Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Hub flange possible source of spoke ping?

I am pretty new to cycling, and particularly to rebuilding wheels. 

I have a rear Giant P-A2 Aluminum Clincher 700c wheel that I re-laced but whilst relacing I noticed quite a bit of wear in the flange. Where it looks like spokes have worn towards the centre - with a few holes with slight play. 

Could hub flange wear make spokes ping? 

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

7 comments

Miller | 3 years ago
1 like

You should take your rebuilt wheels for a ride and see how they get on. They might just need to settle down.

Balthazar | 3 years ago
0 likes

It's normal for spokes to have deformed the flange holes, as it is necessary for them to bed in during tensioning. This is why used hubs should always be relaced in the same pattern. A little play in the holes is not a problem.

"pinging" spokes is a consequence of twist remaining in the spokes from tensioning. When the wheel is weighted during a ride, a given spoke's tension momentarily reduces as it passes the bottom of the wheel, and the spoke untwists with a ping. Of course, this invariably leaves the wheel freshly out of true, and an unwitting builder will true the wheel again, creating an endless cycle of annoyance.

Retension the wheel, and relieve spoke twist as you go. It's fairly easy to do by feel, but trickier as the spokes get tighter. Overtighten each spoke by an eighth-turn or so, and then back it off the same amount, until the spoke twist is gone. A bit of tape or marker on the untensioned spoke is a useful guide to get started. Some more advice here:

https://www.roadbikerider.com/basic-concepts-part-2-spoke-twist-stress-r...

propagandazoo replied to Balthazar | 3 years ago
0 likes

Balthazar wrote: