Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

HELP! Complete Novice - Chainring / Cassette advice

I've got a ten year old Specialized Allez which when cycling back from work last year the chain snapped. I bought a new chain which then wasnt compatible with the heavily worn cassette so replaced the cassette. Whilst this has helped I'm still getting an awful lot of skipping and its almost unrideable. 

The bike is coming towards the end of its life but would be nice to get it back on the road now the weathers picking up without breaking the bank. 

So if I bought and fitted a new set of front chainrings would that get it back on the road or am I fighting a losing battle do we think? Would that lead onto something else?

I'm a complete novice when it comes to this aort of thing so any advice would be great! Thanks!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

11 comments

Dnnnnnn | 3 years ago
1 like

As others have said, you can get a reasonable idea whether your chainrings need replacement by comparing their teeth with new rings. Pointy or 'shark fin' teeth suggest replacement is required.

As others have also said, it may also be an adjustment issue (much cheaper to resolve than 'ring replacement!). One way to check is to compare how the gears function on a workstand versus under the much-heavier load of your leg-power. If they're running sweetly - smooth and quiet - on the stand, changing crisply up and down the rings and sprockets - but still skip when you're applying power when riding then it's a problem with the parts (possibly worn chainrings but perhaps also incompatibility between the chain/cassette/chainrings - do you know for sure that they're supposed to work together?).