Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Bike computer

Good evening people. I'm new to road cycling having only been doing it for about 3 months but what I've realised is that I need a computer.  I use, and like Strava but I don't know how fast I'm going until I get home and see on my mobile how far and fast I've gone.  So what I'm looking for is a bike computer which shows me my real time speed but can also record my activity for uploading to Strava, what are your recommendations?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

24 comments

Lydia-Hines | 5 years ago
0 likes

I use Android Strava to record ride data which I upload later for analysis, but I also use a simple wireless Cateye Strada to monitor instant & average speed, distance, total time and clock during the ride. 

Fishpastesarnie | 5 years ago
1 like

Coming from a mainly mountain biking background I much prefer using my Wahoo Element Bolt than a phone. It lasts a lot longer and it's also reassuring that my phone is tucked safely away on my person.

Also in the event that I had an accident I know the phone is *probably* within my reach rather than 20 metres back down the track in a bush and smashed up.

The problem with a quadlock is that it is so damn expensive for what you get. For about £15-£20 more you can get a Lezyne GPS enabled unit and keep your phone safe.

Crampy | 5 years ago
0 likes

Fair enough. I found that my iPhone6, running strava, display on and on power saver mode went from 100 to around 30 % battery over a 4 hour sportive. This could easily be extended by having a simple power pack and cable in your pocket. 

The iPhone8 i have now has an even better battery life. The 6 wasnt waterproof at all (I resorted to taking the phone out the case, wrapping it in clingfilm then re inserting it when it was really wet out) but the 8 is very water resistant.