Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Road Bike as a College Student...

Hello guys!

I am a University student who is interested in biking, and I want to try out a road bike. But I don't want anything too expensive, and I am on a tight budget of spending $300-700 on just the bike.

I would use it mainly for commuting, and on the weekends, I'm planning to go out and enjoy some speed/ adventure/ fun/ exercise/etc. 

There are frequent thefts in our college bike racks, btw. I saw a bike wheel with its lock to the rack, and the rest of the body gone. It made me chuckle to myself back then, but now that I'm planning to get my own bike, I'm getting a little worried. It doesn't matter how strong your lock is, since they will just prop out the rest of the bike from the rack. (I'm still figuring out what to do, probably bring in the bike to my dorm, but I'm worried for when I take the bike to my classes, any ideas?)

I was thinking of buying a Btwin road bike(Possibly the Ultra 700 or the Triban 540 or just a cheaper model). 

It'd be great if you guys helped me out here just a little bit. What would be a good starter road bike, that a college student could go for, and maybe what budget you guys started off with, and just any plain advice regarding amateur road biking.

I just want to hear from actual road bikers yourselves. In the past, I've owned quite a few hybrids, mountain bikes, but never a road bike. I'm quite excited. 

Thanks guys!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

8 comments

Man of Lard | 7 years ago
1 like

Also learn how to lock your bike through the frame & wheel and not just the wheel (or you'll return to the wheel with no frame attached)

Having a bike that is crappy looking compared to everything it's parked next to helps - you want the thieving toerag to ignore your bike and go for Tarquin Prendergast's sleek one.