First 50 inducted as today's stars look on...

Fifty veterans of UK cycling - riders, coaches and personalities - were inducted into a 'hall of fame' at British Cycling's 50th anniversary celebrations in Manchester.

The inauguralll hall of fame included Olympic gold-medal winners Chris Boardman and Jason Queally, and enigmatic Scots rider Robert Millar who, unsurprisingly, didn't turn up to the event.

Yvonne McGregor, Craig MacLean, Paul Manning, Beryl Burton, Hugh Porter - now a renowned commentator - and Graeme Obree were among those inducted.

Also honoured was road racer Tom Simpson, who died during the 1967 Tour de France while climbing Mont Ventoux in Provence.

Sir Chris Hoy and Victoria Pendleton were among the guests of honour at the dinner, but weren't inducted as they're still competing at the highest level. However, Malcolm Elliott was included at the age of 48 at the start of his final season of competitive racing.

Hosting the evening was Sky News anchorman Dermot Murnaghan, who guided the assembled guests through 50 Years of British Cycling, with the help of British Cycling President, Brian Cookson. Through video, images and interviews with key figures in the organisation's development, the story of the last 50 years was told, from the federation's infancy in the late 1950s to its phenomenal achievements in Beijing.

Chris Boardman's coach Peter Keen, who went on to be British Cycling performance director and is now at UK Sport, was also included, as was former professional Sean Yates, British Cycling coach Doug Dailey and broadcaster Phil Liggett.

Click here for pictures and video from the event.