Vredestein Fortezza Senso Xtreme tyres  £45.00

9/10

Not the cheapest option, but for puncture free, all-weather riding, a sensible one

Weight 253g   Contact  www.saddleback.co.uk

by themartincox   August 10, 2014  

Vredestein Fortezza Senso tyre

The Vredestein Fortezza Senso Xtreme tyres bill themselves, as suggested in the name, as Xtreme (sorry) weather tyres - so perfect then, for three seasons of UK riding.

We had the 25mm versions in for testing, and threw ourselves out into the rain with aplomb at the first sightings of precipitation.

They originally replaced my commuting tyres, and therefore they had to put up with pretty crappy roads in all weathers, and the mix of lower pressures and great grip dealt with the very worst I could throw at them.

They have managed several thousand kilometres without any punctures nor slide-outs in the wet, despite me donning my old college volleyball knee-pads and seeing if I could lose the front wheel on fast roundabouts. In that respect they have totally won my confidence. Come rain or shine, they have provided comfortable riding, with smooth rolling and decent acceleration and while they are not the lightest tyre on the market, they don't seem to suffer because of the extra weight.

Tyre wear has been minimal, and while they have a goodly amount of cuts in them, nothing has got through, to cause late-night walks home. Vredestein have implanted their tightly woven polyamide layer not just in the centre strip, but across the whole tyre, ensuring that puncture resistance is increased across the whole tyre - including the sidewalls.

At £45, they are certainly not the cheapest option, but on the flip side if your time is more valuable riding than fixing punctures then they seem to be a much better proposition.

Verdict

Not the cheapest option, but for puncture free, all-weather riding, a sensible one

road.cc test report

Make and model: Vredestein Fortezza Senso Xtreme

Size tested: 700x25c

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

Aimed at the all-weather racers and trainers out there, the Vredestein Fortezza Senso Xtreme Weather tyre adds puncture resistance and extra grip for the wettest of weathers.

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

XWS compound for extra grip in wet and cold conditions with TriComp Technology - ideal for both wet and dry conditions

Curve Control System and a wear-resistant tread with extremely low rolling resistance.

Available in 700C x 23/25/28mm

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
9/10
Rate the product for performance:
 
10/10

Both reliable in all weathers and resistant to punctures, they've been a great companion.

Rate the product for durability:
 
8/10

No issues after a couple of thousand km's of commuting and training.

Rate the product for weight, if applicable:
 
8/10

Not the lightest all pun cure resistant option, but no real penalty for the security.

Rate the product for comfort, if applicable:
 
8/10

The 25mm version rolled well and took out the majority of the road-buzz.

Rate the product for value:
 
7/10

Expensive, but if you don't particularly like mending tyres at the road-side, then it seems good value.

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

Admirable tyre, no issues in wet or dry conditions.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

Coped with local roads well, no punctures in the couple of months I've been riding them. Smoothed off the road-buzz and gave solid confidence around corners.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

Nothing.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes.

Would you consider buying the product? Yes.

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes.

Anything further to say about the product in conclusion?

A solidly performing tyre, capably of handling the worst of a British winter.

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 37  Height: 176cm  Weight:

I usually ride: Raleigh SP Race, Hoffman BMX  My best bike is: Raleigh SP Race

I've been riding for: Under 5 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Experienced

I regularly do the following types of riding: time trialling, commuting, touring, sportives, general fitness riding, Adventure-packing, crossing-countries

 

8 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

So many questions, like:

Were they easy to get on/off the wheel rim?

What other tires would you compare them too?

"several thousand kilometres" - Can you be a little more specific?

The review seems a little short for a £45 tire that is rated at 4.5 stars...

Sorry, but winter is just around the corner; the last one didn't go well (25mm Conti 4 seasons) so I'm just trying to preparing in advance. Big Grin

posted by ronin [141 posts]
11th August 2014 - 14:31

13 Likes

ronin wrote:
....the last one didn't go well (25mm Conti 4 seasons) so I'm just trying to preparing in advance. Big Grin

What was the prob with Conti 4 seasosns, out of interest? I've just put them on my bike and would be keen to know of your experience with them.

posted by macrophotofly [35 posts]
12th August 2014 - 2:33

3 Likes

macrophotofly wrote:
ronin wrote:
....the last one didn't go well (25mm Conti 4 seasons) so I'm just trying to preparing in advance. Big Grin

What was the prob with Conti 4 seasosns, out of interest? I've just put them on my bike and would be keen to know of your experience with them.

well, I thought they'd be good, but on one ride, I punctured front and back, thorns in both tyres (at least 3 each, although I remember pulling more like 5 from the rear). Good job I had my keys with me, along with a tweezers from a little Swiss army knife, trying to pull the thorns out. Another couple of times glass was the culprit.

I know it could happen to anyone, and in fact I had stopped because another cyclist was next to the road fixing a puncture, he wasn't using the same tire. I thought that these had extra protection. So much for 4 seasons. I thought I was being prudent changing from my regular conti 23mm GP4000s. Those didn't puncture at all, and I had used them all the previous year, go figure.

I do have to admit that they seem good in the wet though. I went for 25's this time, and at first they seemed OK, but they do disconnect you slightly from the feel of the road.

posted by ronin [141 posts]
12th August 2014 - 13:14

3 Likes

I don't know about the fortezza sensos, but I have both tricomps and tricomp quattros on various bikes and they fit to my wheels (RS30s and some Rigida Novas) easily enough.

They last well for a racy tyre too. I don't know exactly how long, but maybe a couple of thousand miles for the rear. But that depends a lot on riding style.

I don't think I've ever had a puncture (other than snakebites, and valves going) on either of those tyres despite using them for about 6 years. The quattros have bead to bead puncture protection and seem to roll slower than the tricomps. Ribble seems to be the place to buy Vredestein tyres. They are about £25 a tyre on there.

posted by Chris James [188 posts]
12th August 2014 - 13:35

2 Likes

ronin wrote:
macrophotofly wrote:
ronin wrote:
....the last one didn't go well (25mm Conti 4 seasons) so I'm just trying to preparing in advance. Big Grin

What was the prob with Conti 4 seasosns, out of interest? I've just put them on my bike and would be keen to know of your experience with them.

well, I thought they'd be good, but on one ride, I punctured front and back, thorns in both tyres (at least 3 each, although I remember pulling more like 5 from the rear). Good job I had my keys with me, along with a tweezers from a little Swiss army knife, trying to pull the thorns out. Another couple of times glass was the culprit.

I know it could happen to anyone, and in fact I had stopped because another cyclist was next to the road fixing a puncture, he wasn't using the same tire. I thought that these had extra protection. So much for 4 seasons. I thought I was being prudent changing from my regular conti 23mm GP4000s. Those didn't puncture at all, and I had used them all the previous year, go figure.

I do have to admit that they seem good in the wet though. I went for 25's this time, and at first they seemed OK, but they do disconnect you slightly from the feel of the road.

To be honest, you'll struggle to find a tyre that gets you through five thorns and a couple of pieces of glass without puncturing. I'm not a fan of the GP4Seasons, but only because the ride quality is poor - I think the puncture resistance is pretty decent.

My favourite winter tyres are either of the Schwalbe Ultremo DD or Schwalbe Durano (not the S or the super heavyweight version, just the standard). My Duranos have actually managed to withstand thorn attacks but the main reason I like them is that they don't feel as sluggish as other winter tyres I've ridden and the grip is very good. If you haven't tried them, they're well worth a go.

As for the review, definitely some more detail needed as requested above. Please road.cc?

posted by step-hent [683 posts]
12th August 2014 - 13:36

5 Likes

I have been delighted with Vredestein Fortezza Tricomp, and will strongly consider the new Senso Xtreme for my next winter set.

I found the Tricomp tyres had excellent grip in the wet, were fast-rolling and light, and even relatively durable and puncture resistant. From my last pair I got 3,000km on the rear and 6,000km on the front tyre, with just 3 punctures total. And they're fast, I would have no hesitation in racing them! Well worth the money.

posted by rosscado [6 posts]
14th August 2014 - 10:44

1 Like

Vredestein has been the tires I've consistantly, rated the highest since I started riding them ages ago. I am thrilled to see this review and these will be on two new builds I just started.
I think their Fortezza tri comps from 2006 thru 2009 were incredible.
I really wish they would release these as a tubeless version, but still manage somehow to keep the light supple feel of a standard clincher. Probably too much to ask. I can't wait to try these.
I noticed a poster above that had bad luck with 4 season. I found them to be practically bulletproof. They're just not as refined as the Fortezza. I imagine this tire would be a combination of the two, hopefully.
happy riding.

posted by jhamlin38 [6 posts]
16th August 2014 - 3:05

0 Likes

This has just come up in Ribble: £300 for Zondas with the Xtreme tyres. Unreal value http://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/sp/road-track-bike/campagnolo-zonda-xtreme...

posted by s_lim [119 posts]
18th August 2014 - 13:21

0 Likes

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

10/10
£79.00
September 21, 2014
8/10
£59.99
September 21, 2014
5/10
£39.95
September 20, 2014
8/10
£26.99
September 20, 2014
8/10
£24.99
September 19, 2014
8/10
£89.99
September 18, 2014
6/10
£9.99
September 17, 2014
9/10
£2506.15
September 17, 2014
7/10
£39.99
September 16, 2014
8/10
£20.00
September 16, 2014
9/10
£70.00
September 15, 2014
4/10
£87.99
September 15, 2014
8/10
£32.99
September 14, 2014
5/10
£25.99
September 14, 2014
9/10
£1.79
September 13, 2014
8/10
£279.99
September 12, 2014
6/10
£55.65
September 11, 2014
8/10
£90.00
September 11, 2014
6/10
£64.99
September 10, 2014
8/10
£70.00
September 9, 2014
8/10
£95.00
September 9, 2014
8/10
£39.99
September 8, 2014
8/10
£254.99
September 7, 2014
9/10
£54.99
September 7, 2014
8/10
£120.00
September 6, 2014
9/10
£63.99
September 6, 2014
8/10
£29.99
September 5, 2014
9/10
£67.99
September 4, 2014
7/10
£9.99
September 3, 2014
5/10
£45.00
September 3, 2014
 
1