Home
Verdict: 
Simple but excellent summer jersey
Weight: 
190g
Contact: 
Chapeau Men's Etape Jersey
9 10

Boutique brand Chapeau have created a fairly standard short sleeved jersey here in the Etape – but that's all part of the charm, and could very well become a staple of your summer cycling wardrobe.

Chapeau Mens Etape Jersey - riding.jpg

Chapeau Mens Etape Jersey - riding.jpg

Do you miss the days of simple, slim-cut jerseys? One wicking fabric used throughout, simple flat-stitched seams? Maybe a silicone gripper at the hem and classic, yet distinctive styling? I do, and it's because of this that I like the Chapeau Etape jersey.

Perhaps never before has the phrase 'nothing to see here' been more suitable (to be fair, it probably has, but stick with me on this one). Chapeau haven't tried to re-invent the wheel with some new-fangled carbon-lined breathable aero fabric that'll shave milliseconds off your personal best up l'Alpe d'Huez. They've stuck with a classic recipe, and pulled it off very successfully.

Chapeau Mens Etape Jersey - pocket.jpg

Chapeau Mens Etape Jersey - pocket.jpg

So, what do you get? From the top-down, a generous but not baggy neckline, a full length zip, tapered sleeves that fit well to both thin and thicker arms, four main pockets – plus a zipped fifth for valuables – a taped, elasticated waistband with silicone bobbles for extra retention, and a stylish blue Chapeau-branded design with stripes dotted about for extra zing.

It's a lovely, simple piece of design that harks back to the late nineties/early noughties, before the aero trends started really hitting their stride. I still own a Discovery Channel pro team jersey from 2005 (don't judge me) and it's pretty much the same.

Chapeau Mens Etape Jersey - collar.jpg

Chapeau Mens Etape Jersey - collar.jpg

As you've expect with such a tried-and-tested approach, everything works as it should. No fuss, no problems. The internal seams are comfortable, while the cut will suit slim whippets like me, but is long and generous enough at the waist and back to allow those with extra girth to fit in.

You can find the pockets with ease (having four is a novelty I like), and venting through the polyamide-elastane blend fabric is ideal for sporty riders. The slight downside to this old-school fabric is it has a tendency to snag on unpolished wooden surfaces, but this is the only criticism I can aim at it. Be careful (as no doubt most normally are), and you'll be absolutely fine.

Chapeau Mens Etape Jersey - back.jpg

Chapeau Mens Etape Jersey - back.jpg

The price comes in at £69.99, which, ok, isn't super-cheap, but then you are getting the boutique Chapeau name thrown in too, and it performs solidly and reliably. It's a great option as a staple jersey for spring, summer and autumn riding.

Verdict

Simple but excellent summer jersey

road.cc test report

Make and model: Chapeau Mens Etape Jersey

Size tested: Large, Indigo

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

Chapeau say: "When it's time to start shedding the winter layers and shredding the sportives and hill climbs you need a jersey that will work as hard as you do. Featuring classic stripe detailing the Etape is quintessentially Chapeau, a classic cycling jersey tailored for the contemporary cyclist.

"Whether you are going for the win, beating your previous best or enjoying new challenges our ultralight Etape jersey is the ideal selection. With a performance cut and the Etape will be your second skin, wicking away moisture and keeping you cool. Open your full-length zip to show off your merino base layer as you climb and zip up for a triumphant selfie or rehearsed victory salute.

"The Etape jersey has three full-sized pockets, ideal for essential tools and food with enough room to store your arm warmers and gilet as rides hot up. When it's time to search for the nearest café or check up on a dropped rider, pull your phone out of the zipped pocket with water-resistant lining.

"When all's said and done this is a short sleeve jersey, wear it when it's warm and add arm warmers when it's a bit chillier. Simple as that."

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

- Moisture wicking

- Slim fitting

- Water resistant security pocket

- Reflective

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
9/10

Seams are made well, with a tried-and-tested fabric. All good.

Rate the product for performance:
 
9/10

No complaints all - does exactly as it claims expertly.

Rate the product for durability:
 
7/10

The fabric used does lend itself to snagging. Just take care on unpolished wood.

Rate the product for fit:
 
10/10

Excellent for everyone, from whippets up to larger riders.

Rate the product for sizing:
 
9/10

Comes up slightly large, but there's nothing wrong with a slightly more relaxed slim cut.

Rate the product for weight:
 
9/10

Feels light to wear at 190g for a large.

Rate the product for comfort:
 
9/10
Rate the product for value:
 
8/10

Throw in the brand recognition, and £69.99 looks a fair deal.

How easy is the product to care for? How did it respond to being washed?

Washes fine on a delicate setting.

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

Great.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

Classic design, no fuss and efficient use of space at the rear for four pockets.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

Nothing stands out.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes

Would you consider buying the product? Yes

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes

Use this box to explain your score

A do-it-all summer short sleeve staple. Enough said.

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 26  Height: 188cm  Weight: 83kg

I usually ride: Specialized Allez Sport  My best bike is:

I've been riding for: Under 5 years  I ride: Most days  I would class myself as: Experienced

I regularly do the following types of riding: time trialling, club rides, sportives, general fitness riding,

17 comments

Avatar
lambylamby [33 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes

These guys really bring quality to all their products, time and time again. My etape I bought last year reflects this review too, I own a fancy bollocks cuore jersey too, and to be honest there's not much in it, it's half the price and the feel of the fabric is the nicest I've ridden in. These guys have done their homework and brought a great no fuss product to the market, refreshing. The socks as a side note are also great, really really breatheable.

Avatar
bendertherobot [1429 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes

3 for 2 on the entire website today as well. Bargain.

Avatar
honesty [75 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes

Not tried their etape jerseys but have 4 of their cafe jerseys. They're brilliant.

Avatar
Jez Ash [230 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
honesty wrote:

Not tried their etape jerseys but have 4 of their cafe jerseys. They're brilliant.

The first-gen ones or this year's made off of bamboo?

Avatar
honesty [75 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
Jez Ash wrote:
honesty wrote:

Not tried their etape jerseys but have 4 of their cafe jerseys. They're brilliant.

The first-gen ones or this year's made off of bamboo?

3 first gen and a 2nd Gen one turning up in the post this week.

Avatar
kevvjj [203 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes

Love the look but do I really have to be a cycling advert for the company? A nice discrete logo will get my hard -earned every time (hint: DHB)

Avatar
bendertherobot [1429 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
kevvjj wrote:

Love the look but do I really have to be a cycling advert for the company? A nice discrete logo will get my hard -earned every time (hint: DHB)

2 more Etape jerseys available with a discreet logo, plus 2 limited edition versions. Also 3 Tempo jerseys and all the Cafe ones.

Avatar
hsiaolc [348 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes

I am not big fan of big logo. I want something discrete especially if it is boutique.

Avatar
MrB123 [56 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes

I ordered one of these in the black, red and white colour scheme that doesn't have the big Chapeau! logo across the front.

The jersey is certainly a quality bit of kit. The fabric and construction seem really nice. The logos are classy and there are some nice touches such as the water resistant zipped pocket.

The issue for me (which has led me to return the jersey) was with the fit. The jersey is described by Chapeau as being a slim, race fit. However on my lanky frame the jersey was quite loose around my midsection and waist. The sleeves were also fairly loose.

The pictures with this review definitely illustrate what I'm talking about. If you're expecting a race fit as per Castelli/Sportful etc then look elsewhere.

The cut of the jersey to me seems better suited to a shorter, broader rider rather than tall and slim, or if you just prefer a slighly looser fit.

 

Avatar
bendertherobot [1429 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
MrB123 wrote:

I ordered one of these in the black, red and white colour scheme that doesn't have the big Chapeau! logo across the front.

The jersey is certainly a quality bit of kit. The fabric and construction seem really nice. The logos are classy and there are some nice touches such as the water resistant zipped pocket.

The issue for me (which has led me to return the jersey) was with the fit. The jersey is described by Chapeau as being a slim, race fit. However on my lanky frame the jersey was quite loose around my midsection and waist. The sleeves were also fairly loose.

The pictures with this review definitely illustrate what I'm talking about. If you're expecting a race fit as per Castelli/Sportful etc then look elsewhere.

The cut of the jersey to me seems better suited to a shorter, broader rider rather than tall and slim, or if you just prefer a slighly looser fit.

 

It's a weird one. In the Cafe I'm medium, large in the Tempo and I'd expect to be XL in this. But I wonder if same size as Tempo would rid the problem?

Avatar
MrB123 [56 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
bendertherobot wrote:
MrB123 wrote:

I ordered one of these in the black, red and white colour scheme that doesn't have the big Chapeau! logo across the front.

The jersey is certainly a quality bit of kit. The fabric and construction seem really nice. The logos are classy and there are some nice touches such as the water resistant zipped pocket.

The issue for me (which has led me to return the jersey) was with the fit. The jersey is described by Chapeau as being a slim, race fit. However on my lanky frame the jersey was quite loose around my midsection and waist. The sleeves were also fairly loose.

The pictures with this review definitely illustrate what I'm talking about. If you're expecting a race fit as per Castelli/Sportful etc then look elsewhere.

The cut of the jersey to me seems better suited to a shorter, broader rider rather than tall and slim, or if you just prefer a slighly looser fit.

 

It's a weird one. In the Cafe I'm medium, large in the Tempo and I'd expect to be XL in this. But I wonder if same size as Tempo would rid the problem?

I got a large which was the size they recommended. I'm 6'4" and just over 12 stone so pretty lanky/skinny. I considered exchanging for a medium but I think then the jersey would have been too tight round the shoulders and possibly too short.

Unfortunately I just don't think the cut of them suits my ectomorph body shape!

Avatar
edvelo [49 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
hsiaolc wrote:

I am not big fan of big logo. I want something discrete especially if it is boutique.

 

Have a look on the website, there are more designs which don't have a large logo across them.

Avatar
hsiaolc [348 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
edvelo wrote:
hsiaolc wrote:

I am not big fan of big logo. I want something discrete especially if it is boutique.

 

Have a look on the website, there are more designs which don't have a large logo across them.

 

I was talking about this jersey!!

 

Avatar
bendertherobot [1429 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
hsiaolc wrote:
edvelo wrote:
hsiaolc wrote:

I am not big fan of big logo. I want something discrete especially if it is boutique.

 

Have a look on the website, there are more designs which don't have a large logo across them.

 

I was talking about this jersey!!

 

And THIS jersey, the Etape, is available without the words across the chest, in about 4 different designs. 

Avatar
chimivee [2 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes

Some great designs. I really like some of the previous jerseys, but the current line isn't bad.

Can anybody who's tried the Etape and Tempo jerseys offer any insight on the difference in fit/cut? Judging by the jersey measurements on the Chapeau site, they seem to use an odd sizing method. It's as if you are expected to just size up/down based on the jersey model vs establish your size, then choose a model/cut based on your preferred fit/body shape.

The photos of the happy fellow wearing the jerseys are a good idea, but they show very little difference in cut. So either there isn't really a difference, or they're pinning them in back for the photo (not helpful).

Avatar
bendertherobot [1429 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
chimivee wrote:

Some great designs. I really like some of the previous jerseys, but the current line isn't bad.

Can anybody who's tried the Etape and Tempo jerseys offer any insight on the difference in fit/cut? Judging by the jersey measurements on the Chapeau site, they seem to use an odd sizing method. It's as if you are expected to just size up/down based on the jersey model vs establish your size, then choose a model/cut based on your preferred fit/body shape.

The photos of the happy fellow wearing the jerseys are a good idea, but they show very little difference in cut. So either there isn't really a difference, or they're pinning them in back for the photo (not helpful).

I confess I'm not 100% sure. The Tempo fits me perfectly with a bit of wiggle room in large (40 chest). Slim but not form fit. The Cafe fits me in medium. See my take on them here:

https://roubaixcycling.cc/2016/04/12/chapeau-part-2-the-jerseys/

Although it says on the website that the Etape fits small it still recommends a large for my size. And Bill has a 40" chest like me. 

Avatar
chimivee [2 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
bendertherobot wrote:

I confess I'm not 100% sure. The Tempo fits me perfectly with a bit of wiggle room in large (40 chest). Slim but not form fit. The Cafe fits me in medium. See my take on them here:

https://roubaixcycling.cc/2016/04/12/chapeau-part-2-the-jerseys/

Although it says on the website that the Etape fits small it still recommends a large for my size. And Bill has a 40" chest like me. 

Cool, thanks for the first-hand feedback. Great review.