Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Those pop-up cycle lanes - a despatch from the front-line

Every day in the Letters section of the Southern Echo or Bournemouth Echo, another “poor little me” letter from the motoring fraternity, saying “aren’t the cycle lanes terrible” (Southampton) or isn’t the pedestrianisation awful, killing the shops (E.g. Poole, New Milton).

I for one am fed-up with being barged out of the way by cars - thanks, Green Cross Man, etc. Why should anyone have to put up with it? 50 years of dominance - enough. It’s not OK that it’s “too dangerous” for the kids to make their own way to/from school, a friend’s, or a club.

My first non-food shopping trip since March today - Romsey’s Main Street Is Pedestrianised - if I was a trader, that’s where I’d want to be; the admittedly lesser shopping streets looked and felt tatty, compared. The future of non-food is now more than ever all about the shopping experience. Scruffy car park, No/smelly loos, grotty environment - why bother?

Maybe we’re turning the corner on the pop-ups - it feels like there’s now quite a few of us now challenging each letter, a couple of letters praising them have also come in. No-one wants to answer “what’s the alternative?” there is Some acceptance that cycling infrastructure is good/necessary - albeit not here, thanks; or yes, if it means drivers (the important ones in life) still get the lion’s share.

“I saw a cyclist do something bad - it was just before Christmas.”

My concern is that the sun is out and there doesn’t seem to be the use of the pop-ups by cyclists.

But the other arguments raised are looking increasingly hollow and contradictory. Increased congestion, more pollution, access for the elderly/ infirm (very happy to see that provided - next), cyclists everywhere/no cyclists. It’s mildly amusing to see someone build their own construct (“you want us to all go back to the dark ages”) and then proceed to argue against it.