Cleatskins SP ProBikeSkins  £14.95

7/10

Functionally excellent but of limited use in the real world.

Weight 70g   Contact  www.cleatskins.co.uk

by David Arthur   August 4, 2013  

Cleatskins SP ProBikeSkins

Cleatskins SP ProBikeSkins make it easier to walk in Speedplay cleats, but they're probably too much faff for most people.

The only downside to Speedplay cleats is that they're make walking, particularly across shiny office floors, a decidedly precarious activity. For just such occasions these Cleatskins SP ProBikeSkins simply clip over the cleat and mean you can walk about off the bike without fearing off land on your bum.

They're a bit of a bugger to get onto the cleat though, especially when you're trying to do so while balancing on one leg. The trick is to get it mostly on, then just lean on them with your body weight. The snap into place. Once on they stay secure and you can walk, I mean hobble, around the office, cafe or wherever you've decided to abandon your bike.

In reality though, I've hardly used them. Even when I used to work in an office, I found it was just too much of a fiddle to dig them out of my backpack, scoop down and put them on, and then walk into the office. I like living with a bit of risk yet, and have perfected the art of skillful skittering across the floor. And I really can't imagine anyone would carry them in a jersey pocket for the post-ride cafe stop, it's just not worth the trouble.

So, they work well but I can happily live without them. If you really want some covers for your cleats though, these are well designed, easy to use and don't cost all that much. If you do a lot of walking on hard surfaces, using these is going to prolong the life of the cleats significantly, so they could be worth a look.

Verdict

Functionally excellent but of limited use in the real world.

road.cc test report

Make and model: Cleatskins SP ProBikeSkins

Size tested: n/a

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

Cleat Grips are designed specifically to fit Speedplay Zero, Look Keo, Time ICLIC and Shimano SPD-SL cleats. Cleat Grips fit over the cleat for a cushioned, comfortable movement to and from your bike and they are easily stored in your back pocket while riding

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

Patent pending lightweight Skintek™ protects your cleats

Produces a softer, more secure and comfortable heel-toe stride

Preserves flooring and are Washable

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
8/10

Excellent.

Rate the product for performance:
 
8/10

They do work very well.

Rate the product for durability:
 
7/10

The material is very durable, you'll never wear them out.

Rate the product for value:
 
7/10

Cheaper than wearing out the expensive cleats if you do a lot of walking.

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

They work well, but I have never really found them essential. I can live without them.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

Ease of use, makes walking safe.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes

Would you consider buying the product? No

Would you recommend the product to a friend? No

Overall rating: 7/10

About the tester

Age: 31  Height: 180  Weight: 67

I usually ride:   My best bike is:

I've been riding for: 10-20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Expert

I regularly do the following types of riding: road racing, time trialling, cyclo cross, commuting, touring, mtb,

 

14 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

I have a pair of these for my Look cleats and I came to the same conclusion a while back. They're just too much off a faff to carry and put on. Having said that, I did actually take them with me this morning for the first time in a year as the cleats are deteriorating. I have to say that walking is a lot easier with them on. So, jury is still out.

posted by Jezzag [37 posts]
4th August 2013 - 14:01

like this
Like (1)

The obvious question though is how do they compare to SpeedPlay's own café covers?

posted by racingcondor [109 posts]
4th August 2013 - 14:16

like this
Like (3)

I had a pair of the Keo ones. They're good at the job, but lost one on a train due to worn cleats. I then bought non slip cleats which do the same thing, but with less faff

posted by pdows47 [103 posts]
4th August 2013 - 15:05

like this
Like (2)

I have Look cleats and started using covers recently. It does make walking easier. I carry mine in my jersey pocket and its no big deal to use them. Better than breaking a cleat from walking on them and much better than landing on my butt.

cannondalekid's picture

posted by cannondalekid [9 posts]
4th August 2013 - 15:13

like this
Like (3)

I've got them for my time pedals. I really rate them, slip them in my jersey pocket and they go on nice and easily when we get to a cafe. Also stops my cleats getting gravel stuck in them when I get home and put my bike away. Should make my cleats last longer and make my walking easier when I have to.

posted by JezCC [1 posts]
4th August 2013 - 15:24

like this
Like (3)

I use Speedplay's own Cafe Covers, which I slip in the jersey pocket. Simple enough and quick enough to put on and take off. I'd rather spend a few seconds doing that than either scrubbing out very expensive cleats OR falling on my arse! No-brainer.

posted by toetruck [15 posts]
4th August 2013 - 16:32

like this
Like (1)

I have a pair for my SPD-SLs and use them nearly all the time- we have mostly wooden floors in the house so they make that much less treacherous. Also I have a drive way of loose pebbles, so again they do me until I get to the tarmac on the street. But I find them most useful at sportives where the sign on and carpark are quite a distance-these definitely have reduced my cleat wear, although I originally bought them to keep in my jersey pocket in case I had a mechanical on the road I couldn't sort and may have to walk a bit since we haven't lived where we do for very long and giving my wife directions to come pick me up means ensuring I can get to somewhere with a handy landmark!

Otis Bragg's picture

posted by Otis Bragg [103 posts]
5th August 2013 - 0:23

like this
Like (2)

Must make walking really hard with them fixed together like that.

posted by bigant [39 posts]
5th August 2013 - 8:16

like this
Like (3)

I have Keep on Kovers on both my sets of Speedplay cleats - http://www.keeponkovers.com/Product.html

I use them on my commuter shoes and my main shoes and never have any difficulty clipping into the pedals, or walking on any surface in the ~12 months I've been using them. I'd definitely recommend them to anyone who uses Speedplay pedals, as they're absolutely excellent, way better than the old cleat covers I used to carry around with me, they last really well too, mine are still miles away from needing replacement.

All the gear and no idea!

posted by JonMack [171 posts]
5th August 2013 - 8:50

like this
Like (3)

Just got an email from Bike-Science about Speedplay pedals and it turns out they stock the keep on kovers - http://www.bike-science.com/products/pedals/keep-on-covers-for-speedplay...

All the gear and no idea!

posted by JonMack [171 posts]
5th August 2013 - 10:53

like this
Like (3)

I have SPD pedals.

posted by Ham-planet [82 posts]
6th August 2013 - 4:20

like this
Like (2)

I can also highly recommend the Keep-on covers which protect your cleats. I've had a set of the original regular covers and they are still going after a year of use,so over 5000 miles. They recently started to sell a new improved model which is supposed to last 4X the wear compared to the original model. The chief difference between these and every other cleat cover available is that you can keep these on all the time and ride with them attached to the cleat.

Shut up legs, you don't get a vote.

ridein's picture

posted by ridein [47 posts]
8th August 2013 - 2:20

like this
Like (3)

I have Speedplay's Café Covers which I pop in my jersey pocket, they don't take up much room. Very easy to pop on, so sounds like they beat these

posted by TomvanHalen [33 posts]
8th August 2013 - 15:42

like this
Like (3)

These are an absolute godsend if you happen to live up a few flights of stairs.

netclectic's picture

posted by netclectic [116 posts]
5th October 2013 - 22:03

like this
Like (3)

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

9/10
£26.99
July 23, 2014
7/10
£116.99
July 21, 2014
8/10
£99.99
July 19, 2014
9/10
£70.00
July 17, 2014
8/10
£27.99
July 17, 2014
7/10
£9.99
July 16, 2014
9/10
£996.00
July 16, 2014
8/10
£50.00
July 15, 2014
8/10
£24.99
July 15, 2014
5/10
£12.49
July 14, 2014
6/10
£49.99
July 14, 2014
8/10
£1149.00
July 13, 2014
7/10
£90.00
July 13, 2014
8/10
£110.00
July 12, 2014
9/10
£175.00
July 11, 2014
8/10
£39.99
July 10, 2014
8/10
£271.99
July 9, 2014
8/10
£2.99
July 9, 2014
9/10
£1499.00
July 9, 2014
 
1