Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Anyone riding 52/36 with 11-32?

I have 52/36 with 11-28 cassette and was torn between which to replace to tackle some nasty hills here.. Long story but I've got an 11-32 cassette and going to try it with the semi compact...
Does anyone ride this? Is there much difference to an 11-28 in the middle cogs? I read changing gear from 28 into 32 is a bit of a clunker?
I could always get compact chainrings later when I've saved money (oval when i start laying diamonds) ... I'm new to cycling.. It seems I do need to start laying diamond eggs quite soon!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

41 comments

El Camino | 5 years ago
0 likes

I don't know about the science of it all but I'm happy with 52/36 & 11-32 on my Rose.
Admittedly, the bailout at the bottom end is of more use to me than the 52x11 at the top.

BehindTheBikesheds | 6 years ago
1 like

I wouldn't worry about the 'limit' set for the front, not with only going one more, a 50/33 should shift perfectly fine, again depends if for your chainset you can get a 33T, be worth it for the extra IMO if you're considering a 34T anyway.

CXR94Di2 | 6 years ago
3 likes

Did my first senior club run(70) this year, I was more than able to keep up guys running 53/39 chainrings compared to my piddly 40/28. Don't follow convention, research and set your bike up for your requirement s

MarkOne replied to CXR94Di2 | 6 years ago
0 likes
CXR94Di2 wrote:

Did my first senior club run(70) this year,..

70 years old? And dudes were booking your ferry ticket to Paris for yesterday?!

CXR94Di2 replied to CXR94Di2 | 6 years ago
0 likes
CXR94Di2 wrote:

Did my first senior club run(70 miles) this year, I was more than able to keep up guys running 53/39 chainrings compared to my piddly 40/28. Don't follow convention, research and set your bike up for your requirement s

Corrected  1