Home
Verdict: 
Compact, clever and simple-to-use GPS bike computer with impressive battery life and aero credentials
Weight: 
87g
Wahoo Elemnt Bolt GPS cycling computer
9 10

The Wahoo Elemnt Bolt is a compact and aero GPS bike computer that offers a vast amount of useable information, navigational capability and an excellent battery life at a reasonable price.

> Find your nearest dealer here

Aerodynamics

To begin with, though, Wahoo says that the Elemnt Bolt is the first GPS cycling computer and mount developed as an integrated system to reduce drag.

The head unit itself fits almost seamlessly onto a smooth-edged mount that sits directly in front of, and level with, your stem (a non-aero mount that you can fit to the top of your stem is included in the pack too).

Wahoo Elemnt Bolt GPS bike computer - side 2.jpg

Wahoo Elemnt Bolt GPS bike computer - side 2.jpg

Wahoo claims, 'When tested against leading competitors using computational fluid dynamics (CFD), the Elemnt Bolt system reduced air resistance by over 50 percent – equating to a 12.6 second time reduction over a 40km (25 mile) time trial course for a rider traveling at 21mph.'

Yes, before anyone points it out, a rider traveling at 21mph is going to cover 40km (25 miles) in the same time whatever bike computer is fitted. What Wahoo means is that the reduced air resistance will result in the rider actually going a little faster than 21mph with the Elemnt Bolt fitted for the same power output, or that they'll be able to hold 21mph at a slightly lower power.

Wahoo Elemnt Bolt GPS bike computer - side.jpg

Wahoo Elemnt Bolt GPS bike computer - side.jpg

Wahoo collaborated with cycling aerodynamics expert Dimitris Katsanis to develop and test the Elemnt Bolt. Katsanis played a major role in designs used by British Cycling and the Team Sky road and time trial bikes ridden to victory in the Tour de France in 2015 and 2016.

We're not able to test Wahoo's claims in the wind tunnel and 12.6 seconds over an hour isn't the sort of thing you can isolate out on the road, so you can decide for yourself whether or not you're convinced.

Compatibility

The Elemnt Bolt can communicate via ANT+, Bluetooth Smart and WiFi and is compatible with both iPhone and Android and with popular apps like Strava.

It can speak to most heart rate, speed, cadence, power and muscle oxygen sensors, so you can have that information displayed on the screen.

Wahoo Elemnt Bolt GPS bike computer - screen.jpg

Wahoo Elemnt Bolt GPS bike computer - screen.jpg

You can set it so that phone calls, messages and email alerts pop up on the display as you ride, or you can switch alerts off so that you're not disturbed (there's no way in a million years I'm having emails ping at me while I'm riding; one of the reasons for going out on the bike is to get away from them).

The Elemnt Bolt can also talk to electronic shifting systems. If you have Shimano Di2, SRAM Red eTap or Campagnolo EPS, you can get a visual and numerical indication on screen of the gear you're currently using along with the amount of the system's battery that remains. Di2 also allows you to skip between the Elemnt's various display pages via buttons in the hoods (see more here).

If you own a Wahoo Kickr indoor trainer, the Elemnt Bolt can control that too (but not other trainers). I won't go into detail on that here because most people don't own a Kickr, so check out the Wahoo website for more info on that.

Configuration

The Elemnt Bolt works alongside Wahoo's existing companion app on your smartphone. You don't necessarily need to ride with your smartphone in your pocket but the app is a central part of the system, allowing you to set up your profile, customise the computer display pages, choose routes, review past rides, and more. You'll probably only actually touch the Elemnt Bolt when you're on the bike, doing everything else when you're off the bike via the app.

Wahoo Elemnt Bolt GPS bike computer - power button.jpg

Wahoo Elemnt Bolt GPS bike computer - power button.jpg

Customising the Elemnt Bolt's screens is simple via the app. Once it's paired up to the head unit, you just go into the app, select the page you want to configure, and drag and drop the various data fields into the order you want to see them.

The amount of data fields you can choose from is vast. When it comes to speed, for example, you can have your current, average and maximum speed, your average and maximum for your current lap, your speed compared to your workout average, and so on.

Then you get to choose what info you want to see relating to distance, navigation, climbing, and so on. Plus, as long as you have the relevant sensors connected, you can display all kinds of stats on heart rate, power and muscle oxygen (from Moxy sensors).

This might sound overwhelming but it could hardly be easier. I'd far rather do all this via an app than through the computer itself because a smartphone is larger and less fiddly. You just flick through the app until you find the data fields that interest you, drop them in place and you're done. You can add completely new custom pages if you want. It can all be synced automatically to the Elemnt Bolt.

When you're out on the bike you can scroll through the individual screens you've prepared via the Elemnt Bolt's buttons (it isn't touchscreen) and also zoom in on the most important information information that you've prioritised at the top of each page.

Navigation

The Elemnt Bolt comes with maps for loads of countries already loaded. I can't see myself ever going for a ride on Clipperton Island, but there's a map for it should the opportunity ever arise. You never know. If you want to add maps for Africa, Asia or even Antarctica, you can just go and download them.

The Elemnt Bolt's screen measures 55.9mm diagonally (roughly 45mm x 33mm) and its black and white maps aren't the clearest ever, especially when roads are densely woven, but they're certainly useable.

You can automatically sync routes you have put together on third party sites like Ride with GPS and Komoot via WiFi or Bluetooth Smart (you need a USB cable to do this with a Garmin Edge computer), and you'll get instructions telling you when you need to turn and distance remaining, or a map and the distance until your next turn.

Strava Routes can be imported too, although you won't get turn-by-turn instructions. You will, though, get a thick line on the map to show your route, and flashing LEDs to alert you if you go off course.

When turn-by-turn instructions are possible, the Elemnt Bolt usually gives you plenty of warning about when you need to make a change, but I found that occasionally it would chuck something at me at the last second, seemingly just to keep me on my toes. It never let me down, though. The only real issue to bear in mind is that there's no ability to recalculate a route if you go off course or a particular road is closed. That's your route scuppered.

> Buyer's Guide: Cycling GPS units

In that situation you can use the Take Me Anywhere feature on the Wahoo app (it has to be via the app rather than on the Elemnt Bolt unit itself) that allows you to input any destination on a Google map (a single destination rather than multiple destinations) and receive turn-by-turn navigation to get you there.

If you're not using turn-by-turn instructions and you get lost, you can't scroll around the map on the Elemnt Bolt to help you get back to more familiar territory (you can just zoom out) but there is a 'Back to Start' function that'll get you home.

A live tracking feature allows you to send a link (via text message, email, Twitter, Facebook, Skype and so on) whereby others can see your current location on a map. That's all they can see, though. They don't get the route you've ridden, your speed or data from any sensors that you might have connected. Wahoo really needs to do more with this feature because it's a bit limited, to say the least. Still, dot watching might provide some reassurance to your family when you're out on a ride, I guess.

Strava Live Segments

If you're a Strava Live Segments user (or want to be), the Elemnt Bolt has a lot to offer (you need to subscribe as a Strava Premium member to use Live Segments).

You star your favourite segments online and these are synced automatically to the system. Then, the Elemnt Bolt tells you when you are approaching a starred segment, and flashes 'Go!' when it starts.

LEDs along the top of the head unit tell you if you're up or down on your target, which could be a PR or a KOM/QOM, and the display gives the distance remaining and projected end time.

Your provisional segment time is displayed instantly when you complete the segment, along with whether you got a KOM/QOM or PR.

Unlike a Garmin Edge (at the moment), the Elemnt Bolt does allow you to use Live Segments when you're following a course.

The whole Strava Live integration is an aspect of the design that works really well.

Reviewing your ride

Your ride information is stored on the Wahoo app on your smartphone. This gives you a map of the route you've just done along with duration, distance, average time, amount of climbing, temperature, plus all that info for each of your laps. You'd expect all that. You can also check out info sent by any sensors you have linked up, such as heart rate and power. Little graphs show you how key variables changed over time.

This is all interesting and useful stuff, but if you want to analyse your training performance in depth you need to have all this info sent over to something like Strava or Training Peaks where you can really get down and dirty with it.

Speaking of training, one weakness of the Elemnt Bolt is that it doesn't have structured workout support yet. In other words, you can't download a training session and then have instructions for following it flash up on screen when you're out on the road, although this is promised for the future.

Size

According to our vernier callipers, the Elemnt Bolt measures 75mm x 47.5mm x 19mm. It has a screen size (as usual, measured diagonally) of 55.9mm. We weighed ours at 61g (Wahoo claims 60g – so near enough!).

This makes it smaller than the existing Elemnt which has a screen size of 68.6mm. Of the Garmin Edge bike computers, it's most similar in size to the 520 and 820 which each measure 73mm x 49mm x 21mm. Our Garmin Edge 820 weighed 64g.

Battery life

Wahoo claims a battery life of 15hrs and that reflects my experience with power and heart rate sensors linked up.

Price

The Wahoo Elemnt Bolt GPS bike computer is priced £199.99. The box contains the head unit itself, a charging lead and two mounts: the integrated, aero, out-front one and a stem-top one.

You can also get the Elemnt Bolt with Whoo's Tickr heart rate monitor and RPM speed and cadence sensor for £259.99. Personally, I wouldn't be tempted to link a speed sensor to a computer that already measures speed via GPS, but it's there as an option.

For comparison, a Garmin Edge 520 is priced £279.99 and the 820 is £369.99.

Overall

The Elemnt Bolt is a highly capable bike computer that, along with Wahoo's companion app, is simple to set up and use. I didn't find the mapping the clearest ever, but you get good turn-by-turn navigation and an extensive battery life at a reasonable price. Oh, and if Wahoo's claims are to be believed, the design is more aerodynamically efficient than anything else out there.

Verdict

Compact, clever and simple-to-use GPS bike computer with impressive battery life and aero credentials

road.cc test report

Make and model: Wahoo Elemnt Bolt GPS bike computer

Size tested: One

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

Wahoo says: Created in collaboration with the best minds in cycling aerodynamics, ELEMNT BOLT offers the power and simplicity that originated with ELEMNT in a race worthy design proven to shave seconds off finish times.

ELEMNT BOLT is the first, fully aerodynamic GPS bike computer! It's patent pending design creates an integrated system of computer and mount which results in a CFD (Computational Fluid Design) tested, highly aerodynamic system built to be on the front of your bicycle. Equipped with Bluetooth Smart and ANT+ dual-band technology, ELEMNT BOLT pairs seamlessly with all of your cycling sensors. It works with our free ELEMNT companion app which allows you to set up your data fields, customise profiles, track performance, and share ride data effortlessly - no more confusing menus! Plus, programmable LED QuickLook Indicators provide a quick way to see if you're on pace with important performance metrics like speed, heart rate, and power. Designed for performance and engineered for simplicity - the ELEMNT BOLT GPS Bike Computer helps make every second count.

ELEMNT Integration Updates:

* Strava Live Segments! Upload your favorite Strava segments to ELEMNT BOLT via WiFi, get alerted when they are coming up on your route, track your progress against your PR, goal, or the KOM, and get a final push to be your best!

* Best Bike Split! Upload your race course and race plan to ELEMNT BOLT via WiFi to get your target power and speed, distance to next cue, and more. Your best bike split is just one race away with this integration!

* ELEMNT is the most fully integrated bike computer with the most popular electronic shifting systems including Shimano Di2, SRAM eTAP, FSA WE, and Campagnolo EPS.

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

Wahoo gives shed-loads of tech info. It's probably best that you look at http://uk.wahoofitness.com/devices/bike-computers/gps-elemnt-bolt

In short, you get these features:

* Companion App Set Up

* Quicklook LED Indicators

* Perfect View Zoom

* Call & Text Notifications

* Email Notifications

* Take Me Anywhere Navigation

* Turn By Turn

* Back to Start

* Live Tracking

* Pre-Loaded Global Maps

* Auto-Syncing to 3rd Parties

* Strava Live Segments

* Best Bike Split Race Plans

* KICKR Control

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
8/10

It looks a bit plasticky... but, then, it is plastic, so that's probably not surprising!

Rate the product for performance:
 
9/10

It's a high-tech piece of equipment but one of the beauties is that it's pretty easy to get the hang of the user interface via the Wahoo app.

Rate the product for durability:
 
7/10

You wouldn't want to go dropping it too often – there are no rubber edges, it's just plastic all the way around.

The Elemnt Bolt has an IPX7 rating (it can withstand immersion in water up to 1 metre for up to 30 minutes).

Rate the product for weight (if applicable)
 
9/10
Rate the product for value:
 
9/10

A Garmin Edge 520 is priced £279.99 and the 820 is £369.99. Considering what's on offer here, you get a lot of performance for your money.

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

This is a really good product, I'm a fan. It was simple to pick up the Elemnt Bolt and get the hang of it in no time. I've been using Garmin Edge computers since they were first launched but this might tempt me away.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

It's the usability of the system that I like most. It's a complex device that's easy to use via the app.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

I didn't find the black and white mapping particularly clear. It's certainly easier to pick out details on a colour screen when you glance down while on the move.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes

Would you consider buying the product? Yes

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes

Use this box to explain your score

This is an exceptionally good computer, especially considering the price. It's a definite 8 or 9 with the price swinging it upwards.

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 43  Height: 190cm  Weight: 75kg

I usually ride:   My best bike is:

I've been riding for: Over 20 years  I ride: Most days  I would class myself as: Expert

I regularly do the following types of riding: commuting, club rides, sportives, general fitness riding

Mat has worked for loads of bike magazines over 20+ years, and been editor of 220 Triathlon and Cycling Plus. He's been road.cc technical editor for eight years, testing bikes, fettling the latest kit, and trying out the most up-to-the-minute clothing. We send him off around the world to get all the news from launches and shows too. He has won his category in Ironman UK 70.3 and finished on the podium in both marathons he has run. Mat is a Cambridge graduate who did a post-grad in magazine journalism, and he is a past winner of the Cycling Media Award for Specialist Online Writer.

37 comments

Avatar
keirik [152 posts] 4 months ago
4 likes

Had mine about two weeks now and love it.

So easy to use with the phone app, seamless uploads to Strava, and so much easier to see in bright sunlight than my garmin was.

Bargain price too IMHO

Avatar
steviemarco [236 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes

I do like the Bolt but waiting for the Hammerhead Karoo to come out so I can compare before parting with cash, Karoo looks pretty good especially the mapping/Navigation.

Avatar
bendertherobot [1450 posts] 4 months ago
1 like

DC rainmaker has done the aero test and, quelle surprise, it's almost entirely irrelevant. Perhaps a second, or two.

On a road bike. Because, for a 40km TT, Wahoo don't yet make a TT attachment for the bolt.....

Avatar
earth [357 posts] 4 months ago
1 like

Just started using one.  First experiences are positive.  The only negative I can find is that you really need to use it in conjunction with a smart phone.  Because the screen is not a touch screen, there is absolutely no way to scroll around the map when navigating.  If you are lost or want to take a diversion, being able to look around on the map to see where a road leads is very useful.  But so far it appears impossible to do so with this.  So you have to take a smart phone out with sufficient charge so you can do it on the phone.  While a phone has better mapping features it is  abit of a bind.

Avatar
Rapha Nadal [574 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes

Does it fit a K-Edge out front mount though?  I could do without buying a GPS unit and then having to replace muliple mounts already fitted to my bikes!

Avatar
Alessandro [147 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes

Would anyone really purchase a GPS based on its aerodynamic properties? I ordered a new Garmin the other day and noticed that it was also claiming to be super duper through the air but it certainly wasn't a factor in my decision to buy it. 

Avatar
keirik [152 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes
Rapha Nadal wrote:

Does it fit a K-Edge out front mount though?  I could do without buying a GPS unit and then having to replace muliple mounts already fitted to my bikes!

 

you get an out front mount supplied with it, alongside a stem mount.

 

If you have a non standard bar (I have the Giant Contact SLR) then you have to get a new one - I got mine from raceweardirect as wahoo don't supply one

Avatar
keirik [152 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes
bendertherobot wrote:

DC rainmaker has done the aero test and, quelle surprise, it's almost entirely irrelevant. Perhaps a second, or two.

On a road bike. Because, for a 40km TT, Wahoo don't yet make a TT attachment for the bolt.....

 

as per myo ther post I believe raceweardirect do a tt mount

(no I don't work for them  1 )

Avatar
keirik [152 posts] 4 months ago
1 like
earth wrote:

Just started using one.  First experiences are positive.  The only negative I can find is that you really need to use it in conjunction with a smart phone.  Because the screen is not a touch screen, there is absolutely no way to scroll around the map when navigating.  If you are lost or want to take a diversion, being able to look around on the map to see where a road leads is very useful.  But so far it appears impossible to do so with this.  So you have to take a smart phone out with sufficient charge so you can do it on the phone.  While a phone has better mapping features it is  abit of a bind.

 

using it with a smart phone I see as a positive, much easier to set up, but each to their own  1

 

plus I always take my phone out in case of emergencies anyway

Avatar
ChainedToTheWheel [19 posts] 4 months ago
2 likes
AST1986 wrote:

Would anyone really purchase a GPS based on its aerodynamic properties? I ordered a new Garmin the other day

Welcome to Twelve-point-six-second-slowerville. Population: You.

Avatar
me [88 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes

Screw up the design of a product by leaving out all the controls needed?  No problem, that can be fixed with a magic app.

Screw up the app and broadcast everything to world+dog?  Oh well, buy this new computer, it comes with a different app.  What do you mean the new app isn't compatible with the old computer?

Garmin might be shit but at least the edge's are standalone shit.  Cross this one from my edge 800 replacement contenders.

Avatar
DoctorFish [58 posts] 4 months ago
3 likes
me wrote:

Screw up the design of a product by leaving out all the controls needed?  No problem, that can be fixed with a magic app.

Screw up the app and broadcast everything to world+dog?  Oh well, buy this new computer, it comes with a different app.  What do you mean the new app isn't compatible with the old computer?

Garmin might be shit but at least the edge's are standalone shit.  Cross this one from my edge 800 replacement contenders.

 

Why the rant about incompatable Apps?  There is one Wahoo app that is used to set up both the Elemnt and the Bolt.  After initial set up there is no need to use the app unless you want to do so.

I would certainly not go back to Garmin after using a Wahoo.

Avatar
sneakerfrfeak [112 posts] 4 months ago
2 likes
me wrote:

Screw up the design of a product by leaving out all the controls needed?  No problem, that can be fixed with a magic app.

Screw up the app and broadcast everything to world+dog?  Oh well, buy this new computer, it comes with a different app.  What do you mean the new app isn't compatible with the old computer?

Garmin might be shit but at least the edge's are standalone shit.  Cross this one from my edge 800 replacement contenders.

Were you high when typed that? I've read it a dozen times and I still can't understand what your point is.

Avatar
barongreenback [92 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes

Have had mine for 4 weeks now and I cannot fault it for the price. The set up with the app is simple and the battery life is good. When they sort out adding structured workouts, this will be fantastic. 

Avatar
abrooks [20 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes

Have had one for a few weeks now and think its great.  You can easily get 15 hours even with turn by turn navigation turned on which is the main reason I got it over the Edge 520.  The black and white screen is very easy to read even in bright sunlight and the breadcrumb navigation is clear and faultless.  My only reservation about the device/service is that turn by turn navigation is not flawless, if you really want to know which way to go the breadcrumb is better.

It does all the expected metrics very well and leveraging the iPhone app to set it up is pretty nice.  Aslo allows me to take texts when out which my family really appreciates.  Uploading rides via the app is seamless and easy.

What I haven't seen yet, but what apparently the company is very good at, is improving the experience by releasing updates so as a product it will only get better.  No regrets about buying one at all.

Avatar
hsiaolc [357 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes

I got mine last week.  Didn't ride till today due to exams and was locked in the room for days. 

I waited for something that will eventually do this better than Garmin.  I thought these guys cared to make the product work. 

I was so excited especially coming from Garmin 800 and then switched to Phone with IPbike (I happen to love) but IPbike does have limited drawbacks since it is a one man band and he can only do so much especially he has a day job but kudos to him. 

 

So I thought I wanted live strave segments so I took the Bolt plundge. 

Today first ride to work and I thought hmm my avereage time is oddly out.  I have been commuting the same route for 3 years and it is always around 47-50 minutes. Today the unit showed 54. My average is always around 16mph but today was 14mph.  

I suspected it didn't pick up the speed sensor and used GPS toegher with the Auto Stop function.  I had this problem before with the Garmin Edge 20 (everyone had the same problem and took Garmin a year to fix and 7 months for them to even acknowledge the problem) and I returned the garmin edge 20 immediately the next day.  I really felt sorry for the guys who bought it and waitied so long for them to get it fixed.  

After garmin edge 20 I said no more.  Got the phone used it for a year and couldn't be happier. But like I said before one man band still something lacking. 

On my way home. Same thing. but this time I paid much detailed atteniton to the auto stop.  Not to my surprise some times there are delays up to over 6 seconds.  NOt surprised again when I stopped it still says 6 mph for speed.  I of course checked if the speed sensor was being picked up.  Yes it was all going with the cadence sensor and also the heart rate sensor. 

At one junction it was a joke.  I stopped waited for traffic to go by and when I was just about to set off it beeped and told me it auto paused and ofcourse since I already on the move it beeped immedately that I was out out auto paused. 

So like garmin edge 20's problem it bypassed the speed sensor reading complete and uses the GPS reading for speed.  Garmins fix was to set the unit to Indoor and that way it will shut GPS off and therefore it will use the speed sensor and then get the accurate speed reading that way. 

Whats the point of pairing up with speed sensor that your unit doesn't use and therefore you will have to rely on GPS which is never as accurate as the speed sensor when it comes down to speed.

To get the most fundamental thing wrong for a cycle computer is dreadful.  I am beyond disappointed. Totally useless if they can't even get this right.  I thought garmin was bad and Whaoo is different.  I thought they had years now to develop the Elemnt and this is what they came up with. 

Shameful. 

I will be returning this untill they stopped using us as their quality control and testing subjects. 

I don't even need or want to test their other features on the bolt. 

Avatar
hsiaolc [357 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes

Sorry double post.

It is so sad too because i not only invested in the bolt but also the di2 system for the bolt and I now have to return it.  

For there are only two flaws in phone using IPbike.  It can't pick up DI2 gear signals (or any Ant+ signal with shimano di2 system) and that it can't upload the average speed correctly to Strava.  Otherwise I failed to see this Bolt or any other cycle computer can beat a phone with a great app such as IPbike. 

I think I am just too pissed with the borken item otherwise there are elements of the Bolt that I really do like a lot: Small size, looks cool, great battery life,  screan easy to read, so easy to get it set up and get it going specially with the app. 

Come on Wahoo you can do better? I hoped? 

Avatar
velo-nh [123 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes

Love mine.  Perfect size, not too small, not too big.  Easy to use, easy to setup.  Paired with Trek's DuoTrap speed and cadence sensor with a simple spin of the rear wheel.  I have di2, but I assume I'd have to get the wireless module for it?  Or I can just look down and see what the chain is on.  Still, neat that it can talk to so many different things.

 

Avatar
Rapha Nadal [574 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes

keirik wrote:

Rapha Nadal wrote:

Does it fit a K-Edge out front mount though?  I could do without buying a GPS unit and then having to replace muliple mounts already fitted to my bikes!

 

you get an out front mount supplied with it, alongside a stem mount.

 

If you have a non standard bar (I have the Giant Contact SLR) then you have to get a new one - I got mine from raceweardirect as wahoo don't supply one

Don't get me wrong, I totally get that it comes with an out front mount & a stem mount.  My issue is that I have numerous bikes with numerous K-Edge mounts already fitted.  I could really do without buying a new GPS unit and then about 5 additional mounts!  If the unit fits K-Edge mounts then job done but I can't even get an answer out of Wahoo on the subject.

Avatar
japes [81 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes
Rapha Nadal wrote:

Does it fit a K-Edge out front mount though?  I could do without buying a GPS unit and then having to replace muliple mounts already fitted to my bikes!

 

it doesn't fit onto a garmin mount. it can be made to fit into a plastic one by opening the mount up a bit (ie cutting some away) but it won't fit as is.

 

you can buy wahoo specific k-egde mounts, which it will fit onto of course. 

Avatar
shawdogg [16 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes
Rapha Nadal wrote:

keirik wrote:

Rapha Nadal wrote:

Does it fit a K-Edge out front mount though?  I could do without buying a GPS unit and then having to replace muliple mounts already fitted to my bikes!

 

you get an out front mount supplied with it, alongside a stem mount.

 

If you have a non standard bar (I have the Giant Contact SLR) then you have to get a new one - I got mine from raceweardirect as wahoo don't supply one

Don't get me wrong, I totally get that it comes with an out front mount & a stem mount.  My issue is that I have numerous bikes with numerous K-Edge mounts already fitted.  I could really do without buying a new GPS unit and then about 5 additional mounts!  If the unit fits K-Edge mounts then job done but I can't even get an answer out of Wahoo on the subject.

Firstly I know nothing about K-mounts but I thought I had read somewhere that an adaptor was available for existing mounts to fit the Wahoo. Not sure if this is it or if this would only fit the K-edge Wahoo mount
https://k-edge.com/shop/accessories/replacement-wahoo-insert-kit/

Avatar
shawdogg [16 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes
shawdogg wrote:
Rapha Nadal wrote:

keirik wrote:

Rapha Nadal wrote:

Does it fit a K-Edge out front mount though?  I could do without buying a GPS unit and then having to replace muliple mounts already fitted to my bikes!

 

you get an out front mount supplied with it, alongside a stem mount.

 

If you have a non standard bar (I have the Giant Contact SLR) then you have to get a new one - I got mine from raceweardirect as wahoo don't supply one

Don't get me wrong, I totally get that it comes with an out front mount & a stem mount.  My issue is that I have numerous bikes with numerous K-Edge mounts already fitted.  I could really do without buying a new GPS unit and then about 5 additional mounts!  If the unit fits K-Edge mounts then job done but I can't even get an answer out of Wahoo on the subject.

Firstly I know nothing about K-mounts but I thought I had read somewhere that an adaptor was available for existing mounts to fit the Wahoo. Not sure if this is it or if this would only fit the K-edge Wahoo mount
https://k-edge.com/shop/accessories/replacement-wahoo-insert-kit/

More info here:
https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/wahoo-elemnt-users/axSjG3dDELg

Sounds like a possibility

Avatar
Rapha Nadal [574 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes

K-Edge do seem to make a Wahoo Bolt mount but it still means a $55 spend.

https://k-edge.com/shop/computer-mounts/k-edge-wahoo-bolt-race-mount/

Might just stick with my Garmin 810 for the timebeing.

Avatar
earth [357 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes
hsiaolc wrote:

Sorry double post.

It is so sad too because i not only invested in the bolt but also the di2 system for the bolt and I now have to return it.  

For there are only two flaws in phone using IPbike.  It can't pick up DI2 gear signals (or any Ant+ signal with shimano di2 system) and that it can't upload the average speed correctly to Strava.  Otherwise I failed to see this Bolt or any other cycle computer can beat a phone with a great app such as IPbike. 

I think I am just too pissed with the borken item otherwise there are elements of the Bolt that I really do like a lot: Small size, looks cool, great battery life,  screan easy to read, so easy to get it set up and get it going specially with the app. 

Come on Wahoo you can do better? I hoped? 

 

I have noticed accuracy is not perfect as well.  This morning the speed reading was all over the place and on the first weekend ride the cadence reading was variying wildly despite me pedalling at a constant rate.

Avatar
hsiaolc [357 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes
earth wrote:
hsiaolc wrote:

Sorry double post.

It is so sad too because i not only invested in the bolt but also the di2 system for the bolt and I now have to return it.  

For there are only two flaws in phone using IPbike.  It can't pick up DI2 gear signals (or any Ant+ signal with shimano di2 system) and that it can't upload the average speed correctly to Strava.  Otherwise I failed to see this Bolt or any other cycle computer can beat a phone with a great app such as IPbike. 

I think I am just too pissed with the borken item otherwise there are elements of the Bolt that I really do like a lot: Small size, looks cool, great battery life,  screan easy to read, so easy to get it set up and get it going specially with the app. 

Come on Wahoo you can do better? I hoped? 

 

I have noticed accuracy is not perfect as well.  This morning the speed reading was all over the place and on the first weekend ride the cadence reading was variying wildly despite me pedalling at a constant rate.

 

I contacted them and I will do more test.  From what they are saying it shouldn't be the sensor. 

I do however notice there are delays in reading in my cadence and heart rate but it didn't bother me or I have no way of measuring.  

But with average speed and active time I've always paid attention and I know it is way off the norm and whatever the problem it might be (could also be auto pause programmed incorrectly or there is delay or lag reading from sensor to the unit)  I hope it is figured it out soon and fixed. 

 

Avatar
davel [1608 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes

I'm a Garmin bod. I have 3 of their gizmos that I currently use (Fenix 5X as a smart watch and running/swimming, FR910XT for out-front data on the bike, and Touring Plus for ride navigation when I need it).

I really don't want to be tied to Garmin because of all the widely publicised faults. I have a kickr and a tickr and speed/cadence sensors from Wahoo and can't fault them. Having the Elemnt seems the easiest way of recreating routes to simulate on the kickr. I really want to want the Elemnt.

But £200 for unreliable turn-by-turn and breadcrumbs? Shiiiiiiiit.

Avatar
keirik [152 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes
Rapha Nadal wrote:

keirik wrote:

Rapha Nadal wrote:

Does it fit a K-Edge out front mount though?  I could do without buying a GPS unit and then having to replace muliple mounts already fitted to my bikes!

 

you get an out front mount supplied with it, alongside a stem mount.

 

If you have a non standard bar (I have the Giant Contact SLR) then you have to get a new one - I got mine from raceweardirect as wahoo don't supply one

Don't get me wrong, I totally get that it comes with an out front mount & a stem mount.  My issue is that I have numerous bikes with numerous K-Edge mounts already fitted.  I could really do without buying a new GPS unit and then about 5 additional mounts!  If the unit fits K-Edge mounts then job done but I can't even get an answer out of Wahoo on the subject.

 

try google.

 

but the answer is with a slight modification to the mount you can make it fit but it will be 90 degrees offset - so will work for stem mounts but not out front, unless you have a major kink in your neck and look sideways all the time

Avatar
keirik [152 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes
davel wrote:

I'm a Garmin bod. I have 3 of their gizmos that I currently use (Fenix 5X as a smart watch and running/swimming, FR910XT for out-front data on the bike, and Touring Plus for ride navigation when I need it). I really don't want to be tied to Garmin because of all the widely publicised faults. I have a kickr and a tickr and speed/cadence sensors from Wahoo and can't fault them. Having the Elemnt seems the easiest way of recreating routes to simulate on the kickr. I really want to want the Elemnt. But £200 for unreliable turn-by-turn and breadcrumbs? Shiiiiiiiit.

 

well in my case it's been perfectly reliable with turn by turn directions - it does depend where the routes come from but thats to do with the different ways the websites record route info (ridewithgps works perfectly)

lets put it this way - I havent got lost because I am unable to see the screen in bright weather like I did with my garmin

 

Avatar
keirik [152 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes
earth wrote:
hsiaolc wrote:

Sorry double post.

It is so sad too because i not only invested in the bolt but also the di2 system for the bolt and I now have to return it.  

For there are only two flaws in phone using IPbike.  It can't pick up DI2 gear signals (or any Ant+ signal with shimano di2 system) and that it can't upload the average speed correctly to Strava.  Otherwise I failed to see this Bolt or any other cycle computer can beat a phone with a great app such as IPbike. 

I think I am just too pissed with the borken item otherwise there are elements of the Bolt that I really do like a lot: Small size, looks cool, great battery life,  screan easy to read, so easy to get it set up and get it going specially with the app. 

Come on Wahoo you can do better? I hoped? 

 

I have noticed accuracy is not perfect as well.  This morning the speed reading was all over the place and on the first weekend ride the cadence reading was variying wildly despite me pedalling at a constant rate.

 

I found mine was sensitive to the position of the magnet on the rear wheel, once I got that sorted it's been fine - and my averages are the same as the garmin, the autopause works fine too.

 

sometimes you just have to blame the user not the piece of equipment  1

Avatar
DoctorFish [58 posts] 4 months ago
0 likes
davel wrote:

I'm a Garmin bod. I have 3 of their gizmos that I currently use (Fenix 5X as a smart watch and running/swimming, FR910XT for out-front data on the bike, and Touring Plus for ride navigation when I need it). I really don't want to be tied to Garmin because of all the widely publicised faults. I have a kickr and a tickr and speed/cadence sensors from Wahoo and can't fault them. Having the Elemnt seems the easiest way of recreating routes to simulate on the kickr. I really want to want the Elemnt. But £200 for unreliable turn-by-turn and breadcrumbs? Shiiiiiiiit.

 

I use RWGPS, I haven't used other sites for planning routes.  It works absolutely perfectly with the Wahoo Elemnt.  Better than it worked with the Garmin Touring that I had before.  The wahoo also doesn't suffer from random crashes mid ride which corrupt your ride data.  I've notice a lot of rubbish posted on various websites about what Wahoo gps units don't do, nearly always wrong and nearly always posted by someone who hasn't used one.

Pages