel | 6 years ago
1 like

They're far more deserving than the PM's wife's overpaid hairdresser and the countless 'services to business/politics' gong-winners.

But the whole system is probably beyond repair.

Yogic Cyclist | 6 years ago

Whole system is now a joke.

none of them deserve this recognition. Wiggins Hoy,  Farah FFS, complete farce.

Stumps | 6 years ago

Soon there will be less people without awards than with them.

Whilst i agree some people should be rewarded for the hard work they put in, such as unpaid charity work etc, others get paid an awful lot of money, compared to the everyday working man / woman, to excel at their given sport yet they still get more through the honours system.

No doubt others will disagree but it just doesn't sit well with me.  

Latest Comments