Like this site? Help us to make it better.


Lucy Garner shortlisted for BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year Award

Recognition for winner of Britain's first rainbow jersey at Copenhagen ...

Mark Cavendish isn’t the only cyclist up for an award in next month’s BBC Sports Personality of the Year, with news that Britain’s other rainbow jersey winner at Copehagen, Lucy Garner, has been shortlisted in the Young Sports Personality category.

The 17-year-old from Leicestershire was the first British woman since Nicole Cooke in 2001 to win the Junior Road Race World Championship.

Garner is among ten young sportsmen and women to have made the shortlist, with the best known being diver Tom Daley, a three-time winner of the award, the Paralympic swimmer, Ellie Simmons, who won in 2008, and tennis player Laura Robson.

They are joined by another tennis player, Liam Broady, athlete 
Sally Brown, Athletics, diver Jack Laugher, boxer 
Pat McCormack, the golfer, 
Lauren Taylor, and rugby union player 
Anthony Watson.

That list will be whittled down to just three candidates by a panel of judges on 6 December, with the winner chosen by secret ballot and announced at the event televised live from Salford on 22 December.

The winner of the main prize of the evening is decided by public phone vote, and Cavendish, who this year achieved his twin goals of winning the green jersey in the Tour de France, is currently the bookies’ favourite, ahead of golfer, Darren Clarke.

Another golfer from Northern Ireland, Rory McIlroy, and the athlete Mo Farah are vying for third place according to the bookmakers, well behind the two front runners.

Only two cyclists have previoously won the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award; Tom Simpson was the first, in 1965, the same year he won the World Road Race Championship, while Sir Chris Hoy capped his three gold medals at Beijing in 2008 by taking that year's prize.

In 2008, Britain's Olympic cycling squad also won the team award, while Dave Brailsford walked away with the title of Coach of teh Year.

The list of ten nominees for this year's main award will be announced live on The One Show next Monday, 28 November.

Simon has been news editor at since 2009, reporting on 10 editions and counting of pro cycling’s biggest races such as the Tour de France, stories on issues including infrastructure and campaigning, and interviewing some of the biggest names in cycling. A law and languages graduate, published translator and former retail analyst, his background has proved invaluable in reporting on issues as diverse as cycling-related court cases, anti-doping investigations, and the bike industry. He splits his time between London and Cambridge, and loves taking his miniature schnauzer Elodie on adventures in the basket of her Elephant Bike.

Latest Comments