Home
Verdict: 
A genuinely top class bell that looks great and rings loudly, but you pay a high price for it
Weight: 
45g
Spurcycle Bell
8 10

The Spurcycle is a high quality, great looking, loud bell – but you certainly pay a high price for it.

As somebody who rides through urban areas every day, a bell is an essential piece of kit. With the recent move towards 'fashionable' bells, which don't look like they should come with a free basket, Spurcycle's offering is right on the (lots of) money.

> Find your nearest dealer here

> Buy this online here

It is a great looking bell on the bar, sitting only 2.5cm high and 3cm across. It can sit either facing forward or vertically; I found there was no impact on performance either way, but had it facing ahead for the majority of the review period because I think it looks better. It has a definite vintage design, but fits just as well on the bars of modern carbon machines as a L'Eroica classic.

Spurcycle Bell - top.jpg

Spurcycle Bell - top.jpg

The ring is really impressive, clearly cutting through external noise and resonating well after the hammer hits. I even managed to get the attention of people listening to headphones, which is something that doesn't happen too often with my regular bell. According to an app on my phone, the ring was consistently between 88-100 decibels, which is certainly enough to get people's attention.

Build quality is strong and the spring action on the hammer seems like it should be long lasting. After a month of use I haven't noticed any change in strength and I would be confident that it would still work well in a year's time and beyond.

Attachment to the bar is through a strip of bendable metal which attaches to a slot on the back of the bell and is then tightened through a bolt at the front. It comes with two straps, one for 31.8mm bars and another for 22.2mm.

This build quality and performance comes at price though, namely an RRP of £49.99. Having done a bit of research, I am yet to find a bell that comes close to this; the most expensive I could find after 20 minutes of searching was still only 60% of this figure. (There are plenty of cheaper 'imitations', but I couldn't vouch for their quality.)

Overall, the Spurcycle is a genuinely brilliant bell. It looks great, rings loudly, and is likely to work for a long time. However, it has an eye-watering price, which takes the shine off an otherwise excellent product.

Verdict

A genuinely top class bell that looks great and rings loudly, but you pay a high price for it

road.cc test report

Make and model: Spurcycle Bell

Size tested: Dome size: 30mm x 20.5mm

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

A high quality, loud, and attractive looking bell.

Spurcycle says: 'Spurcycle bells create powerful, enduring sound. Give notice well in advance with a loud, convincing tone. Precision built in the USA for a lifetime of way clearing.'

It is powerful, loud, and well made.

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

Material: premium brass and stainless steel

Finish: Raw or Black DLC

Dome size: 30mm x 20.5mm

Weight: 45g

Origin*: Made in USA, Guaranteed for Life

Install: 2.5mm hex tool required

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
9/10

Very well made, solid fixing system and durable hammer system.

Rate the product for performance:
 
8/10

Performs very well – loud, clear, and powerful.

Rate the product for durability:
 
8/10

Seems like it would last for a long time, hammer has good resistance, all materials used are solid and rust resistant too.

Rate the product for weight (if applicable)
 
8/10

45g for a bell is pretty good.

Rate the product for value:
 
4/10

The one downside of the bell is that it is very expensive, but you pay for quality and this is certainly high quality.

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

Easy to fit, sits nicely on the bar, and is most importantly loud with impressive resonance.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

The volume and pitch meant that it easily cuts through all other noise to get attention.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

The price; this is very expensive.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes

Would you consider buying the product? Yes, certainly if on sale.

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes, if they were after the highest possible quality.

Use this box to explain your score

A genuinely top quality bell that performs very well and looks fantastic on the handlebar; it would be a 9 but for the price.

Overall rating: 8/10

About the tester

Age: 29  Height: 6 ft  Weight:

I usually ride: Mercian King of Mercia or Cinelli Gazzetta  My best bike is: Cannondale Supersix Evo

I've been riding for: 5-10 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Expert

I regularly do the following types of riding: commuting, club rides, sportives, general fitness riding, fixed/singlespeed, mountain biking

George spends his days flitting between writing about data, running business magazines and writing about sports technology. The latter gave him the impetus (excuse) to get even further into the cycling world before taking the dive and starting his own cycling sites and writing for Road.cc. 

When he is not writing about cycling, he is either out on his bike cursing not living in the countryside or boring anybody who will listen about the latest pro peloton/cycling tech/cycling infrastructure projects.  

34 comments

Avatar
drosco [416 posts] 3 months ago
4 likes

This is the era of £1000 alloy framesets and £300 jerseys, so I'm sure people will have no trouble justifying paying £50 for a bell.

Avatar
martinpeake [10 posts] 3 months ago
3 likes

Must have been inspired by the 'premium' (i.e. seriously overpriced) garment manufacturers. Ideal for your Shoreditch fixie, mind.

 

Avatar
Grahamd [755 posts] 3 months ago
4 likes

The manufacturers appear to have made a fundamental error, security. If I was going to spend £50 on a bell I would want it secured with a tamper proof system or to be easily removable like the rest of my accessories.

Avatar
fenix [837 posts] 3 months ago
2 likes

Is there a market for hot bicycle bells ?

Avatar
ecycled [19 posts] 3 months ago
3 likes

Haters are going to hate... Jeeze! This site is unfounded for those who feel the need to rant and complain about the cost of every item reviewed.

My assumptions are few of you have actually seen the product, in the flesh, and realized why it may cost more than most. Or have any of you researched the company and found that they are a small, independent company and make every effort to put quality and performance above how cheap they can make it?

Each one of these bells is made, by hand, one at a time, here in the United States. That's going to cost more than some cheap bell that is mass produced overseas.

Honestly lighten up! The bell is a work of art, works unbelievably well and is in no way "easily removable" as some might think. And no I don't work for the company but do own three of their bells. Worth every dollar spent. Ding ding ding!

Avatar
drosco [416 posts] 3 months ago
5 likes

It's a bell. It goes ding. I have a bell on my bike, it also goes ding. In that respect, it's really hard to look past the £50 price tag.

Avatar
ricardowilson21 [19 posts] 3 months ago
2 likes

I bought one.

Its on my (£1000 alloy frame) commuter.

Its lovely, sounds fab.

I love using it.

Quality remains looong after the price has faded. Buy cheap, buy twice, etc etc.

If it upsets you - ignore it, get one of those £5 ones and curse every time you try to use it

 

Avatar
ricardowilson21 [19 posts] 3 months ago
4 likes

I bought one.

Its on my (£1000 alloy frame) commuter.

Its lovely, sounds fab.

I love using it.

Quality remains looong after the price has faded. Buy cheap, buy twice, etc etc.

If it upsets you - ignore it, get one of those £5 ones and curse every time you try to use it

 

Avatar
ricardowilson21 [19 posts] 3 months ago
4 likes

I bought one.

Its on my (£1000 alloy frame) commuter.

Its lovely, sounds fab.

I love using it.

Quality remains looong after the price has faded. Buy cheap, buy twice, etc etc.

If it upsets you - ignore it, get one of those £5 ones and curse every time you try to use it

 

Avatar
fenix [837 posts] 3 months ago
8 likes
ricardowilson21 wrote:

I bought one.

Its on my (£1000 alloy frame) commuter.

Its lovely, sounds fab.

I love using it.

Quality remains looong after the price has faded. Buy cheap, buy twice, etc etc.

If it upsets you - ignore it, get one of those £5 ones and curse every time you try to use it

 

I don't believe it......

Avatar
hawkinspeter [1139 posts] 3 months ago
7 likes
fenix wrote:
ricardowilson21 wrote:

I bought one.

Its on my (£1000 alloy frame) commuter.

Its lovely, sounds fab.

I love using it.

Quality remains looong after the price has faded. Buy cheap, buy twice, etc etc.

If it upsets you - ignore it, get one of those £5 ones and curse every time you try to use it

I don't believe it......

Father Ted:
You know what he'd love? He'd really love it if someone came up to him and said his catchphrase.

Father Dougal:
Oh, yeah, Ted! He'd love that! You should definitely do that.

Father Ted:
Should I?

Father Dougal:
Oh, yeah. I'd say no-one ever does that to him. He'll think you're hilarious. You know, this is one of those times where I'm absolutely, one hundred million percent sure that you'll be doing the right thing. I can safely say that you definitely, definitely won't regret doing that.

Avatar
FluffyKittenofT... [1891 posts] 3 months ago
5 likes
ricardowilson21 wrote:

I bought one.

Quality remains looong after the price has faded. Buy cheap, buy twice, etc etc.

 

Never been convinced by that sentiment in general. Because usually things break, become obsolete, get stolen, etc, before they wear out.

And because in many cases you can buy hundreds of the cheap version of the thing for the cost of one 'quality' one - and collectively the cheap ones will last longer than one expensive one as well as giving you more variety.

But it all depends how much wealth/income you have. It's all relative. Everything seems extravagant from the p.o.v of someone with less money than you.

Avatar
Dr_Lex [464 posts] 3 months ago
2 likes
FluffyKittenofTindalos wrote:

[...]And because in many cases you can buy hundreds of the cheap version of the thing for the cost of one 'quality' one - and collectively the cheap ones will last longer than one expensive one as well as giving you more variety.[...]

An interesting read on a cheap alternative to this product - https://cyclingtips.com/2016/08/a-tale-of-two-bells-spurcycle-vs-the-counterfeiters/

But then I bought a Knog Oi and still regret it

Avatar
Goldfever4 [388 posts] 3 months ago
4 likes

I genuinely don't care one jot how good it is or what it's made of or where it's made or how small the company is or how much effort the human person put into the thing. No bicycle bell has any place costing £50, it's just ridiculous.

 

ecycled wrote:

Haters are going to hate... Jeeze! This site is unfounded for those who feel the need to rant and complain about the cost of every item reviewed. My assumptions are few of you have actually seen the product, in the flesh, and realized why it may cost more than most. Or have any of you researched the company and found that they are a small, independent company and make every effort to put quality and performance above how cheap they can make it? Each one of these bells is made, by hand, one at a time, here in the United States. That's going to cost more than some cheap bell that is mass produced overseas. Honestly lighten up! The bell is a work of art, works unbelievably well and is in no way "easily removable" as some might think. And no I don't work for the company but do own three of their bells. Worth every dollar spent. Ding ding ding!

Avatar
Goldfever4 [388 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes

Oh?

 

Edit: Seen your feedback on the road.cc review page.

 

Dr_Lex wrote:

 

But then I bought a Knog Oi and still regret it

Avatar
Citizen Wolf [3 posts] 3 months ago
2 likes

I have 3 of these bells. Very expensive but they work very well. I didn't realise just how crap all the other bells I had on my bikes were until I got this bell. Yes, you could buy a load of other bells for the price of just one of these bells, but they'd all be really crap in comparison.

 

Avatar
drosco [416 posts] 3 months ago
1 like

Here's me thinking my bell that has served me well for 20,000 miles of commuting was alright. Schoolboy error.

Avatar
brooksby [2709 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes
Dr_Lex wrote:
FluffyKittenofTindalos wrote:

[...]And because in many cases you can buy hundreds of the cheap version of the thing for the cost of one 'quality' one - and collectively the cheap ones will last longer than one expensive one as well as giving you more variety.[...]

An interesting read on a cheap alternative to this product - https://cyclingtips.com/2016/08/a-tale-of-two-bells-spurcycle-vs-the-counterfeiters/

But then I bought a Knog Oi and still regret it

Knog Oi? Grrr... (Put it on bike, rode bike *once*, took it off bike and put £4.99 Wilko special pinger back on). It now languishes in a carrier bag in my shed with other "miscellaneous bits and pieces ".

Avatar
Eton Rifle [45 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes
Dr_Lex wrote:
FluffyKittenofTindalos wrote:

[...]And because in many cases you can buy hundreds of the cheap version of the thing for the cost of one 'quality' one - and collectively the cheap ones will last longer than one expensive one as well as giving you more variety.[...]

An interesting read on a cheap alternative to this product - https://cyclingtips.com/2016/08/a-tale-of-two-bells-spurcycle-vs-the-counterfeiters/

But then I bought a Knog Oi and still regret it

Yeah, me too.  It was a really nice, discreet bell but wasn't very loud and the spring was so weak that it failed after a couple of months.  Got a crappy Specialized one that came with the bike on now.  Looks rubbish and is barely audible in the rain.

Avatar
Plasterer's Radio [333 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes
Goldfever4]</p>

<p>I genuinely don't care one jot how good it is or what it's made of or where it's made or how small the company is or how much effort the human person put into the thing.&nbsp;No bicycle bell has any place costing £50, it's just ridiculous.</p>

<p>&nbsp;</p>

<p>[quote=ecycled

wrote:

Haters are going to hate... Jeeze! This site is unfounded for those who feel the need to rant and complain about the cost of every item reviewed. My assumptions are few of you have actually seen the product, in the flesh, and realized why it may cost more than most. Or have any of you researched the company and found that they are a small, independent company and make every effort to put quality and performance above how cheap they can make it? Each one of these bells is made, by hand, one at a time, here in the United States. That's going to cost more than some cheap bell that is mass produced overseas. Honestly lighten up! The bell is a work of art, works unbelievably well and is in no way "easily removable" as some might think. And no I don't work for the company but do own three of their bells. Worth every dollar spent. Ding ding ding!

[/quote

Sounds like you care to me. 

Avatar
The _Kaner [1147 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes

Knog Oi. Ping....what was that?
Then....ting....ting.....ting...ting for however long your ride is....constantly vibrating and f'ing getting on my nerves.
Now a drawer filler that I occasionally stumble upon whilst looking for everything except that.
Would I pay £50 for a bell...
I've paid more for things I'll never use...

Avatar
youngoldbloke [126 posts] 3 months ago
1 like

If you have no scruples there's always the Rockbros version - from about a fiver. I've bought 3 from various suppliers and have no complaints about quality - but I can't compare with the Spurcycles one. I didn't realise at the time I bought the first one that it was a knock-off job, but then I wasn't looking for a £50 bell anyway. Whatever happened to the concept of SPQR?

Avatar
Dr_Lex [464 posts] 3 months ago
2 likes
youngoldbloke wrote:

[...] Whatever happened to the concept of SPQR?

Senatus Populusque Romanus? Is this going to be another "what have the Romans ever done for us" gag?

 

Avatar
youngoldbloke [126 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes
Dr_Lex wrote:
youngoldbloke wrote:

[...] Whatever happened to the concept of SPQR?

Senatus Populusque Romanus? Is this going to be another "what have the Romans ever done for us" gag?

 

Small Profits Quick Returns

Avatar
Dr_Lex [464 posts] 3 months ago
2 likes

^ not heard that before; everyday a school day etc. 

Spurcycle appear to have chosen the artisanal end of the market. Is there a term for low volume, high margin?

Avatar
I love my bike [211 posts] 3 months ago
2 likes

I have one, bought before the price increase a while back. It does put others in the shade with it's design & quality, but it IS expensive.

It's a pity that they haven't developed an 'entry level' variant, instead of bottles, a key clip & a multi-pouch.

Avatar
hsiaolc [367 posts] 3 months ago
1 like

I bought one. 

After I bought so many that I didn't like. 

I love this one.  I press it all the time just to hear it. 

£50 well spent and never regret it once. 

 

There are no other bell other there with the same level of quality and the sound is just amazing. 

 

You should go to a shop to just try it and hear it. 

 

 

Avatar
Ush [1018 posts] 3 months ago
1 like
ecycled wrote:

Each one of these bells is made, by hand, one at a time,

I'm honestly disappointed.  I had imagined at that price they were made by force feeding leprechauns molten gold that they then shit out into a crystal goblet of the tears of men's rights activists that had lost their virginity with a consensual partner. (Note: The resulting hydroformed bell needs to be positioned pointing forward to enhance the super-cavitation in the vortices formed by your time-trial helmet, otherwise it's just pointless ostentation that makes you look foolish).

 

ecycled wrote:

here in the United States. That's going to cost more than some cheap bell that is mass produced overseas.

 

You are overseas.

ecycled wrote:

And no I don't work for the company but do own three of their bells. Worth every dollar spent. Ding ding ding!

Sell them.  Don't buy two more and you could get another bicycle.

Avatar
cyclisto [332 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes

Some people think it is expensive while others believe that it doesn't matter since it will be paid with their money that they can spend however they want.

My opinion is that it depends if it is expensive or not. And by that I not only mean that that it would be around a month's wage of a guy in Somalia and therefore expensive. It would also be expensive for a wealthy guy in UK that has a coffee shop, a book store, works in a local insurance company or even a national TV star. The problem with all these guys is that they live at a country that has more than a trilion pounds of debt and they work in sectors that aren't actually necessary like farmers and doctors or work at sectors that don't bring any foreign currency so therefore they are based directly or indirectly on government money. So actually their wealth is their children's and grandchildren's money that they are using and one day they will have to pay it with great interest.

So what is expensive or not is not that easy to determine. If in doubt just don't buy it, as you will never know who will have to find whether it is expensive or not.

But if you want it to add it to yout commuter machine so that you can keep your motor vehicle locked without screwing next generations, there are very nice copies on Ebay though.

Avatar
Dr_Lex [464 posts] 3 months ago
1 like

^ //media.tenor.com/images/13dacab5662782f14350340f3b13fc12/tenor.gif)

Pages