Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

tubeless (newbie)

quick question...

I've preordered a pair of Hunt 'all season' wheels as an upgrade for my Genesis Vagabond, but im completely new to the tubeless tyre concept....

My question is this - Should i buy my own tyres, sealant, valves etc and pay my lbs to set up the wheels or shall I give it a go - As a newbie am i lilely to f*%k it up by damaging the wheels? I understand i may need a better track pump as well.....

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

21 comments

nniff | 3 years ago
1 like

I'm in the 'waste of time and effort on a road bike' school of thought.  I persevered for a couple of years then threw a pair of 'perfecty good' top-dollar tubeless tyres in the bin, gave all my tubless kit (that tells you everything you need to know) to a friend (not for much longer) and put Michelin Pro4s back on.  Not looked back since.

Welsh boy | 3 years ago
0 likes

Two comments here, the first is dont bother with an inflator tank, I have never failed to seat a tubeless tyre with either a track pump or, where that doesnt work, a CO2 canister.  Secondly, dont bother with tubeless, after sticking with them for 3 years and trying to convince myself it was better than tubes I have now gone back to using inner tubes.

Joe Totale replied to Welsh boy | 3 years ago
1 like

I've also found with two layers of decent tape that all tyres will seat either with a pump or at worst with CO2. 

On the road I don't think the advantages are significant enough for someone to spend a load of money to switch to tubeless. If you've got a decent set up with tubes and are good at changing them quickly then I wouldn't bother.