Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Basic bike maintenance

I’m relatively new to cycling, at least in terms of doing it regularly. I find myself now without a car until mid-October....so have bought a new bike (Cannondale Topstone gravel bike) and intend to use that for the bulk of my commuting - at least 3 times a week, circa 20 miles a day. I’m using a route which is a combination of road and trail/towpath, so there will undoubtedly be muddy days in there somewhere :)

I think I can say that my history of bike maintenance is low.....like I don’t think I have ever cleaned or done anything to a bike beyond adjusting my seat post and maybe once I repaired a puncture.....

I don’t want the new bike to go the way of past bikes, and want my commutes to be as comfortable as possible, so looking after the bike is important this time. I am a bit clueless on what a basic level of bike maintenance looks like. How should I, and how often should I clean it? What is classified as cleaning it, full on pressure wash, wipe down? Daily, weekly? Do I clean the chain, how? Do I need lube, which one? Do I degrease it, how?

So far, this week I had a couple of dry days and one wet day. On the wet day I just wiped the bike down with an old towel at the end of the day when I got him and that was it..

Any advice, help much appreciated

Thanks

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

7 comments

kil0ran | 4 years ago
1 like

Depends whether you're time-rich or not. If you don't clean your drivetrain regularly it will wear out and need replacing more quickly than if you do.

Replacement cassettes and chains are easy to fit and will take a lot of abuse, particularly if you run a heavy wet lube in the winter months. You're looking at £50 and an hour to fit for a replacement cassette/chain versus say 30 minutes a week to keep everything spick and span.