Like this site? Help us to make it better.


Beaumont Trophy - Cyclone Festival of Cycling

Event info
Sun 19/06/2016, 13:15

The Beaumont Trophy is a fitting finale to a the Cyclone Festival of Cycling. It's the perfect chance to see your favourite UK and international cycling heroes in action - within weeks of the 2016 event being announced, six top UK and European teams had already asked to ride!

The Beaumont Trophy was first run in 1952, the year after the Gosforth Road Club was formed. It was presented by Rex Beaumont, a cycle and motorcycle wholesaler based in Newcastle. The first edition of the race was won by Stan Blair riding for Viking Cycles and started and finished in Gosforth Park where the club had its headquarters.
In the next 63yrs the race has been won by many famous riders including Sir Bradley Wiggins, Chris Newton, Russell and Dean Downing, Malcolm Elliott and Don Sanderson to name but a few. The most prolific winner of the Trophy is Ray Wetherell who has won it 5 times. Sir Bradley Wiggins has won it twice, once as National Champion in 2011. The 2015 edition of the event was won by Kristian House.

Latest Comments