Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

25 or 23 Tyres

Hi All,
I'm pretty new to road cycling and was wondering what the pros and cons were for 700x25 and 700x23 tyres. I am currently using Michelin Pro race3 700x25 and think they are awsome.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

7 comments

Simon E | 13 years ago
0 likes

Chris, Michelin's graph is much simpler.

Latex tubes are known for not retaining pressure, even losing a significant amount overnight, but a good butyl tube shouldn't lose much over a week and certainly not 20 psi. I'd be swapping mine out if they did that.

If you're riding over cats eyes on a bicycle you're a braver man than me!

dave atkinson | 13 years ago
0 likes
Quote:

I'm only 64kg (10 stones) so perhaps it is more of an issue for heavier riders but how do you get pinch punctures on tarmac?

normally from potholes or other imperfections you don't see; i've had plenty in my time and i'm one of those heavier riders, it's certainly more of an issue the heavier you get.

I run 25s minimum as a matter of course on all my bikes, i find them more comfortable and versatile and the weight difference is negligible for a 98kg rider like me. the difference in rolling resistance between the two is pretty negligible too.

cat1commuter | 13 years ago
0 likes

I much prefer 25s. They roll better and with greater comfort over rough tarmac. You have to pump up narrower tyres harder to avoid pinch flats, which reduces the contact patch with the road, and hence available grip.

Most 25s I have tried are actually 23 mm wide. I have a pair of Schwalbe Ultremo 700x28, and they are 25 mm wide, a pair of Ultremo 700x25 which are 23 mm wide, and don't have any in 700x23!

KirinChris | 13 years ago
0 likes

Very little difference between 25 and 23 AFAIK. To get a noticeable difference I think you'd need to go up to 28mm.