Team Sky squad to support Chris Froome at Giro d’Italia revealed

Tour and Vuelta champ seeks third successive Grand Tour win - but salbutamol case rumbles on

Team Sky’s squad to support Chris Froome as he seeks a third successive Grand Tour win at the Giro d’Italia has been revealed, with organisers RCS Sport today publishing the provisional start list.

Lining up alongside the 32-year-old will be three riders who last summer helped Froome to his fourth Tour de France victory – Sergio Henao, Vasil Kiryienka and Christian Knees, who also rode the Vuelta.

Salvatore Puccio, another member of the team that supported Froome in Spain, is also named on the provisional start list for the Giro d’Italia which was released today, with Team Sky’s line-up completed by Philip Deignan, David de la Cruz and Wout Poels.

The race, which starts in Jerusalem on 4 May, is the first Grand Tour to be raced with teams of eight riders following the UCI’s decision to reduce the number from nine.

 Officially, the rule change is aimed at making racing less predictable and more exciting for fans, but it has been widely interpreted as an attempt to end Team Sky’s domination of the Tour de France in particular, with Froome winning four of the five editions raced since he was runner-up to team mate Bradley Wiggins in 2012.

Froome is racing despite UCI president David Lappartient urging him earlier this year to voluntarily suspend himself from racing while the case relating to his testing positive at the Vuelta for twice the permitted amount of the anti-asthma drug salbutamol is ongoing.

Reigning Giro d’Italia champion Tom Dumoulin, who beat Froome into third place in the individual time trial at September’s UCI Road World Championship’s in Bergen, Norway, returns with Team Sunweb to defend his title.

Other contenders for the overall include Groupama-FDJ’s Thibaut Pinot, who last week won The Tour of the Alps, Miguel Angel Lopez of Astana and 2015 runner-up Fabio Aru of UAE Team Emirates, absent through injury from last year’s race which started on his native Sardinia.

Aru’s place as leader of his former team, Astana, was due to have been taken by Michele Scarponi, who was killed when he was hit by a van driver while training ahead of the race.

Besides Froome, three other British riders are named on the provisional start list. Those are Mitchelton-Scott’s Simon Yates, who has top-ten overall finishes at the Tour de France and Vuelta to his name, Katusha-Alpecin’s Alex Dowsett, winner of an individual time trial stage at the 2013 Giro d’Italia, and EF Education First-Drapc rider Hugh Carthy, who rode the race last year.

After the three-day Big Start in Jerusalem, racing will resume on Sicily on Tuesday 8 May, with the race concluding in Rome on Sunday 27 May.

Simon has been news editor at since 2009, reporting on 10 editions and counting of pro cycling’s biggest races such as the Tour de France, stories on issues including infrastructure and campaigning, and interviewing some of the biggest names in cycling. A law and languages graduate, published translator and former retail analyst, his background has proved invaluable in reporting on issues as diverse as cycling-related court cases, anti-doping investigations, and the bike industry. He splits his time between London and Cambridge, and loves taking his miniature schnauzer Elodie on adventures in the basket of her Elephant Bike.

Latest Comments

  • Mathemagician 0 sec ago

    Yes, we should all shy away from using an inherently better drive type.

  • HarrogateSpa 9 min 31 sec ago

    Meanwhile Ricky Ross has started a whole thread of prejudiced anti-cycling bingo....

  • kil0ran 14 min 35 sec ago

    Self-build is the way to go. My old Triban 3 (now a pub bike) has been through commuter build to fast road with Di2 to light tourer to pub bike....

  • quiff 15 min 33 sec ago

    Is that a thing? I thought generally the advice was that you need some steerer above the stem clamp. Ok, it doesn't look that neat having loads of...

  • mdavidford 12 min 57 sec ago

    Makes you wonder why you bother reading reviews in the first place, since they cannot possibly give you any information you would consider useful....

  • ktache 20 min 9 sec ago

    Thank you  for posting this.  I read it yesterday and was very saddened by it....

  • jollygoodvelo 22 min 27 sec ago

    I've bought and enjoyed the other three so will be buying this one.  Beautifully produced books, ideal for dipping in and out of, perhaps in the...

  • brooksby 24 min 39 sec ago

    No, no, no.  I'm not being an idiot in driving 100 miles to go to the beach.  It's the other people driving 100 miles to go to the beach: it's them...

  • kil0ran 24 min 54 sec ago

    Correct on both counts re the Ribble, which is an issue if you can't bring the bike in the house or don't have power to the garage. Echo your...

  • The Choking Angels 32 min 18 sec ago

    Why complain to ST or IPSO? Describing the construction of a booby trap targetted at a particular group of people should be a police matter - it...