Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Team Wiggins win Revolution Team Pursuit

First Revolution event of Olympic year a success for Team Wiggins and Laura Trott

The first Revolution Series of the Olympic year took place yesterday at the National Cycling Centre in Manchester.

The Team Wiggins vs Team GB team pursuit, one of the headline events, which took place in the evening session, saw Team Wiggins win with a one second lead, moving them to the top of the Elite Championship leader board.

Meanwhile, in the Elite Women’s Races Laura Trott took three of four wins, with British Cycling’s Emily Nelson winning the Scratch Race victory from Trott in the final event.

Olympic medal is ‘only thing missing from what I can physically achieve’ - Cavendish

The Team GB quartet were Chris Latham, Ollie Wood, Kian Emadi and Mark Cavendish against their Team Wiggins counterparts of Steven Burke, Owain Doull, Job Dibben and Andy Tennant, who set a time of 1.59.306.

Dibben said, “I wouldn't say we dominated tonight because we definitely got a kicking in the last race [the Madison, won by team Maloja Pushbikers].”

“The team pursuit was big today - it was the most important event of the night.

“We've done a lot of gym and speed work throughout the whole of December, and with it only being two kilometres, the coach [Heiko Salzwedel], wanted to see if that worked. The first km we did was a personal best by far, so we took it really seriously.”

Trott said: "I was definitely made to work [in the Points Race], Elinor [Barker] and Emily [Kay], took me right down to the line and the race went down to the final sprint.”

The season finale takes place at the National Cycling Centre in Manchester on 23 Jan 2016. Tickets are available online at or by calling See Tickets on 0844 854 2016.


Latest Comments