Home
Verdict: 
Wonderfully smooth and comfortable endurance disc road bike with plenty of pace on tap when you want it
Weight: 
7,300g
Contact: 
Canyon Endurace CF SLX 9.0 SL
9 10

Canyon's brand new Endurace CF SLX 9.0 SL is a complete revamp of the original, and succeeds in offering a wonderfully smooth and comfortable ride yet with fast and engaging handling to indulge all those who like to ride quickly. And it now benefits from hydraulic disc brakes and thru-axles for improved braking performance in all conditions.

The endurance bike is the most in-demand style of road bike at the moment and that means it's the most crowded category, with every manufacturer offering a bike that is in principle a relaxed and more comfortable version of a race bike. That helps explain why our buyer's guide to endurance bikes is one of our most-read articles. 

> Buy this bike online here

This is a review of the range-topping £5,099 Endurace CF SLX 9.0 SL, but the complete range starts at £2,999, using the same frame and common details like hydraulic disc brakes and 28mm wide tyres, so you can get much of the performance and comfort of our test bike for a good deal less. Even at these prices, the Canyon direct-sales business model means these are extremely competitive compared with similarly specced bikes from other big brands.

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - fork.jpg

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - fork.jpg

You can read all the technical details of the new bike in this first look article. With a Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 groupset, lightweight Mavic wheels, carbon handlebar and exceedingly comfortable Fizik saddle, the medium sized Endurace CF SLX weighs 7.3 (16lb), putting it up there with the lightest disc brake-equipped road bikes we've tested, regardless of their category designation. That lack of weight provides very little penalty on the climbs or anytime you're applying maximum power.

Ride and performance

There's no denying it, the Endurace CF SLX is hugely impressive in terms of ride and performance. It's the smoothness that first grabs you. The VCLS 2.0 seatpost provides a huge range of rearward deflection at the saddle – you can actually see the saddle moving underneath you when you look between your legs. It's slightly disconcerting at first (especially coming from the razor sharp Pinarello Dogma F8) but you quickly get used to it. It works well, filtering out vibrations from poorly surfaced roads while also dealing with bigger impacts such as potholes or cattle grids.

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - saddle and post.jpg

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - saddle and post.jpg

The comfort factor is helped by the fact that Canyon has lowered the seat clamp inside the frame. Lots lower. It basically allows more of the seatpost to flex back and forth, ramping up the available deflection. It feels every bit as effective as the Isospeed decoupler on Trek's Domane, which I reviewed a while ago. Adjusting the saddle angle is a bit of a fiddle – you have to remove the post from the frame – but it's a set-and-forget job. Adjusting the saddle height is made easy with height markers on the front of the post and an Allen bolt at the back.

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - seat post bolt.jpg

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - seat post bolt.jpg

At the front of the bike is the distinctive one-piece carbon fibre handlebar. Canyon calls it the H31 Ergocockpit, though I prefer hammerhead because it resembles the head of a hammerhead shark when you're looking down at it. It has obviously been designed to reduce the frontal surface area and therefore drag, but it's also been tuned to provide more compliance (6% according to Canyon) than the H11 Aerocockpit it's based on. It appears to work.

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - bars.jpg

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - bars.jpg

It might look like a big immovable chunk of carbon, but it does seem to provide enough compliance that it helps damp quite a lot of the roughness that would normally be transmitted through the fork and into the handlebar and leading to a jarring ride. With this bar, only the biggest impacts really unsettle the otherwise buttery smooth ride.

The downside is that you can't adjust the position as easily as with a conventional setup, but Canyon does alter the length of the stem based on the frame size, so it's not a big job to change it. I found the stock bar just fine, but I'm sure Canyon would happily swap it if you knew you needed a longer stem.

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - front.jpg

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - front.jpg

The aero-shaped tops with their six-degree back sweep are very comfortable to grip, but I reckon the drops could be a bit shallower for the sort of person who is likely to buy this bike.

Tyres and wheels

Contributing to the bike's overall smoothness are the 28mm wide Mavic Yksion Pro tyres, standard across the range and not just on this top model. At 80psi they provide plenty of cushioning and predictable traction in a range of conditions. I found them dependable in the rain and dry, and over rough and gravel surfaces.

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - front hub.jpg

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - front hub.jpg

The new Mavic Ksyrium Pro Carbon SL Disc wheels have a wide rim to really make the most of the wide tyres. They provide all the stiffness and ruggedness you need, with thru-axle compatible hubs. At 1,520g for the pair they're very light for a disc brake-ready wheelset, and certainly contribute to the Endurace's agility. The new Instant Drive 360 freehub engages very quickly and makes the nicest sound, a few notches down in the decibel meter than a Hope freehub I'd say.

Racy yet relaxed

Canyon bills itself as a race bike company, so it's no surprise that the Endurace CF SLX is one of the raciest endurance bikes I've tested. All endurance bikes are relaxed in comparison to the race bikes they're loosely based on, some more so than others, but the Endurace is really not that high at the front. The stack is only 10mm higher than the Ultimate CF SLX race bike. That means it's a bit more laid-back, but you can still get quite an aggressive position if you prefer to really hunch over the bar and get aero to punch as small a hole through the air as possible.

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - riding 4.jpg

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - riding 4.jpg

Although the Endurace's geometry is more relaxed than the Ultimate's, it's more agile and nimble than many rival endurance bikes. Its short 990mm wheelbase gives it a nimbleness that's lacking in some, while the increased fork rake used to decrease the trail (the distance from the centre of the contact point of the front wheel with the road to the point where the steering axis intersects the road surface) further contributes to the direct and agile manners it displays in willing hands.

Canyon Endurace CF SLX.jpg

Canyon Endurace CF SLX.jpg

It's absolutely stable when you want it to be, though, such as riding no hands to unwrap an energy bar. There's also no lack of stiffness in the frame and fork. Slack this bike ain't.

I found the position a really good fit. It's not quite as slammed as a race bike but I could still get pretty low over the front – but not so low that you're in danger of putting your back out. The reach is also shorter. Combined, I found the fit pretty much spot on; I could happily ride the Endurace CF SLX in place of my race bike on faster training rides and chain gangs, yet it was comfortable for all-day rides. Heck, I'd happily race it if the rules allowed it; I found very little compromise.

No wrinkles

On a day-to-day basis, the Endurace CF SLX is a simply wonderful bike. I've ridden it nearly every day since it arrived, using it for leisurely rides through the countryside to faster-paced sessions with a power meter, and there's not one wrinkle in its handling that blemishes the package. It's near perfect. It tackles rough country lanes, fast and smooth main roads, fast, swooping descents, tortuous climbs, congested roads, even the odd gravel track, all with a level of refinement few of its rivals can better.

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - fork clearance.jpg

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - fork clearance.jpg

If there's one criticism, it's the lack of mudguard mounts. That's deliberate on Canyon's part, as it already offers the Inflite for people who want a disc-equipped bike that can be fitted with mudguards, leaving the Endurace focused on performance rather than any year-round versatility ambitions. Regardless, it'll be seen as an omission by mudguard enthusiasts, especially as there looks to be plenty of space between the tyres and frame, and when other endurance bikes, such as the Trek Domane and Cervélo C5, have included mudguard eyelets.

Brakes and bits

Endurance bikes benefit from disc brakes for all-weather riding, with confident braking in the wet and dry their biggest asset. Shimano's Dura-Ace Di2 groupset with hydraulic callipers operating on 160mm rotors sets the benchmark at the moment. It's a marvellous thing. The brake levers are easy to operate with just one finger even on the very steepest hills, with plenty of modulation plus grip from the tyres meaning no risk of locking a wheel, even on rain-soaked roads.

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - front disc.jpg

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - front disc.jpg

It uses the latest flat mount standard to bolt the callipers to the frame and fork, which provides a nice appearance but does lack the adjustability of a post mount setup. Brake squeal and noise were a rare occurrence during the test period.

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - rear disc.jpg

Canyon Endurace CF SLX - rear disc.jpg

Canyon has given the Endurace 12mm thru-axles at both ends, with a clean Allen bolt head that does away with a fixed QR lever, marginally reducing weight but massively improving the appearance. You can either carry the supplied QR lever or just take a multi-tool with a 5mm tool bit.

Conclusion

As I said at the start of this review, the market for endurance bikes is pretty crowded at the moment, so there's plenty of choice for anyone seeking a fast and comfortable bike for long rides. The Cannondale Synapse and Giant Defy Advanced SL are two brilliant bikes that have long been established at the top of the category; the Cervélo C5 and Trek Domane, two new releases this year, are also both excellent. But the Endurace CF SLX? The ride, comfort, smoothness and performance is every bit as good as its key rivals, but factor in the price and the Canyon could be the best new endurance bike to be released this year.

Verdict

Wonderfully smooth and comfortable endurance disc road bike with plenty of pace on tap when you want it

road.cc test report

Make and model: Canyon Endurace CF SLX 9.0 SL

Size tested: Medium

About the bike

State the frame and fork material and method of construction. List the components used to build up the bike.

FRAME CANYON ENDURACE CF SLX DISK

FORK CANYON ONE ONE FOUR SLX DISC

HEADSET ACROS | CANYON

REAR DERAILLEUR SHIMANO DURA-ACE DI2, 11S

DERAILLEUR HANGER DERAILLEUR HANGER NO. 40

FRONT DERAILLEUR SHIMANO DURA-ACE DI2, 11S

BRAKE/SHIFT LEVERS SHIMANO DI2 ST-R785

BRAKES SHIMANO BR-RS805

CASSETTE SHIMANO DURA-ACE, 11S

WHEELSET MAVIC KSYRIUM PRO CARBON SL DISC WTS

TYRES MAVIC YKSION PRO SSC GRIPLINK | MAVIC POWERLINK

CRANKS SHIMANO DURA-ACE, 11S

CHAINRINGS 52 | 36

BOTTOM BRACKET SHIMANO PRESSFIT

COCKPIT CANYON H31 ERGOCOCKPIT

HANDLEBAR TAPE CANYON ERGOSPEED GEL

SADDLE FIZIK ALIANTE R3

SEAT POST CANYON S15 VCLS 2.0 CF (2 / -10 MM SETBACK)

Tell us what the bike is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about the bike?

Canyon says: "No two rides are the same. When you need a bike that covers you for any scenario, the Endurace comes calling. Combining our endurance-optimised Sport Geometry with a host of features designed to enhance contol and comfort, we targeted riders who want to go far and go fast. From the flagship Endurace CF SLX, our first dedicated disc brake road bike, to our aluminium showstopper, the Endurace AL, there truly is a model to suit every rider. The choice is yours. Choose to ride.

"The Endurace CF SLX 9.0 SL unites control, comfort and speed like nothing else on the road. Partnering hydraulic disc brakes with wide 28 mm tyres changes everything when it comes to fast descending confidence. Lightweight Mavic Ksyrium Pro Carbon SL wheels get you up to speed quickly while their semi-deep profile works perfectly with our aero-optimised frameset to enhance efficiency even further. Last of all, the full Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 groupset offers the pinnacle in precision electronic shifting performance."

Frame and fork

Overall rating for frame and fork
 
9/10

Tell us about the build quality and finish of the frame and fork?

Superb quality and attention to detail.

Tell us about the materials used in the frame and fork?

Full carbon fibre frame and fork.

Tell us about the geometry of the frame and fork?

More relaxed than a race bike but not as much as some rival endurance bikes.

How was the bike in terms of height and reach? How did it compare to other bikes of the same stated size?

Spot on.

Riding the bike

Was the bike comfortable to ride? Tell us how you felt about the ride quality.

Extremely comfortable, right up there with the best endurance bikes.

Did the bike feel stiff in the right places? Did any part of the bike feel too stiff or too flexible?

No lack of stiffness when you want to pedal or ride hard.

How did the bike transfer power? Did it feel efficient?

Very well.

Was there any toe-clip overlap with the front wheel? If so, was it a problem?

No.

How would you describe the steering? Was it lively, neutral or unresponsive? Agile.

Tell us some more about the handling. How did the bike feel overall? Did it do particular things well or badly?

Very agile and nimble handling thanks to the short wheelbase, making it an entertaining ride.

Which components had the most effect (good or bad) on the bike's comfort? would you recommend any changes?

The seatpost is deeply impressive, as is the handlebar.

Which components had the most effect (good or bad) on the bike's stiffness? would you recommend any changes?

The wide tyres provide a great deal of comfort.

Rate the bike for efficiency of power transfer:
 
8/10
Rate the bike for acceleration:
 
8/10
Rate the bike for sprinting:
 
9/10
Rate the bike for high speed stability:
 
9/10
Rate the bike for cruising speed stability:
 
9/10
Rate the bike for low speed stability:
 
8/10
Rate the bike for flat cornering:
 
9/10
Rate the bike for cornering on descents:
 
9/10
Rate the bike for climbing:
 
8/10

The drivetrain

Rate the drivetrain for performance:
 
9/10
Rate the drivetrain for durability:
 
8/10
Rate the drivetrain for weight:
 
9/10
Rate the drivetrain for value:
 
7/10

Wheels and tyres

Rate the wheels for performance:
 
9/10
Rate the wheels for durability:
 
8/10
Rate the wheels for weight:
 
9/10
Rate the wheels for comfort:
 
8/10
Rate the wheels for value:
 
8/10
Rate the tyres for performance:
 
8/10
Rate the tyres for durability:
 
8/10
Rate the tyres for weight:
 
7/10
Rate the tyres for comfort:
 
8/10
Rate the tyres for value:
 
7/10

Controls

Rate the controls for performance:
 
8/10
Rate the controls for durability:
 
8/10
Rate the controls for weight:
 
9/10
Rate the controls for comfort:
 
9/10
Rate the controls for value:
 
8/10

You get a lot of bike for your money compared to rival brands.

Your summary

Did you enjoy riding the bike? Yes

Would you consider buying the bike? Yes

Would you recommend the bike to a friend? Yes

Rate the bike overall for performance:
 
9/10
Rate the bike overall for value:
 
9/10

Use this box to explain your score

Based on the performance alone the bike is an easy 9/10, it does everything you want an endurance bike to do and more, with its aero shaped tubes and low slung geometry. Then you add in the price and there's no denying it, the value is impressive compared with similarly priced endurance bikes in terms of the level of equipment on offer here. It's nearly perfect. If I'm being really fussy, the lack of mudguard mounts counts against it, especially as both the Cervélo C5 and Trek Domane manage to offer this provision.

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 31  Height: 180cm  Weight: 67kg

I usually ride:   My best bike is:

I've been riding for: 10-20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Expert

I regularly do the following types of riding: road racing, time trialling, cyclo-cross, commuting, touring, mountain biking

David has worked on the road.cc tech team since July 2012. Previously he was editor of Bikemagic.com and before that staff writer at RCUK. He's a seasoned cyclist of all disciplines, from road to mountain biking, touring to cyclo-cross, he only wishes he had time to ride them all. He's mildly competitive, though he'll never admit it, and is a frequent road racer but is too lazy to do really well. He currently resides in the Cotswolds.

34 comments

Avatar
Danzxer [82 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes

Any word on tire clearance as it's supposed to be 33 mm?

Avatar
gonedownhill [146 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes

Any word on a disc version of the alloy frame?

Avatar
barongreenback [68 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes

I'm new to disc brake technology - could someone explain why post mount disc brakes are easier to adjust than flat mount?  I thought that the former was a seemingly outdated standard and was gradually being replaced.  Thanks.

Avatar
macbob [36 posts] 8 months ago
1 like

Thanks for an interesting & informative review, but I'm surprised you chose the range-topping Dura Ace di2 to review. How many people really need Dura Ace di2 on an endurance machine ? The cost differential between this model and its Ultegra siblings is huge. This model is £5100. The Ultegra mechanical is £2999 - Ultegra di2 is £3500. Its exactly the same frame. At that price difference I'd be interested in a separate review to ascertain how much of this models obvious quality is discernible the (much) cheaper models.

And, at the risk of contradicting myself, a SRAM Force e-tap version would be irresistible.

Avatar
David Arthur @d... [760 posts] 8 months ago
3 likes

@barongreenback - there's nothing really wrong with post mount at all, but flat mount has been developed because it's a bit lighter and cleaner looking. Post mount, though, lets you easily adjust the position of the caliper over the rotor in a way that flat mount doesn't

@macbob - we didn't choose this bike, it's what Canyon chose to send in for review. Who are you to decide what people need for an endurance bike? Why should DA be reserved for racing bikes as you seem to suggest? It comes down to what you can afford and what you want to spend on a road bike, and if someone wants DA, that's fine. I mentioned the cheaper starting models in the review for this very reason

Avatar
peted76 [609 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes

I do like the look and sound of the H31 bar and stem combo in particular... 

 

@davearthur I wonder if there are any figures on bikes purchased based on 'price bands'.

eg: everyone knows the sub £1000 bike market would be bloated in comparison to the rest of the marketplace.. however what are the % of bikes sold in: £1k to £2k range, £2k to £3k range, £3k to £4k range & £4k upwards... NOT by manufacturer, that would end up nonsense, but by industry maybe?

If only so you can turn around and say, this top end bike reviewed is bloody brilliant and should be a serious consideration for the x% of our readers who can consider this as a serious purchase.

 

 

Avatar
carytb [99 posts] 8 months ago
1 like

"@barongreenback - there's nothing really wrong with post mount at all, but flat mount has been developed because it's a bit lighter and cleaner looking. Post mount, though, lets you easily adjust the position of the caliper over the rotor in a way that flat mount doesn't"

How do you adjust then for different wheel & hubs if they are not spaced absolutely identically?

 

 

Avatar
mrchrispy [488 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes

I've got the mechanical ultegra (cheapest version in the range).
Its a cracking bike,  rolls along at a fair old lick  and climbs well when you need to.

Its certainly a couple of mph faster that my old bike and much much more comfortable, its a thumbs up from me.

 

Avatar
macbob [36 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes

 " Who are you to decide what people need for an endurance bike? Why should DA be reserved for racing bikes as you seem to suggest? "

Its not a question of me deciding what people need. Its a question of how many of your readers will buy the Dura Ace di2 version of this bike (£5100) as against how many will buy a more affordable version.

Avatar
unconstituted [2355 posts] 8 months ago
1 like

If you're a business you'll send in your best looking, most drool worthy model too. It's good marketing.

(By the way, I have a Dura Ace endurance bike)

Avatar
macbob [36 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes

"If you're a business you'll send in your best looking, most drool worthy model too. It's good marketing."

Of course. Canyon also want their best chance of getting a 5-Star review. But the Endurace CF SLX  will be an international best-seller and you dont need to be psychic to know that the top-of-the-range £5100 Dura Ace di2 version will only be a tiny percentage of those sales. Yet that is the bike that will be reviewed.

And David - as to only being able to review what Canyon send you: Canyon are very dependent on reviews as its difficult to test-ride their bikes. If you told them that you would only review an Ultegra version, I can't believe they'd then send you the DA version. If that is the case then the cycling media is even more in the pocket of the big bike companies than I'd feared.

 

 

Avatar
unconstituted [2355 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes

Yeah that's fair enough actually. I'd like to see reviewers properly take the gloves off too. Even basic stuff like a test route, say 50 miles, one that regularly has a low wind range and ride their test bikes at wattages around it. Like Top Gear! (Not a fan of that show by the way). Really think it would be an eye opener. Doesn't have to be rigorously scientific, but it's fun and it's real and gets clicks and debate going. Sites like this need those clicks too.

Avatar
NicholasM [2 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes

Nice review, but I do agree with the comments that it would be better to review a bike with a more realistic spec, in this case mechanical Ultegra. Not so fun to get on loan, of course  1

Avatar
Yorkshire wallet [1082 posts] 8 months ago
1 like
unconstituted wrote:

Yeah that's fair enough actually. I'd like to see reviewers properly take the gloves off too. Even basic stuff like a test route, say 50 miles, one that regularly has a low wind range and ride their test bikes at wattages around it. Like Top Gear! (Not a fan of that show by the way). Really think it would be an eye opener. Doesn't have to be rigorously scientific, but it's fun and it's real and gets clicks and debate going. Sites like this need those clicks too.

Sadly I don't think they dare take on the myths of marketing. Things are always better by intangible amounts. Bars that save 4w at 40kph. Pointless to the guy who averages 32kph.

In an ideal worlds you'd be able to take a robot rider holding constant wattage, set them off round said 50 mile route and see what the times are. I suspect some of marketing guff would be revealed as just that.

Avatar
macbob [36 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes

"... however what are the % of bikes sold in: £1k to £2k range, £2k to £3k range, £3k to £4k range & £4k upwards...  "

pete: I have seen the industry figures, but needless to say can't remember what they were. I do remember that they were eye-opening. The vast majority of bikes sold were sub-£1000. Nearly all the rest (even serious cyclists/serious brands) were within the £1k-£2k band and anything over £5k hardly even registered as a blip.

Don't get me wrong: I have nothing against £5k bikes being reviewed (I'd like to play-about on a top of the range bike too and be paid for it) - as long as their more affordable brethren are also reviewed at some stage. I ride several local club rides full of serious cyclists. Probably 250 riders in total. Nobody has a £5k bike. Nobody. The only person I have ever seen on a £5k bike round here (Dorset) was Stu Bowers and he was probably reviewing it.

If bike companies are really dictating  to the media what they can and cannot review then the next stage is to let the Marketing Departments write their own reviews.

Avatar
danthomascyclist [329 posts] 8 months ago
1 like

If everything else is the same, why does it matter which groupset they review?

Avatar
David Arthur @d... [760 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes

macbob wrote:

"If you're a business you'll send in your best looking, most drool worthy model too. It's good marketing."

Of course. Canyon also want their best chance of getting a 5-Star review. But the Endurace CF SLX  will be an international best-seller and you dont need to be psychic to know that the top-of-the-range £5100 Dura Ace di2 version will only be a tiny percentage of those sales. Yet that is the bike that will be reviewed.

And David - as to only being able to review what Canyon send you: Canyon are very dependent on reviews as its difficult to test-ride their bikes. If you told them that you would only review an Ultegra version, I can't believe they'd then send you the DA version. If that is the case then the cycling media is even more in the pocket of the big bike companies than I'd feared.

 

Okay, I get your point - why don't you look back through the road.cc bike review archive to see that we don't just review top of the range bikes, and review plenty of bikes at a wide range of price points. Sticking with Canyon, we reviewed their cheapest Aeroad model this year, and it did pretty well http://road.cc/content/review/194054-canyon-aeroad-cf-slx-60 

Avatar
Fratar [2 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes

Canyon does not offer any changes to be made to their bikes free of charge so if you stem length or bar width does not fit you will have to purchase set that suits you.

Does this thing accepts regular stem design or it needs to be pair with this propitiatory design?

Avatar
The _Kaner [1075 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes
Fratar wrote:

Canyon does not offer any changes to be made to their bikes free of charge so if you stem length or bar width does not fit you will have to purchase set that suits you. Does this thing accepts regular stem design or it needs to be pair with this propitiatory design?

You can exchange stem/bar up to 30 days after purchase free of charge. You will of course have to disassemble the original item(s) for return and pay postage costs etc.

You can fit Zipp Service Course SL-OS stems or Giant Overdrive 2 (OD2) stems (1 .25 inch)

 

http://www.zipp.com/stems/service-course-sl-os-stem/

"In a first for Zipp, this ±6° stem is compatible with the “oversized” 1-1/4 inch steerer tubes used by frame makers Giant® and Canyon®."

 

Avatar
macbob [36 posts] 8 months ago
1 like
danthomascyclist wrote:

If everything else is the same, why does it matter which groupset they review?

Dan: wheels, tyres & saddle different too.

Avatar
Fratar [2 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes
The _Kaner wrote:
Fratar wrote:

Canyon does not offer any changes to be made to their bikes free of charge so if you stem length or bar width does not fit you will have to purchase set that suits you. Does this thing accepts regular stem design or it needs to be pair with this propitiatory design?

You can exchange stem/bar up to 30 days after purchase free of charge. You will of course have to disassemble the original item(s) for return and pay postage costs etc.

You can fit Zipp Service Course SL-OS stems or Giant Overdrive 2 (OD2) stems (1 .25 inch)

 

http://www.zipp.com/stems/service-course-sl-os-stem/

"In a first for Zipp, this ±6° stem is compatible with the “oversized” 1-1/4 inch steerer tubes used by frame makers Giant® and Canyon®."

 

 

Is that written on their webpage or it's a personal experiance? I asked their coustomer support about exchanging bar/stem and I was told they do not do it. Although they are usually of little help so I would not be surprised if they're not aware of this practice.

Avatar
macbob [36 posts] 8 months ago
1 like

 "we don't just review top of the range bikes, and review plenty of bikes at a wide range of price points. Sticking with Canyon, we reviewed their cheapest Aeroad model this year, and it did pretty well"

David: I accept all that - its just that as someone considering buying the new Endurace and looking to you for guidance, the £5000+ model is out of my (and most peoples) price range. Reviews of the Aeroad or other bikes not relevant. I could infer that because the DA di2 gets a very good review the cheaper models will be good too. But as well as different groupsets, they have different wheels/tyres/saddles, so may well not be as good (relative to price).

On the other hand, if you had given a favourable review to an Ultegra model, it would have been pretty safe for that small number of people considering buying the top-of-the-range model to infer that the DA di2 was even better.

Avatar
bauchlebastart [118 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes
Fratar wrote:
The _Kaner wrote:
Fratar wrote:

Canyon does not offer any changes to be made to their bikes free of charge so if you stem length or bar width does not fit you will have to purchase set that suits you. Does this thing accepts regular stem design or it needs to be pair with this propitiatory design?

You can exchange stem/bar up to 30 days after purchase free of charge. You will of course have to disassemble the original item(s) for return and pay postage costs etc.

You can fit Zipp Service Course SL-OS stems or Giant Overdrive 2 (OD2) stems (1 .25 inch)

 

http://www.zipp.com/stems/service-course-sl-os-stem/

"In a first for Zipp, this ±6° stem is compatible with the “oversized” 1-1/4 inch steerer tubes used by frame makers Giant® and Canyon®."

 

 

Is that written on their webpage or it's a personal experiance? I asked their coustomer support about exchanging bar/stem and I was told they do not do it. Although they are usually of little help so I would not be surprised if they're not aware of this practice.

 

I asked the same question and was told that they would exchange the stem / bar combo if I felt I required a longer stem

Avatar
danthomascyclist [329 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes
macbob wrote:
danthomascyclist wrote:

If everything else is the same, why does it matter which groupset they review?

Dan: wheels, tyres & saddle different too.

 

Fair point - thank you

Avatar
The _Kaner [1075 posts] 8 months ago
1 like

@Fratar: Personal experience.

My Aeroad (2XS frame) came with 380/80 bar/stem combo.

I have stuck it out for a couple months, but decided I needed a 100mm stem instead as the 80mm standard as fitted is just too small.

Customer care advised I was outwith the 30 day period (which I already knew), but if I wanted to purchase a replacement stem it would be €60 incl postage.

I thought of either the Zipp/Giant offerings, but decided I wanted to keep stock components (Acros stem)...so I'm just waiting on it being delivered now...

Avatar
Carton [374 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes
bauchlebastart wrote:

I asked the same question and was told that they would exchange the stem / bar combo if I felt I required a longer stem

Good to know. My sizing throws up a "contact customer service" flag, so it seems like a they try to offer it as a matter of course. Still drives me a bit crazy that they chose to go the integrated route. 

On the finishing kit on the model reviewed, I'm far more queazy when it's a different frame. Given the same frame, you have a good idea of what you're getting. In this case the saddle is basically identical bar a few missing grams, and the tyres are wear items, and really not a huge upgrade either. Groupset and wheels are a different kettle of fish, but reviews for those can be found on this site, and anyone with a little bit of savvy can figure out more or less what that price premium gets you. I think actually Canyon wants buyers of the £5k bike to know that it feels like a £5k bike even though it shares a frame with less exclusive builds. And that does come across in the review. The other things I wanted to know, particularly clearance, I'm glad to see have been noted. Those are inherent to the frame & fork, not the finishing kit.

On something like the Cervelo C3 vs the C5, adjusting for the differences between variants can be a riskier proposition. But, then again, you can just test ride them yourself.

Avatar
bikeylikey [221 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes

I've got the old Endurace CF with a Campag Chorus group, and it's a really excellent bike. I like it more than my Cervelo R5, which cost about double, and the Endurace is only about 300 grams heavier. So if you're reading this, Canyon, I would definitely be in the market for an upgrade if you offered the CF SLX frameset but with caliper brakes, not discs, and a Campag groupset, preferably Record. Why have you stopped offering the Endurace with Campag??? Other Canyon models have Campag, why oh why not the Endurace? Lower sales I suppose, but surely there's enough of a market to offer one Campag equipped Endurace?

Avatar
nadsta [172 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes
macbob wrote:

Thanks for an interesting & informative review, but I'm surprised you chose the range-topping Dura Ace di2 to review. How many people really need Dura Ace di2 on an endurance machine ? The cost differential between this model and its Ultegra siblings is huge. This model is £5100. The Ultegra mechanical is £2999 - Ultegra di2 is £3500. Its exactly the same frame. At that price difference I'd be interested in a separate review to ascertain how much of this models obvious quality is discernible the (much) cheaper models.

And, at the risk of contradicting myself, a SRAM Force e-tap version would be irresistible.

 

Ultegra mechanical version review right here

Avatar
macbob [36 posts] 8 months ago
0 likes

Ultegra mechanical version review right here

[/quote]

 

Nadsta: Many thanks for that - its just the British press that have to review the top-of-the-range                          version then.

Avatar
Spatulala [131 posts] 8 months ago
2 likes
macbob wrote:

Nadsta: Many thanks for that - its just the British press that have to review the top-of-the-range                          version then.

Time to stop digging methinks, MacBob. Canyon sent a bike for review, they reviewed it. Demonstrably they don't focus on top end bikes to the exclusion of mainstream models. You want them to review a particular model as you're thinking of buying it.

Pages