Like this site? Help us to make it better.


World's No 1 women's team becomes Wiggle-High5 (+ video)

New sponsor as Rochelle Gilmore's outfit prepares for UCI Women's WorldTour...

2016 sees the launch of the UCI Women’s WorldTour – and the number one ranked team in the sport has a new identity, with the unveiling today of Wiggle-High5.

The team, owned and run by Rochelle Gilmore, has brought the sports brand on board as co-sponsor to replace outgoing backers, Honda, and has put together a short video ahead of the new season.

Its line-up will be bolstered this coming season through the arrival of Great Britain’s double junior world champion Lucy Garner, plus Swedish national champion Emma Johansson, who will retire at the end of 2016, and the Dutch rider, Amy Pieters.

The kit will remain the familiar black and orange that the team has worn since its launch three years ago, but is now supplied by Champion System, replacing the in-house Wiggle brand, dhb.

Gilmore said: “I had an ambition in 2012 to create the most professional women’s cycling team in the world, increase salaries for athletes and become the world number one UCI team within three years.

“These goals have now been reached but we believe that the season ahead represents an opportunity for both the riders and the team to reach a completely new level.

“We’ll be doing all we can to support our riders’ main goals and creating a team environment that will ensure success on the road.”

> Rochelle Gilmore explains how big events are boosting women’s cycling

Wiggle’s chief marketing and sales officer, Harvey Bennett, added: “Wiggle has sponsored the team from its beginning three years ago to achieving their goal of world number one ranking whilst promoting women’s cycling.

“Wiggle is very pleased to extend the successful partnership with the team into 2016.

“Wiggle High5 will be the Team to beat once the season begins and signings, old and new, mean there are riders who can win and support the Giro, Grand Tours and Classics.”

Wiggle-High5 2016 roster

Amy Roberts – World Cup Winner Team Pursuit – Great Britain
Amy Pieters – Omloop het Nieuwsblad Winner – Netherlands
Anna Christian – British Junior Nat’l Road Champion – Great Britain
Anna Sanchis – 2x Road & 3 x Individual TT Nat’l Champion – Spain
Annette Edmondson – Dual World Champion & 5 x National Track Champion – Australia
Audrey Cordon-Ragot – Nat’l TT Champion, Cholet Pays de Loire Dames Winner – France
Chloe Hosking – Mitchelton Bay Classic Series Winner –Australia  
Dani King – Olympic & World Champion Team Pursuit – Great Britain  
Elisa Longo Borghini – Route de France & Tour of Flanders Winner – Italy  
Emma Johansson - 7 x Nat’l TT Champion & 4 x Road Champion – Sweden
Giorgia Bronzini – 3 x World Champion – Italy
Lucy Garner - 2 x Junior World Road Race Champion - Great Britain  
Jolien D’hoore – 3 x Nat’l Champion – Belgium
Mara Abbott – 2 x Giro d’Italia winner & National Road Champion – USA
Mayuko Hagiwara – 11 x Nat’l Champion – Japan  
Peta Mullens – Nat’l Road Champion – Australia.

Simon joined as news editor in 2009 and is now the site’s community editor, acting as a link between the team producing the content and our readers. A law and languages graduate, published translator and former retail analyst, he has reported on issues as diverse as cycling-related court cases, anti-doping investigations, the latest developments in the bike industry and the sport’s biggest races. Now back in London full-time after 15 years living in Oxford and Cambridge, he loves cycling along the Thames but misses having his former riding buddy, Elodie the miniature schnauzer, in the basket in front of him.

Latest Comments