Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Fulcrum Racing Zero or Shimano Dura ace 9000 C24

Time for some new wheels and these 2 seem to fit the bill.I've no experience of Fulcrum wheels but friends with ceramic bearing hubs seem pretty impressed with them.Any words of wisdom out there for me?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

12 comments

matthewn5 | 7 years ago
0 likes

Yep Zondas/Fulcrum R3 seem to me about the sweet spot for performance/value. And they have the Record hub, the best hub ever made some say.

Tjuice | 7 years ago
0 likes

Don't think you'll go wrong with the Fulcrums.

I have some Fulcrum Racing 5s which came on my race bike (2009,  but bought in 2010) and they've been great.  These days they get a beating on my winter bike on some duff roads in Oxfordshire, but still run true and spin very well (having received very little maintenance).  

joeegg | 7 years ago
1 like

Right,the racing 3's have been ordered.

If the claimed weights for my original wheels,DT rebranded Syncros,and the Fulcrums are correct then the Fulcrums will be a tad heavier,although the Syncros give a feeling of spinning blancmange.

srchar | 7 years ago
0 likes

Usually I would say "Zondas" (basically a Racing 3 with different rear lacing), but that Merlin R3/tubes/GP4k deal is too good to pass up - go for it!

The Racing 5 LGs with GP4000 IIs & tubes at £207 are also an absolute steal; I rode a pair of 5 LGs for 2000km in the Pyrenees and thought they were absolutely fantastic for the money. At 83kg, I noticed that they gave away some stiffness to my Zondas, but fine wheels all the same.

Given your budget, I think the extra hundred quid for the 3s is money well spent.

700c | 7 years ago
1 like

@joegg Yes and yes!

joeegg | 7 years ago
2 likes

Being from Yorkshire the thought of saving some money is music to my ears