Home
Verdict: 
The best value performance groupset is better than ever
Weight: 
2,512g

Shimano 105 is the privateer standard. That's the basic premise of this review: if you read no further, then know that you're getting a groupset that's so close in look and functionality to Dura Ace and – especially – Ultegra that's it's very hard to justify the extra spend. If it was my money, this is the mechanical groupset I would buy for racing and fast riding. The return for going higher is a very slight weight reduction, and looks that are a bit more shiny. Really that's about it: the Shimano 105 groupset is so good now that the gaps in performance have all but disappeared.

Pros: Near flawless performance, great value, good looks

Cons: Nothing really

Let's take a look at the parts in turn

Chainset

shimano_105_r7000_groupset_-_cranks.jpg

The 105 chainset is now a direct descendant of the Dura Ace chainset. It uses a very similar construction for the spider; Shimano have been using their Hollowtech process for a long time and they've stuck with it in spite of their rivals moving to carbon. The process results in a hollow crank arm; the new crank design is wider but the weight overall is reduced. The outer chainring is heavily machined on the inside face to reduce weight, like the previous version, but retains splines across the machined section to make sure stiffness isn't compromised. It's not quite as technically advanced as the Dura Ace and Ultegra outer rings, which feature a two-piece construction, but you wouldn't know unless you looked at it from the back. The design is a bit more susceptible to storing grime in all the recesses but that's not a huge issue.

> Buy Shimano 105 R7000 groupset

> Find a Shimano dealer

Stiffness is right up there with the best. Shimano are persisting with a 24mm steel axle, where others have moved to 30mm aluminium axles, but it doesn't appear to make any meaningful difference to the performance of the crankset. This is a super-stiff unit: jump on the pedals and give it the beans and there's barely any movement of the rings at the front derailleur, so you hardly ever get any mech rub when things are set up properly.

Shifting between the two rings is excellent, with the new front mech (more on that below) making front shifts light and predictable; the front shifting is probably the biggest difference between this groupset and its predecessor. I moved directly from one to the other, stripping a Shimano 105-5800 groupset off my race bike to fit this new kit, and there is a noticeable difference between the two in the lightness of the shifting at the front.

Dual control levers

shimano_105_r7000_groupset_-_brake_levers.jpg

Shimano doesn't currently have any plans to trickle Di2 down to 105 level, so if you're after electronic shifting then you'll need to go up to Ultegra. The new Shimano 105 levers are redesigned, and it'll not be a surprise to know that they're taking on some of the changes made further up the groupset hierarchy. The shifting mechanisms have been tweaked to make the shift a bit more snappy, and the shape of the lever has been changed: it's slightly more compact and squarer, and features a patterned rubber cover for extra grip on the hoods. Personally I find the new shape very comfortable and I found the old shape very comfortable too, so it hasn't really improved things in that regard, but they are a bit more grippy in the wet which is a bonus, and they maybe look a bit more purposeful.

You don't get the carbon brake lever that you have on Ultegra and Dura Ace, so the levers are a bit heavier as a result. These are the mechanical levers: there's also a new hydraulic lever for use with hydraulic disc brakes, which replaces the current, slightly clunky, RS505 unit. We have those in for testing too but we'll report on them separately.

Read more: Your complete guide to Shimano groupsets

The operation of the levers will be familiar to anyone that's ever used a Shimano Dual Control system: both levers towards the middle to shift up, just the inner lever to shift back down. It generally works faultlessly, and these levers are no exception. Shifts up and down the cassette, and from one chainring to the other, are very efficient and predictable. You can shift up to three gears up the cassette at once; downshifts are one at a time. The throw of the lever has been shortened slightly from the 5800 lever, which makes shifts from the drops a bit easier. The reach adjustment range has been increased too, which will be happy reading for those with smaller hands.

The 105-7000 levers have one foible, which is replicated right across the Shimano Dual control universe: if you accidentally catch the brake lever when you want to downshift then the mechanism doesn't engage and you'll need to try again. It's not the end of the world by any stretch of the imagination, but it is an issue to be aware of, and one I often find myself wishing they'd address. Normally it's gloves that trigger it; in the summer it's rarely a problem.

Rear derailleur

shimano_105_r7000_groupset_-_rear_mech

The rear derailleur is completely new for 105, moving over to Shimano's Shadow technology that's come over to the road from the mountain bike groupsets. The mechanism is significantly more compact than the previous mech, meaning that the derailleur doesn't protrude so far outside the frame (33mm, as opposed to 45mm). This means it's better protected in the event of a crash. The new derailleur is available in two cage lengths; the shorter SS mech is for cassettes up to 11-30T, and the GS has a claimed maximum of 11-34T (although in reality it'll handle a lot more). The new design is compatible with direct mount frames, although there aren't many of those in the road sector right now.

Shimano tried a new barrel adjuster design for the Ultegra 8000 groupset, and it wasn't very well received. The 105-7000 mechs have a standard Shimano barrel adjuster that works just fine. Setting up the mech is pretty easy, although the position of the pinch bolt makes it a bit awkward to cinch. Once you're there, though, shifting is everything you'd expect: precise and repeatable across the whole cassette. I've used both the SS derailleur on an 11-28 cassette and the GS derailleur on an 11-34, and there's no meaningful difference in performance between the two: shifts are crisp and light. The higher spring tension of the new mechs means that there's a lot less chain movement overall; Shimano don't offer a clutch mech like they do with Ultegra (the RX derailleur) but unless you're running a single ring setup that's not really a concern. I found that the stronger spring and the new design makes it marginally harder to drop out the rear wheel, but I think it's mostly that a slightly different technique is needed.

Front derailleur

shimano_105_r7000_groupset_-_front_mech.jpg

Again, the front derailleur is fundamentally redesigned. The new front mech uses a cam arrangement to actuate the shift, and that allows the unit to be much more compact. The issue with the previous mech was the long pull arm that in some cases could clash with a larger tyre. That's not an issue with the new version, and it has other benefits too. You can run an outer cable all the way to the mech which is useful for some bikes with tricky internal cable runs. The new cable clamp also features a tension adjustment screw, which means you can dispense with an inline barrel adjuster. As before there's a polymer insert on the back of the cage which cuts right down on noise if there's any cage rub at the extremities, so the mech is a bit more forgiving of setup being slightly off.

The shift is improved. It's not a seismic change, but the front shifts are a bit lighter and more predictable than with the previous groupset. That's down to the combination of shifters, chainrings and mech, so it's not necessarily just down to the new mech design, but that's what you want: all the groupset components working together well.

Brakes

shimano_105_r7000_groupset_-_brakes.jpg

Most of the changes to the brake callipers happened with the previous 105-5800 groupset: there was a change to a symmetrical dual-pivot design, support for direct mount frames and room for 28mm tyres. Those changes are all carried through; the only noticeable difference is that the quick release lever has been repositioned so that it tucks in to the arm when it's closed. It might be more aero, who knows; it's certainly a little bit neater.

The Shimano symmetrical dual-pivot brakes are, for me, the best road rim brakes out there. They have a very solid feel and modulation is excellent. I've been using the brakes on my race bike, which has Swiss Side Hadron 485 wheels that have an alloy brake track, and the brake performance from a rim brake is about as good as you're going to find for a rim brake. The 105 callipers are not noticeably inferior to the Ultegra brakes in anything other than weight, and even then we're only talking about 20g here and there.

Cassette

shimano_105_r7000_groupset_-_cassette.jpg

The main change to the 105 cassettes for the 7000 series groupset is that there are some wider range options available. 11-32 was the biggest you could go with the previous 105 groupset, but now there's an 11-34 option too. It's designed to also fit a mountain bike wheel, so you need the optional spacer if you're fitting it to an 11-speed road wheelset. The fact that the weights stated for the old and new cassettes are identical suggests that not much has changed otherwise. Not that it needed to: shifts are crisp right across the sprockets.

Chain

The 105 chain gets the same ultra-low friction SIL-TEC surface treatment as the more expensive chains and – praise be! – Shimano chains now come with a quick link, making them much easier to fit and remove. The quick link isn't maybe quite as easy to use as a KMC one but it's a whole lot better than the break-off pin they insisted on using up until now. The 105 chain is a whole 3g heavier than the Ultegra one, which I doubt you'll notice.

Pedals

shimano_105_r7000_groupset_-_pedals.jpg

Shimano's SPD-SL system is well-established, and the PD-R7000 pedal is an incremental development over the last incarnation. The new design of the carbon fibre reinforced resin pedal body has managed to shave a bit of weight, though; the weight is down 25g to 265g, only 17g more than the Ultegra pedals. There's a big range of tension available, so you can be securely or loosely held to your bike depending on your preference. The SPD-SL system is my personal favourite for road cycling, but different pedals suit different folks. The pedals come shipped with SM-SH-11 (yellow) cleats, which have 6° of float. There are two other options: blue, with 2° of float, and red, with no float at all.

The pedals have a nice low profile which means you can lean them over into the corners a long way; Shimano says they can cope with a 31° lean. Sealed axles and cartridge bearing should mean a long service interval. In use they're indistinguishable from the more expensive Ultegra pedals; weight is really the only difference here.

Weight

Overall, you're looking at a full system weight that's about 200g heavier than Ultegra 8000, and you can save yourself half a kilo by going all the way to Dura Ace at the top of the mechanical tree. Here's a chart of how the weights of the different components stack up.

  Weights (grams) Weight differences
  105-7000 Ultegra-8000 Dura Ace-9100 DA vs 105 % Ultegra vs 105 %
Chainset 713 668 614 99 13.88 45 7.33
Dual Control levers 500 438 365 135 27.00 62 16.99
Rear mech SS 225 200 158 67 29.78 25 15.82
Front mech 95 92 70 25 26.32 3 4.29
Cassette 11-28 284 251 193 91 32.04 33 17.10
Chain 257 257 247 10 3.89 0 0
Brakes 379 360 326 53 13.98 19 5.83
Pedals 265 248 228 37 13.96 17 7.46
Total 2,718 2,514 2,201 517 19.02 204 9.27

Is it worth spending the (significant) extra money to get Ultegra over 105 these days? Not in my opinion, for the riding that I do. It's nice to have shiny things, of course, and I'd much rather you spent your disposable income on bike parts than pretty much anything else. But speaking as a third-cat racer with a limited budget, I'd say this is as good as it gets in terms of bangs per buck right now. In terms of functionality there is no compromise here: this groupset is better than Dura Ace was a few years ago, for a fraction of the price. There's no aspect of its performance that would be meaningfully improved by going one rung up the groupset ladder. You'd just about be able to tell the difference in a blind test if you went up to Dura Ace – and you'd save half a kilo, which isn't insignificant – but you'd be spending more than twice as much.

The weight savings aren't spread evenly. If you were looking at getting some Ultegra bits You'd be hard pressed to justify upgrading from a 105 chain, for example, to net the 3g weight saving that gives. The biggest saving in absolute terms is the Dual Control levers (62g) and the biggest in terms of percentage is the cassette (17% lighter). The second is interesting in that the cassette is often a place where bike manufacturers spec down as it's not an obvious downgrade.

The new 105 groupset is better than the outgoing 105-5800 system: the shifting is improved and it gets nearly all the innovations from the more expensive groupsets. But it remains the case that 105-5800 is a really excellent groupset too and the release of 105-7000 will mean there are bargains to be had out there. Currently, looking online suggests that the new 105 is about £150 more expensive right now than its predecessor. Is the new groupset £150 better than the previous one? It's a pretty marginal decision, unless you're looking for the extra capacity from the GS mech and wider range cassette. If you're buying a new bike with this groupset already fitted, though, then rest assured: it represents stellar value for the near-flawless performance you get. In terms of bangs per buck, this is as good as it gets.

Verdict

The best value performance groupset is better than ever

If you're thinking of buying this product using a cashback deal why not use the road.cc Top Cashback page and get some top cashback while helping to support your favourite independent cycling website

road.cc test report

Make and model: Shimano 105 R7000

Size tested: 52/36 11-30

Tell us what the product is for and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

SHIMANO 105 R7000 Series will empower more riders than ever before to embrace the sport of road cycling. It will become the supportive groupset that beginner riders choose to help them train for, and ride in more serious races.

By combining trickle down technology with a greater accessibility, SHIMANO 105 will continue to motivate and inspire more riders than ever to go after greater challenges.

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
9/10

Very nicely made and finished. Not quite as slick as the more expensive groupsets, but not far off

Rate the product for performance:
 
10/10

Near faultless performance

Rate the product for durability:
 
9/10

Mostly alloy construction means it should last

Rate the product for weight (if applicable)
 
9/10

Only 200g more than Ultegra; hard to justify the extra spend for the next groupset up if weight's your thing.

Rate the product for comfort (if applicable)
 
9/10
Rate the product for value:
 
9/10

The best value current groupset out there. The outgoing 5800 series 105 is still worth buying and it's currently quite a bit cheaper

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

Almost perfectly

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

Works brilliantly; looks great

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

Nothing really

How does the price compare to that of similar products in the market, including ones recently tested on road.cc?

It's the best value performance groupset for me

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes

Would you consider buying the product? Yes

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes

Use this box to explain your overall score

Exceptional performance and value. A really good groupset. Recommended.

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 45  Height: 189cm  Weight: 92kg

I usually ride: whatever I'm testing...  My best bike is: Kinesis Tripster ATR, Merida Scultura

I've been riding for: Over 20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Experienced

I regularly do the following types of riding: road racing, time trialling, cyclo cross, commuting, touring, club rides, sportives, general fitness riding, fixed/singlespeed, mtb, Mountain Bike Bog Snorkelling, track

Dave is a founding father of road.cc and responsible for kicking the server when it breaks. In a previous life he was a graphic designer but he's also a three-time Mountain Bike Bog Snorkelling world champion, and remains unbeaten through the bog. Dave rides all sorts of bikes but tends to prefer metal ones. He's getting old is why.

34 comments

Avatar
cdamian [235 posts] 2 months ago
1 like

//LINK TO JOHN'S LOW GEARING PIECE// is  probably this one: https://road.cc/content/feature/246424-how-get-ultra-low-gearing-gravel-...

Avatar
jaspersdog [4 posts] 2 months ago
1 like

You mention out of the box functionality and weights, but in my experience of all three of top tier groupsets from Shimano the wear rate is the significant difference. I have a 6 year old Dura Ace rear mech on one bike that functions as new but I have chucked 105 mechs after 18 months. Cosmetically the last iteration of 105 chainsets which came on my CDF ti looked like crap after 3 rides (albeit filthy ones). I replaced with Ultegra after a crash and it still looks good after 18 months of abuse. 

I haven't used this new version of 105, but if you consider, weight, performance, price and longevity as the key factors I suspect Ultegra will still be the sweet spot for me.

Avatar
Jimmy Ray Will [988 posts] 2 months ago
1 like
jaspersdog wrote:

You mention out of the box functionality and weights, but in my experience of all three of top tier groupsets from Shimano the wear rate is the significant difference. I have a 6 year old Dura Ace rear mech on one bike that functions as new but I have chucked 105 mechs after 18 months. Cosmetically the last iteration of 105 chainsets which came on my CDF ti looked like crap after 3 rides (albeit filthy ones). I replaced with Ultegra after a crash and it still looks good after 18 months of abuse. 

I haven't used this new version of 105, but if you consider, weight, performance, price and longevity as the key factors I suspect Ultegra will still be the sweet spot for me.

Exactly this for me. 

105 is a brilliant groupset, and this latest iteration sounds superb, however to restrict comparisions with Ultegra /Dura Ace to weight and immediate performance is a bit short sighted. 

I'm running 9100 on the race bike this year and have been blown away by its performance; not just out of the box performance, but performance after nearly a year of abuse (including a crash). its staying power is a huge differentiator that needs to be factored in.

Conversely, 5800 has been on my winter bike since 2014, and i can confirm that I am now on;

 - my fourth rear mech (upgraded to Ultegra last time out)

 - my third set of cranks (online prices mean its cheaper / same price to replace the whole chainset than it is to replace the outer chain ring which is the part that wears hard)

 - 2nd set of brake calipers

 - 3rd bottom bracket (up graded to Dura Ace now)

I have also replaced countless chains and cassettes. A 105 cassette will do half a winter, where as an Ultegra cassette will do a whole season.

I have to caveat the above by saying that as a winter / training bike, this groupset sees all teh worst of the conditions, which will accelerate wear. That aside the longevity of Ultegra versus 105 is noted. 

 

 

Avatar
cyclesteffer [356 posts] 2 months ago
0 likes

Great review Dave, In terms of longevity vs Tiagra on winter bikes (I have two winter bikes!), I found 105 5800 outer chainring to last 14,000 miles of hard winter abuse and is just about still useable with about 1000 miles left in it I think, the Tiagra 4700 one has done 4800 miles and is absolutely shark-finned to hell.

I think the Tiagra must not get any heat treatment to harden the metal.

Avatar
dave atkinson [6446 posts] 2 months ago
0 likes

Jimmy Ray Will wrote:

jaspersdog wrote:

You mention out of the box functionality and weights, but in my experience of all three of top tier groupsets from Shimano the wear rate is the significant difference. I have a 6 year old Dura Ace rear mech on one bike that functions as new but I have chucked 105 mechs after 18 months. Cosmetically the last iteration of 105 chainsets which came on my CDF ti looked like crap after 3 rides (albeit filthy ones). I replaced with Ultegra after a crash and it still looks good after 18 months of abuse. 

I haven't used this new version of 105, but if you consider, weight, performance, price and longevity as the key factors I suspect Ultegra will still be the sweet spot for me.

Exactly this for me. 

105 is a brilliant groupset, and this latest iteration sounds superb, however to restrict comparisions with Ultegra /Dura Ace to weight and immediate performance is a bit short sighted. 

I'm running 9100 on the race bike this year and have been blown away by its performance; not just out of the box performance, but performance after nearly a year of abuse (including a crash). its staying power is a huge differentiator that needs to be factored in.

Conversely, 5800 has been on my winter bike since 2014, and i can confirm that I am now on;

 - my fourth rear mech (upgraded to Ultegra last time out)

 - my third set of cranks (online prices mean its cheaper / same price to replace the whole chainset than it is to replace the outer chain ring which is the part that wears hard)

 - 2nd set of brake calipers

 - 3rd bottom bracket (up graded to Dura Ace now)

I have also replaced countless chains and cassettes. A 105 cassette will do half a winter, where as an Ultegra cassette will do a whole season.

I have to caveat the above by saying that as a winter / training bike, this groupset sees all teh worst of the conditions, which will accelerate wear. That aside the longevity of Ultegra versus 105 is noted. 

 

I've got the new 105 on a bike that'll be seeing plenty of winter miles, so we'll revisit this in the new year...

Avatar
Ogi [164 posts] 2 months ago
10 likes

Jimmy,
I've never heard anyone destroy their components with that wear rate. You must be and/or:
1) Peter Sagan
2) Ride +20,000 miles a year
3) Use diamond chain
4) Never heard of a concept of lubing and bike maintenance.
105 cassette gone in half a winter? Let's say that's 3 months. How? How do you manage to do it?

Avatar
Tass Whitby [65 posts] 2 months ago
0 likes

cdamian wrote:

//LINK TO JOHN'S LOW GEARING PIECE// is  probably this one: https://road.cc/content/feature/246424-how-get-ultra-low-gearing-gravel-...

I was on holiday, okay?  1

Avatar
ShinyBits [11 posts] 2 months ago
0 likes

Only 4.5 stars, not 5, despite no cons at all? OK, I'll give you a reason - no standard 1x option!  3

Avatar
mylesrants [427 posts] 2 months ago
4 likes

My good bike has Campagnolo Record. 

My touring bike has 105. 

105 is BY FAR the better components. Works every time, under load, trustworthy and (one for the blokes crying in the corner with the campag shield tats on their calf) it is finished better!

I used to say campag wears in, shimano wears out. Campagnolo have lost it. Not enough in R and D. The Tektro made Campy Chorus brakes were the last straw. 30 years of loyality gone.

Shimano is now 5 stars.

New gravel bike ordered with 105 Disc. Will upgrade the casette to 600 for a cheap weight fix and the rest stock.

Avatar
srchar [1093 posts] 2 months ago
4 likes

105 isn't finished better than Record though, is it? One is aluminium with paint that flakes off, the other is carbon fibre.

Avatar
Jimmy Ray Will [988 posts] 2 months ago
1 like
Ogi wrote:

Jimmy, I've never heard anyone destroy their components with that wear rate. You must be and/or: 1) Peter Sagan 2) Ride +20,000 miles a year 3) Use diamond chain 4) Never heard of a concept of lubing and bike maintenance. 105 cassette gone in half a winter? Let's say that's 3 months. How? How do you manage to do it?

 

Basically option 1...

In all seriousness, it is mainly because the bike sees all the shit miles. And whilst I do clean and lube a chain regularly, its not after every ride, which does shorten life spans. My point on this however is that Ultegra is more robust in withstanding these conditions than 105. 

Then if you bang in big wattage (well, not that big but not tickling the pedals), big gear training and long rides in the crap, and its a hostile environment for a bike. 

 

Avatar
Eli [16 posts] 2 months ago
4 likes

I've had the 105 5700 on my winter bike for about 5 years now and in that time i've put some serious miles on it. They only thing I have changed in that time are the consumables ie Chain and Casette. Everything still works perfectly. Once it dies, i'll be moving to the 105 7000 as I have tried both the R7000 and the R8000 on mate's bikes and I honestly could not tell the difference.

Avatar
Prosper0 [157 posts] 2 months ago
3 likes
mylesrants wrote:

My good bike has Campagnolo Record. 

My touring bike has 105. 

105 is BY FAR the better components. Works every time, under load, trustworthy and (one for the blokes crying in the corner with the campag shield tats on their calf) it is finished better!

I used to say campag wears in, shimano wears out. Campagnolo have lost it. Not enough in R and D. The Tektro made Campy Chorus brakes were the last straw. 30 years of loyality gone.

Shimano is now 5 stars.

New gravel bike ordered with 105 Disc. Will upgrade the casette to 600 for a cheap weight fix and the rest stock.

 

Riiiiight... what have you been smoking? Can I have some?

Avatar
Tones0000 [7 posts] 2 months ago
4 likes

Shimano really missed out on not building a subcompact crankset in this price range. A 46-30 or 44-28 would redefine the gravel / adventure markets and open up bikes to normal people who live near some hills. Paticularly if you hack it to fit an 11-40T cassette as well. You could comfortably ride up very steep grades while seated which is needed on loose surfaces.

Avatar
dave atkinson [6446 posts] 2 months ago
2 likes

Tones0000 wrote:

Shimano really missed out on not building a subcompact crankset in this price range. A 46-30 or 44-28 would redefine the gravel / adventure markets and open up bikes to normal people who live near some hills. Paticularly if you hack it to fit an 11-40T cassette as well. You could comfortably ride up very steep grades while seated which is needed on loose surfaces.

Definitely agree with this; the 50/34 and 11-34 combination does give you some good winching gears but a sub-compact would be what i'd go for on my tripster if it were available.

Avatar
jaspersdog [4 posts] 2 months ago
0 likes
dave atkinson wrote:
Jimmy Ray Will wrote:
jaspersdog wrote:

I haven't used this new version of 105, but if you consider, weight, performance, price and longevity as the key factors I suspect Ultegra will still be the sweet spot for me.

Exactly this for me. 

105 is a brilliant groupset, and this latest iteration sounds superb, however to restrict comparisions with Ultegra /Dura Ace to weight and immediate performance is a bit short sighted. 

 

I have also replaced countless chains and cassettes. A 105 cassette will do half a winter, where as an Ultegra cassette will do a whole season.

I have to caveat the above by saying that as a winter / training bike, this groupset sees all teh worst of the conditions, which will accelerate wear. That aside the longevity of Ultegra versus 105 is noted. 

 

I've got the new 105 on a bike that'll be seeing plenty of winter miles, so we'll revisit this in the new year...

Don't get me wrong, It's terrific that Shimano provide such an excellent functioning groupset with the trickle down features of the higher lines.  An "affordable" groupset that works this well makes cycling and cycling sport accessible to more people and might keep more people on their bikes on difficult days, not to mention keep budget racers going when the going is tough (I broke 2 Di2 rear derailleurs in consecutive weeks racing CX and the cost nearly broke me). Shimano should be applauded for that, no doubt. It's just that the wear rate is an important consderation both financially and environmentally when comparing the groupsets.

Avatar
rjfrussell [500 posts] 2 months ago
0 likes

Interested in the comments on the relative durability of ultegra and 105.  I had thought the perceived wisdom was usually that 105 was the more durable (as part of the trade-off for increased weight), but comments here going the other way.

Avatar
dave atkinson [6446 posts] 2 months ago
1 like

rjfrussell wrote:

Interested in the comments on the relative durability of ultegra and 105.  I had thought the perceived wisdom was usually that 105 was the more durable (as part of the trade-off for increased weight), but comments here going the other way.

my personal experience is that there's not a great deal in it. you'll do an order of magnitude more damage to a winter groupset, riding in the salt and grit and rain and crap, than you will a summer groupset. so it's nor surprising that people's winter kit wears out. that's why you spec a cheaper groupset: because you know that will happen.

I've ridden Ultegra through the winter and wrecked it, and I've ridden 105 through the summer and it's barely been touched. I've never done a lab test. I will ask Shimano how the materials differ from groupset to groupset.

Avatar
Miller [159 posts] 2 months ago
1 like
mylesrants wrote:

My good bike has Campagnolo Record. 

etc

If your 105 is working better for you than Record, good for you, but it tells me your Record kit is not set up well. Properly installed, which is no big deal, Record, like any other Campag groupset, functions perfectly for a long time. 

Really irritating the whole bashing-Campag thing. We should show some love for a European manufacturer putting out cutting edge products. Still, this is ignirunt Brexit england so what should I expect.

Avatar
BehindTheBikesheds [2603 posts] 2 months ago
0 likes
Tones0000 wrote:

Shimano really missed out on not building a subcompact crankset in this price range. A 46-30 or 44-28 would redefine the gravel / adventure markets and open up bikes to normal people who live near some hills. Paticularly if you hack it to fit an 11-40T cassette as well. You could comfortably ride up very steep grades while seated which is needed on loose surfaces.

Stronglight 80 with 48/28 works fine with modern Shimano groups. Also just bought a machine polished RSX 110/74 triple with 48/36/24 TA Zicral rings which is going on a Sabbath September using 6703 + 5800 STIs.

Avatar
dave atkinson [6446 posts] 2 months ago
0 likes

BehindTheBikesheds wrote:

Tones0000 wrote:

Shimano really missed out on not building a subcompact crankset in this price range. A 46-30 or 44-28 would redefine the gravel / adventure markets and open up bikes to normal people who live near some hills. Paticularly if you hack it to fit an 11-40T cassette as well. You could comfortably ride up very steep grades while seated which is needed on loose surfaces.

Stronglight 80 with 48/28 works fine with modern Shimano groups. Also just bought a machine polished RSX 110/74 triple with 48/36/24 TA Zicral rings which is going on a Sabbath September using 6703 + 5800 STIs.

Yeah there's plenty of other options too, Praxis and FSA among them. Be nice to have a series chainset though  1

Avatar
Tones0000 [7 posts] 2 months ago
0 likes
dave atkinson wrote:
Tones0000 wrote:

Shimano really missed out on not building a subcompact crankset in this price range...

Definitely agree with this...

Please keep the pressure up on Shimano for this  1

Shimano have really dropped the ball when you think that endurance bikes like the Trek Domane have gone from 25c to 32c tyres in 3 years needing a chainring reduction down to 48/32 just to keep the same effective gearing and Shimano haven't even managed this.

It won't be long before more riders start to realize that running supple tyres of 32+mm is faster in almost all scenarios due to comfort and rolling resistance and even on hilly rides where the weight is partially offset by the chainring reduction and the grip on the descents allows you to brake much later.

Avatar
reippuert [108 posts] 2 months ago
0 likes

Boat Anchors...

 

Thought DureAce and Ultegra where significantly lighter today, wheights doesnt even include BB.

Avatar
reippuert [108 posts] 2 months ago
1 like
dave atkinson wrote:
Tones0000 wrote:

Shimano really missed out on not building a subcompact crankset in this price range. A 46-30 or 44-28 would redefine the gravel / adventure markets and open up bikes to normal people who live near some hills. Paticularly if you hack it to fit an 11-40T cassette as well. You could comfortably ride up very steep grades while seated which is needed on loose surfaces.

Definitely agree with this; the 50/34 and 11-34 combination does give you some good winching gears but a sub-compact would be what i'd go for on my tripster if it were available.

 

A 1:1 exchnage low end gear is really nice for 700x25c in mountains - however it doesnt really cut it if yu add gravel and 700x45c tyres.

 

As long as the 3 major groupset makers insists on 11t sprockets smaller chain rings than the current offered 50/34 compacts will be requested. Even on the road very few cycleists will find 50x11 usefull for anything.

46/30 is the future for anyone non-elite.

 

Avatar
aegisdesign [113 posts] 2 months ago
1 like

Quite surprised that people can go through expensive kit so quickly. I've just over 10,000km (two winters, coming up to third) on cheap Triban 500 with 8 speed Microshift/Claris.

I've been through 4 chains. SRAM 951 is my usual - yes it's 9 speed, not 8 but IME it cures rubbing on the front mech on a triple.

I've recently replaced the rear mech for a Sora R3000 as the adjuster had rusted. Otherwise it was fine. I've replaced the Microshift brake hoods as I'd worn through them. I'm on my second casette (SRAM 850) but mostly as I fancied a 12-26 instead of 12-25.

I've replaced the Tektro brakes as they corroded on the springs and bolts. Again Sora R3000.

Other than that, 4 sets of brake pads, 3 tyres so far (Hutchinson Equinox from new which were scary then Michelin Lithion 2 25c which are much better) and bar tape. Still on the same chainrings, BB, front mech.

I splashed out on nicer wheels (Shimano RS21) which seem to be wearing at an astonishing rate - next bike is disk based.

I'm fully expecting it to survive a third winter though and I suspect it'll be the desire for shiny bits rather than actual need that'll see me upgrade.

Avatar
J90 [430 posts] 2 months ago
1 like
Ogi wrote:

Jimmy, I've never heard anyone destroy their components with that wear rate. You must be and/or: 1) Peter Sagan 2) Ride +20,000 miles a year 3) Use diamond chain 4) Never heard of a concept of lubing and bike maintenance. 105 cassette gone in half a winter? Let's say that's 3 months. How? How do you manage to do it?

 

If you're trying to justify an upgrade, you can destroy anything at an accelerated rate.

Avatar
Oranj [44 posts] 2 months ago
0 likes

I have never noticed this downshift problem. Do you have fat fingers, Dave?

 

Neat groupset, although it would be nice to have cassettes that started at 12T rather than 11T (I'm using some nice Miche 12-27 and 12-30 cassettes which are much better than the pressed steel things they were producing 15 years ago.)

Avatar
J90 [430 posts] 2 months ago
0 likes
reippuert wrote:
dave atkinson wrote:
Tones0000 wrote:

Shimano really missed out on not building a subcompact crankset in this price range. A 46-30 or 44-28 would redefine the gravel / adventure markets and open up bikes to normal people who live near some hills. Paticularly if you hack it to fit an 11-40T cassette as well. You could comfortably ride up very steep grades while seated which is needed on loose surfaces.

Definitely agree with this; the 50/34 and 11-34 combination does give you some good winching gears but a sub-compact would be what i'd go for on my tripster if it were available.

 

A 1:1 exchnage low end gear is really nice for 700x25c in mountains - however it doesnt really cut it if yu add gravel and 700x45c tyres.

 

As long as the 3 major groupset makers insists on 11t sprockets smaller chain rings than the current offered 50/34 compacts will be requested. Even on the road very few cycleists will find 50x11 usefull for anything.

46/30 is the future for anyone non-elite.

 

 

No, it really isn't.

Avatar
SecretSam [4 posts] 2 months ago
2 likes

How does this stack up to Campagnolo and SRAM? I have 5800 105 on the winter bike and hate the shifting, the issue of failed shifts in gloves drives me nuts. My old Campag Veloce, on the other hand, is positive and easy to use.

Avatar
Réno [1 post] 2 months ago
0 likes
dave atkinson wrote:
rjfrussell wrote:

Interested in the comments on the relative durability of ultegra and 105.  I had thought the perceived wisdom was usually that 105 was the more durable (as part of the trade-off for increased weight), but comments here going the other way.

my personal experience is that there's not a great deal in it. you'll do an order of magnitude more damage to a winter groupset, riding in the salt and grit and rain and crap, than you will a summer groupset. so it's nor surprising that people's winter kit wears out. that's why you spec a cheaper groupset: because you know that will happen.

I've ridden Ultegra through the winter and wrecked it, and I've ridden 105 through the summer and it's barely been touched. I've never done a lab test. I will ask Shimano how the materials differ from groupset to groupset.

 

I'd be really interested in the response and whether and where there is a loss or gain in durability between the groupsets. I've read some reviews/appraisals of Sora (e.g.) as being the wintertraining or commuter groupset (dixit Shimano) as well as being less durable because 'merely' Sora rather then being (for instance) Ultegra. Also Dura Ace is considered by some to be só high-end that it is actually quite 'fragile' and requires very regular maintenance.

Pages