Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Tandem. Advice sought

Hi all

i have a cycle keen 13 yr old daughter and we were thinking if doing a big ride in France in the summer. Possibly Calais to Nice doing maybe 100km a day with loads of stops. I’m a lot stronger than she is and one thought was to maybe try to do it with a tandem. My idea is that I can put in more work than her and we can have lots of chats

she rides a 52cm bike and me a 58.

I have no experience of riding tandems so hence the posting.

Any  thoughts?

Thanks in advance 

Andrew

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

15 comments

Npowel | 1 year ago
1 like

I've used a couple of mountain and road tandems. But I want to say that fit is important the right size for you and your stok.
I would reccomend this Kulana Lua tandem bike here https://www.bikethesites.com/tandem-bikes/. Perfect for Adult riders who want to enjoy a smooth ride in style. The front and rear linear-pull brakes provide a safe and secure ride for everyone.

janusz0 | 5 years ago
0 likes

I've seen Hases in the UK, but the similar UK one I've seen at cycle shows is the Circe Morpheus.
http://www.circecycles.com/products/morpheus/

ConcordeCX | 5 years ago
2 likes

I've done a couple of long tours with older teenagers and their fathers. It's a great experience for everyone and once they realise they're not on mountain bikes the teenagers very quickly out-paced the old men.

For tandems these look ideal to me. It seems to me that they remove the stoker from only having the back of the pilot's neck to look at. Tandemists I've shown it to love the look of it. It's a very joyous picture; I found it on the web some time ago, don't know where, and I don't know who makes these, but they look great.

hawkinspeter replied to ConcordeCX | 5 years ago
0 likes

ConcordeCX wrote: