Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

newbie needing advice on new bike

Hi everyone

I hope asking this question is ok; if not then apologies

I would like to buy a road bike (last one was a Peugeot racer back in 1989!)

My budget was initially £1000 but my local bike shop suggested a Tifosi Scalare Caliper Tiagra so that’s now £1275

However, I like having disc brakes on my current bike and also it seems that 105 is a good jump from Tiagra

Just the 105 and Caliper jumps the price to £1550

As I’m new to this I was wondering if anyone could suggest the best option for a budget of £1500-£1600?

Also, the Tifosi comes with 25cm wheels But allows space for 28cm

Many thanks

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

7 comments

David9694 | 3 years ago
3 likes

Sounds like Mr Bike Shop is succeeding at up-selling you - I agree with him, although for different reasons. Nice bikes, Tifosi, but not the cheapest way into it if you are price conscious.

The general picture is that there's a lot of demand for bikes under £1,000, so make sure whatever you get interested in can actually be supplied in a reasonable time. 
Your shop will also have asked you what you want to use it for, where it will be parked, when/where you plan to ride it (Peaks, Fens; rain - mudguards) what if anything do you need or want to carry on it.

I don't run any disc brakes and never have on a road bike. Your main enemies as a bike buyer are complexity, weight and expense - in my view discs give you all three, with little benefit unless you're fully laden in the hills in the rain. It's not obvious if it can take proper mudguards.