Home
Verdict: 
A very comfortable, forgiving, yet engaging bike for adventures on and off the road, with a great value spec
Weight: 
9,680g
Genesis Datum 10
9 10

The Genesis Datum 10 will take pretty much whatever you can throw at it, on or off-road. The spec represents excellent value and the ability to jump between town and country use positions it as a sound contender for an 'only bike' that you won't be sheepish about getting muddy on, while being worthy of a shine-up for the Sunday morning group ride.

At launch two years ago, Dave rated the Di2 11-speed Datum 30 at 4.5/5, finding it a 'hugely capable bike that is loads of fun over all sorts of terrain'. Later that year it won our Sportive Bike of The Year Award, with only the Shimano Di2-influenced price holding it back from taking overall honours. At £3,200 in 2015 money, the Di2 version was a hefty price to pay, so this time around it's the base model £1,899 10-speed Tiagra model on test. Again, for this spec it's not a class-leadingly cheap bike, but the overall package is worthy of inclusion on anyone's to-be-considered list.

> Find your nearest dealer here

We covered a lot of detail in the Just-In video and for 2017 the frame that Dave found so capable at launch is identical to the millimetre. You still get loads of clearance, both frame and fork taking 36mm gravel-orientated tyres with no problems. The mudguard mounts are the same, and there are still the three sets of bottle cage mounts for those considering a bit of bikepacking or ultra-long-distance riding.

Genesis Datum 10 - stays.jpg

Genesis Datum 10 - stays.jpg

The paint job is simply stunning – a metallic pearl finish, with acceptable amounts of branding. I did manage to get a hefty chip near the small chainring, but given what I put it through (see later) that's entirely forgivable. Owners might consider a few well-placed areas of helicopter tape to keep things looking tip-top.

Speccing order

For 2017 it's a change of spec, with notable improvements on the 2015 base model being the addition of Shimano's BR-405 hydraulic callipers and levers over the cable-operated TRP HyRd. I'm rapidly coming to the conclusion that Shimano can do no wrong brake-wise, the performance being consistently excellent across all specs from base model non-series to Dura-Ace. Stopping power is enhanced by the use of a 160mm rotor up front, meaning there's never any need for more than two fingers on the levers, even with hands on the hoods let alone in the drops.

Genesis Datum 10 - front disc.jpg

Genesis Datum 10 - front disc.jpg

The included 32mm Clement Strada tyres aren't tubeless-ready, nor are the 19mm internal-width rims. They're perfectly fast enough on the road, and 32mm allows for decently-low and comfortable pressures, but the risk of flats is still there. This would be my only grumble about the Datum 10 spec – I'd say any bike benefits from a tubeless tyre setup, and if you are specifically pointing it at bridleways and gravel roads, tubeless-ready is a must-have that rates alongside water, shelter and WiFi as a basic human right.

Genesis Datum 10 - tyre.jpg

Genesis Datum 10 - tyre.jpg

The Strada is a perfectly capable tyre for general riding purposes, but 32mm is a bit on the slim side for decent off-tarmac forays where you benefit from dropping the pressure to enhance grip and comfort. On the first outing joining the road.cc Team Dirty Reiver for a 60km bash along Wiltshire's finest gravel roads, I suffered no fewer than three punctures. Mankind has evolved beyond inner tubes, and I couldn't get the bike set up tubeless fast enough. This was easily done with a few layers of tubeless rim tape and a swap to the excellent 36mm Clement X'Plor MSO gravel tyre (review to follow).

Genesis Datum 10 - riding 3.jpg

Genesis Datum 10 - riding 3.jpg

Speaking of grip and comfort, the handlebar is a tad on the skinny side, diameter-wise. Adding an extra layer of bar tape improves things dramatically, a £5 fix that I'm surprised isn't employed more often by brands to improve comfort.

Frame details

A clear nod to the UK's weather is in the form of the nicely-done mudguard mounts, hidden from view for summer builds. You don't get rack mounts, but this isn't the bike for multi-day adventures requiring panniers – handlebar and frame/saddlebags, sure. Further adding to the clean lines are the cable ports around the hefty head tube, although as-built there's no front mech adjustment so you might want to add an inline barrel adjuster at the first gear cable service.

Genesis Datum 10 - top tube decal.jpg

Genesis Datum 10 - top tube decal.jpg

With a 9.6kg build weight (without pedals), the Datum 10 isn't going to win any hillclimbing shootouts, but this bike isn't about being first to the top – rather, making the trip down on rough surfaces one that's enjoyable, not lethal. The 1,020mm wheelbase (as measured) makes the Datum 10 a very forgiving on and off-road sled – there are no surprises lurking when you've piled on the miles and aren't paying close attention to steering input.

The ride

On tarmac, smooth or rough, the Datum 10 was a very enjoyable ride. As Dave found with the Datum 30, the Datum 10 frame and fork combine to offer an engaging ride at any speed, the wide tyres and hydraulic brakes giving you the confidence to bomb rough-tarmac descents without fear. On a 100km outing around the South Downs Way and associated to/from tarmac stretches, the Datum 10 was both fast and comfortable – with five Strava top 10s and a KOM in the one ride, this is clearly a bike that doesn't hold you back.

Genesis Datum 10 - riding 2.jpg

Genesis Datum 10 - riding 2.jpg

It's off-road, long-distance where the Datum 10 reveals its hidden side – one that, like 95% of urban 4x4s staying clean and dry, may never see the light for many riders. But if you want to, it's comforting to know that the capability is there. In this case, the test was arguably the UK's toughest one-day cycling challenge: the Dirty Reiver.

The Dirty Reiver is a 200km, almost entirely off-road ride in Northumbria's Kielder Forest, taking in every possible combination of gravel, rock, moss and grass. You can enjoy the full video and write-up from the team – suffice to say it was the hardest day out on a bike I think I've ever had. The Datum 10 performed flawlessly – the long wheelbase and handling meaning that going up or down, fast or slow, on hard-pack or deep gravel, there were no nasty surprises.

Genesis Datum 10.jpg

Genesis Datum 10.jpg

On the few occasions that user-induced numptyness had me heading off-line for a bank or ditch, a quick tap on the brakes and swerve got things back on track. I'd made a schoolboy error in my rear tyre tubeless setup (the pump head came apart when checking the pressure and I couldn't reseat the tyre), meaning on the day I ran pressure twice as hard as planned, with an inner tube in the rear. I suffered no flats as a result, and the 36mm tyre width combined with the rest of the Datum 10 package to leave me feeling much better than I expected to. Had I run the tyre pressure as planned I'm certain the ride would have been much more enjoyable and inevitably faster because of improved confidence in the corners and over rough surfaces.

Genesis Datum 10 - riding 4.jpg

Genesis Datum 10 - riding 4.jpg

The Tiagra groupset never missed a beat – even when left in small-small hammering over Belgian pavé-esque surfaces. The Tiagra-shaped hoods might not be everyone's cup of tea, but they did the job and I suffered no issues with hands or arms. The 420mm bar was just right – I usually run 400 and the extra width was appreciated for stability and leverage when needed.

Genesis Datum 10 - bar and shifter.jpg

Genesis Datum 10 - bar and shifter.jpg

It's difficult to imagine a tougher test for a do-it-all bike than the Dirty Reiver – and it passed with flying colours. Of course you don't have to go to that extreme. Pre-Dirty Reiver I rode the 40km immaculately gravelled loop of Kielder Water itself, at an average of 25km/h with a 3rd overall on the final 9km leg back to the holiday house.

> Buyer's Guide: 17 of the best gravel and adventure bikes

This trail comprises almost constant twists and turns, with frequent pitches of 5-10% as it rolls around the stunning lakeshore. The Datum 10 was an absolute hoot to ride here, early morning meaning no other trail users to worry about. While 'snappy acceleration' isn't a term oft-used alongside 'gravel', the overall experience was grin-inducing and well worthy of repeat.

Okay, it's only May, but I reckon the Genesis Datum 10 is, for the money, an early contender for All-Round Bike Of The Year. It's clearly far more capable than most riders will ever need, it's light-ish, fast and fun on the road and confidence-inspiring off. The minor omissions in spec can be improved at minimal cost, and the base package of frame, fork and hydraulic groupset are absolutely sound.

Verdict

A very comfortable, forgiving, yet engaging bike for adventures on and off the road, with a great value spec

road.cc test report

Make and model: Genesis Datum 10

Size tested: 56cm

About the bike

State the frame and fork material and method of construction. List the components used to build up the bike.

Frame: 24/30T Monocoque Carbon Road Disc w/ Tapered Headtube & Fully Internal Cable Routing

Fork: Full Carbon Fork w/ 1-1/2" - 1-1/8" Tapered Steerer w/ 15mm TA

Headset: FSA Orbit C-40-ACB, NO.42

Shifters: Shimano ST-RS405 / 2x10 speed

Rear Derailleur: Shimano Tiagra RD-4700 / GS cage

Front Derailleur: Shimano Tiagra FD-4700

Chainset: Shimano Tiagra FC-4700 / 50-34T /S, 170mm / M-L, 172.5mm / XL, 175mm

Bottom Bracket: Shimano BB-RS500-PB

Chain: KMC x10

Cassette: Shimano CS-HG500-10 / 11-32T

Rims: Jalco XCD22 / 28h

Hubs: Formula RX-81Q/RX-26 28h / front 15mm TA / rear QR / 6-bolt

Spokes: Stainless steel 14g

Tyres: Clement Strada USH 700x32c 60TPI

Brakes: Shimano BR-RS405 hydraulic brakes w/160/140mm TR160 rotors

Levers: Shimano ST-RS405

Handlebars: Genesis Furio Pro / 118mm drop x 70.9mm reach / XS, 400mm / S-M, 420mm / L-XL, 440mm

Grips: Velo tape w/Gel

Stem: Genesis Code 7 / -7deg / XS, 90mm / S-M, 100mm / L-XL, 110mm

Saddle: Genesis Road Comfort

Seatpost: Genesis Alloy / 27.2x350mm

Pedals: N/A

Weight (Kg): 10.46

Tell us what the bike is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about the bike?

It's for someone wanting to go far, fast, on or off-road.

Genesis says: "It could be a gravel bike to some, in the same way it could be a fast, comfy road bike to others...

"Our large-tyred road disc bike that'll comfortably sit mile-after-mile on tarmac, but, should the tarmac come to an end, it won't mean turning back or the premature end of the ride. Not necessarily about out-and-out overall speed, but more fun, adventure, exploration and pneumatically-suspended comfort. The Datum 10 sports the latest Shimano Tiagra groupset with hydraulic RS405 disc brakes and is all about enjoying yourself, across a variety of terrain, both paved and unpaved, be it fast or leisurely."

Frame and fork

Overall rating for frame and fork
 
9/10

Tell us about the build quality and finish of the frame and fork?

Exemplary. Gorgeous paint job.

Tell us about the materials used in the frame and fork?

Carbon.

Tell us about the geometry of the frame and fork?

Relaxed, yet still engaging.

How was the bike in terms of height and reach? How did it compare to other bikes of the same stated size?

It's not going to upset most moderately-flexible riders, yet you can slam the stem and feel aero.

Riding the bike

Was the bike comfortable to ride? Tell us how you felt about the ride quality.

Supremely comfortable. The long seatpost helps absorb shocks that make it past the tyres and seatstays.

Did the bike feel stiff in the right places? Did any part of the bike feel too stiff or too flexible?

Just right – the head tube and fork kept the front on track.

How did the bike transfer power? Did it feel efficient?

Yes. it's not the lightest but I didn't feel it wanting for out-of-the-saddle effort.

Was there any toe-clip overlap with the front wheel? If so, was it a problem?

Nope.

How would you describe the steering? Was it lively, neutral or unresponsive? Neutral, but not dead.

Tell us some more about the handling. How did the bike feel overall? Did it do particular things well or badly?

It's not a race bike, but it lets you dive into corners and make quick adjustments.

Which components had the most effect (good or bad) on the bike's comfort? would you recommend any changes?

Fatter handlebar. Definitely.

Which components had the most effect (good or bad) on the bike's stiffness? would you recommend any changes?

No.

Which components had the most effect (good or bad) on the bike's efficiency? would you recommend any changes?

No.

Rate the bike for efficiency of power transfer:
 
8/10
Rate the bike for acceleration:
 
8/10
Rate the bike for sprinting:
 
7/10
Rate the bike for high speed stability:
 
10/10
Rate the bike for cruising speed stability:
 
10/10
Rate the bike for low speed stability:
 
10/10
Rate the bike for flat cornering:
 
9/10
Rate the bike for cornering on descents:
 
9/10
Rate the bike for climbing:
 
8/10

The drivetrain

Rate the drivetrain for performance:
 
9/10

Couldn't fault it.

Rate the drivetrain for durability:
 
9/10
Rate the drivetrain for weight:
 
7/10

Not the lightest.

Rate the drivetrain for value:
 
9/10

Tell us some more about the drivetrain. Anything you particularly did or didn't like? Any components which didn't work well together?

As a system it was flawless.

Wheels and tyres

Rate the wheels for performance:
 
7/10

Should be tubeless in my opinion.

Rate the wheels for durability:
 
8/10
Rate the wheels for weight:
 
7/10
Rate the wheels for comfort:
 
7/10
Rate the wheels for value:
 
7/10

Tell us some more about the wheels.Did they work well in the conditions you encountered? Would you change the wheels? If so, what for?

They should be tubeless, but did the job once set up with tape and valves.

Rate the tyres for performance:
 
8/10

Smooth-rolling, fast.

Rate the tyres for durability:
 
8/10
Rate the tyres for weight:
 
8/10
Rate the tyres for comfort:
 
8/10
Rate the tyres for value:
 
8/10

Tell us some more about the tyres. Did they work well in the conditions you encountered? Would you change the tyres? If so, what for?

I'd swap for tubeless, wider too – 35mm-plus.

Controls

Rate the controls for performance:
 
9/10
Rate the controls for durability:
 
9/10
Rate the controls for weight:
 
7/10
Rate the controls for comfort:
 
6/10
Rate the controls for value:
 
9/10

Tell us some more about the controls. Any particularly good or bad components? How would the controls work for larger or smaller riders?

I'm not the biggest fan of the lever hoods, but they are perfectly functional.

Your summary

Did you enjoy riding the bike? Yes

Would you consider buying the bike? Yes

Would you recommend the bike to a friend? Yes

Rate the bike overall for performance:
 
9/10
Rate the bike overall for value:
 
9/10

Use this box to explain your score

A few minor niggles aside – no front mech adjuster, small diameter bar, non-tubeless-ready rims – the Datum 10 is a cracking bike.

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 43  Height: 183cm  Weight: 72KG

I usually ride: Merida Ride 5000 Disc  My best bike is:

I've been riding for: Over 20 years  I ride: A few times a week  I would class myself as: Expert

I regularly do the following types of riding: cyclo cross, club rides, general fitness riding, mtb, Dutch bike pootling.

38 comments

Avatar
srchar [543 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes

This or a self-built Mason with Tiagra, Mike?

Avatar
mike the bike [921 posts] 3 months ago
3 likes

 

I agree the frame looks fine, it's a pity they couldn't make the Genesis decal a bit bigger though.

Avatar
KiwiMike [1297 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes
srchar wrote:

This or a self-built Mason with Tiagra, Mike?

my only changes were the tyres, and a layer of bartape. Otherwise, stock. Having not ridden a Mason I can't comment, but I doubt a Mason would come in for the same price. Tiagra is bloody good for the money. 

Avatar
The _Kaner [1121 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes

How would this compare to the Canyon Ultimate, which appears to offer a much better spec for slightly less money?

https://www.canyon.com/en-ie/road/ultimate/ultimate-cf-sl-disc-8-0.html

I'm asking for real life, genuine experience, not opinions of folks that haven't ridden the bike, please.

Would the Ultimate offer any (soft) off road ability, towpath, gravel etc (not hard mud plugging/slog or hard CX usage)?

 

Avatar
srchar [543 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes
KiwiMike wrote:

Having not ridden a Mason I can't comment, but I doubt a Mason would come in for the same price. Tiagra is bloody good for the money. 

I was pleasantly surprised to find that a Definition with Tiagra hydraulic discs, handbuilt wheels and Deda finishing kit comes in at a shade under two grand, so definitely a competitor to the Datum - although I'd obviously have to bolt it all together myself.

Avatar
olic [72 posts] 3 months ago
1 like
The _Kaner wrote:

How would this compare to the Canyon Ultimate, which appears to offer a much better spec for slightly less money?

https://www.canyon.com/en-ie/road/ultimate/ultimate-cf-sl-disc-8-0.html

I'm asking for real life, genuine experience, not opinions of folks that haven't ridden the bike, please.

Would the Ultimate offer any (soft) off road ability, towpath, gravel etc (not hard mud plugging/slog or hard CX usage)?

 

As far as I'm aware the canyon ultimate disc frameset is identical to the normal ultimate, in which case you'll struggle to get more than 25mm tyres on it. It's not really comparable to the datum at all - I've actually got a standard ultimate cf slx and just bought a datum frame to build as my second bike as a 'do it all' as you can fit proper mudguards & 32mm tyres. Canyon also state that it's not designed to road on anything other than the roads

Avatar
KiwiMike [1297 posts] 3 months ago
1 like
The _Kaner wrote:

How would this compare to the Canyon Ultimate, which appears to offer a much better spec for slightly less 

 

Haven't ridden the Canyon, but with a 996mm wheelbase in M it's going to feel a lot racier and will be less forgiving than the 1020 on offer here. 

Avatar
KiwiMike [1297 posts] 3 months ago
1 like
The _Kaner wrote:

How would this compare to the Canyon Ultimate, which appears to offer a much better spec for slightly less 

 

Haven't ridden the Canyon, but with a 996mm wheelbase in M it's going to feel a lot racier and will be less forgiving than the 1020 on offer here. 

Avatar
Prosper0 [97 posts] 3 months ago
1 like
The _Kaner wrote:

How would this compare to the Canyon Ultimate, which appears to offer a much better spec for slightly less money?

https://www.canyon.com/en-ie/road/ultimate/ultimate-cf-sl-disc-8-0.html

I'm asking for real life, genuine experience, not opinions of folks that haven't ridden the bike, please.

Would the Ultimate offer any (soft) off road ability, towpath, gravel etc (not hard mud plugging/slog or hard CX usage)?

 

 

You're trying to compare two entirely different types of bike. The Ultimate is a road bike, this is a gravel/adventure bike. Decide what riding you want to be doing and then choose the bike. 

Avatar
Rob S [6 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes

Rutland Cycling are doing the Datum 20 (the next one up in the range) for £1350 at the moment, which more than deals with the value for money qualms. I bought one a couple of weeks ago.

Avatar
alotronic [519 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes

Have 2015 model, really like it. Tiagra is very good, better than the 5700 series 105 anyway, though the crankset weighs a ton. Have an upgrade path planned starting with some lighter wheels, carbon seat post and new cranks.... then should be pretty much perfect. Will leave tiagra shifters in place until it wears out.

They have changed the two things I like least about the 2015 model too - the bars used to be these horrible cruved things, now a standard compact bar and the stock wheels (fulcrum db sports) are lardy. Would rather have the Kinlin 'Jalco' rims and formula hubs as specced here for sure.

Avatar
macbob [37 posts] 3 months ago
3 likes

First Brexit, then Trump, then an actual song winning the Eurovision Song Contest and now finally:

A 9.68 kilo bike, equipped with a Tiagra groupset and Tiagra level BR-405 brakes and costing just under £2000 has "a great value spec".

Post Truth has reached its apotheosis and the great road c.c. public are so brainwashed they lap it up.

Congratulations.

 

Avatar
hsiaolc [350 posts] 3 months ago
3 likes

Yes but who bran washed the great road c.c. public? Road C.C. 

Personally I believe there is some kind of colluding goign on between Mason and Road C. C and Bike Radar. 

Steel bike to get 5 star at that price range? hmmm 

Then the Broken (Bokeh) also get 5 star.  Just the price it demands can't be 5 star. 

But hey they can' give it 10 star and I still won't buy it and I won't recommend anyone else to do so. 

I take everything they review now with scepticism.

Avatar
joules1975 [460 posts] 3 months ago
4 likes
macbob wrote:

First Brexit, then Trump, then an actual song winning the Eurovision Song Contest and now finally:

A 9.68 kilo bike, equipped with a Tiagra groupset and Tiagra level BR-405 brakes and costing just under £2000 has "a great value spec".

Post Truth has reached its apotheosis and the great road c.c. public are so brainwashed they lap it up.

Congratulations.

 

 

I have for sale fantastic brand new road bike that has Shimano Ultegra eveything, and it's only £1000. The frame is carbon, not sure what exactly, but it's definately got some carbon in it, but you don't care about the frame, cause it has ultegra everything for just £1000, therefore it must be amazing!

News flash. Just cause you only look at what's hanging off the frame, doesn't mean the rest of us aren't interested in and appreciate the differences in frame quality etc.

 

Avatar
macbob [37 posts] 3 months ago
1 like

1) A well engineered frame is a lightweight frame.

2) Any idiot can design a heavy frame.

3) All carbon frames (nearly all) are made in the same two Taiwanese factories.

4) Painting the name of your favourite bike maker  importer on the frame doesn't make it better.

5) Just how do they make a carbon bike this heavy ? - my metal bikes weigh less - and cost less.

Avatar
macbob [37 posts] 3 months ago
4 likes

On the subject of weight, the bike is listed as 9.68 k at the top of the review and 10.46 k in the 'about the bike' section and 9.6 k in the text. One of those weights might even be right.

All of those weights are heavy for a two grand carbon bike.

Avatar
KiwiMike [1297 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes
macbob wrote:

On the subject of weight, the bike is listed as 9.68 k at the top of the review and 10.46 k in the 'about the bike' section and 9.6 k in the text. One of those weights might even be right.

All of those weights are heavy for a two grand carbon bike.

Just popped out to the workshop, it's definitely 9.6kg sans pedals.

 

Avatar
KiwiMike [1297 posts] 3 months ago
1 like
hsiaolc wrote:

Yes but who bran washed the great road c.c. public? Road C.C. 

Personally I believe there is some kind of colluding goign on between Mason and Road C. C and Bike Radar. 

Steel bike to get 5 star at that price range? hmmm 

Then the Broken (Bokeh) also get 5 star.  Just the price it demands can't be 5 star. 

But hey they can' give it 10 star and I still won't buy it and I won't recommend anyone else to do so. 

I take everything they review now with scepticism.

 

Dear Hsiaolc

I'm happy to advise you that there is zero collusion going on anywhere. I didn't ask for the bike, I was offered it to review as the Dirty Reiver was coming up. There was zero discussion between the distributor, the Road.cc editorial team, and myself. The words are my own, after thrashing it about for 6 weeks and a lot of miles, on and off road. FWIW I get paid as much for that review as I do for a £5 bottle of chainlube or inflator.

Road.cc has the most transparent model of any bike review site, in my view. Whilst any brand can buy clickfarmed reviews, the Road.cc methodology is as close as you'll get to asking a clubmate (but with a hell of a lot more ability to contrast with similar products). 

FWIW a product can be perfect - immaculate - but if the price is on-par with those *of a similar quality/function* then by definition it cannot get 5 stars, as it's not exemplary, it's average. 

Cheers

Mike

 

Avatar
BehindTheBikesheds [497 posts] 3 months ago
1 like

My converted Globe Expert with Miche triple chainset/Ultegra 6700 and 32 spoke wheels, 2 cages, 2 full length mudguards, Velocity pannier rack, a specialized MTB Airtool plus a brooks swift, oh AND XT pedals comes in at 9.8kg.

Let's breakdown the Datum;

hubs 563g + QR of around 120g, Rims 1050g, spokes+nips about 400g

rotors/bolts 240g (Based on actual weights of the rotors from the manufacturers)

So 2,373g just for the wheels, add on the 32mm clement tyres plus tubes, that's a whopping 3.3kg!

Tiagra Groupset 3000g incl 170g premium of hydraulic levers over std levers and disc brakes + KMC chain cut to length.

saddle/bars/stem/seatpost, around 1000g

Cables/tape 250g

That's 7.55kg right there, add in frame, fork, clamp, headset so possibly around the 2000g-2200g depending on the forks/type of carbon layup, add in pedals and you're easily toward the 10kg range.

it all adds up when you're producing a cheap frameset with lower end components, frankly the £1900 price tag is a joke, that the Road CC reviewer rated this bike as a 9/10 for value is way off and some!!

Avatar
gonedownhill [158 posts] 3 months ago
2 likes

I really like Road.cc's  reviews, they are about as in depth as they get. However the star rating system is basically meaningless. At present if you click on a bike review in a PC browser you get a sidebar of 15 other recent bike reviews, all of which are 4.5/5 stars or better rating.  Clearly on this particular review the rating is warranted if the reviewer has since bought one of these framesets, but just making the comment generally in response to the other comments above as I think it is an area the site could improve on.

 

I know that the arguement will be that a prospective buyer is likely to use the review itself rather than the star rating to buy a bike, but in that case the star rating is basically redundant isn't it? Or maybe just to draw the reader in.

Avatar
fluffed [31 posts] 3 months ago
1 like
olic wrote:

As far as I'm aware the canyon ultimate disc frameset is identical to the normal ultimate, in which case you'll struggle to get more than 25mm tyres on it. 

 

2017 Ultimates have increased clearance upto 30mm, even caliper versions supposedly, which probably means a 28mm Conti GP.

Avatar
macbob [37 posts] 3 months ago
3 likes

I'm sure there is no active collusion anywhere. There doesn't have to be. The bicycle industry and the bicycle media are interlocked in a symbiotc relationship - one reliant on the other.

There is nothing wrong with this. A cycle journalist has to have one foot in the manufacturers camp and one in the consumers. This admittedly uncomfortable position only goes wrong when the journalist forgets that it is the consumer who ultimately pays all the salaries, including the manufacturers and the journalists and deserves to be treated with respect. 

Anyone is entitled to their opinion and I realise that post-Brexit currency movements have made bikes much more expensive per se. So how about  acknowleding this fact and stop pretending that a heavy, underspecced bike is good value at just under two grand.

Avatar
macbob [37 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes

I'm sure there is no active collusion anywhere. There doesn't have to be. The bicycle industry and the bicycle media are interlocked in a symbiotc relationship - one reliant on the other.

There is nothing wrong with this. A cycle journalist has to have one foot in the manufacturers camp and one in the consumers. This admittedly uncomfortable position only goes wrong when the journalist forgets that it is the consumer who ultimately pays all the salaries, including the manufacturers and the journalists and deserves to be treated with respect. 

Anyone is entitled to their opinion and I realise that post-Brexit currency movements have made bikes much more expensive per se. So how about  acknowleding this fact and stop pretending that a heavy, underspecced bike is good value at just under two grand.

Avatar
KiwiMike [1297 posts] 3 months ago
5 likes

Wow. I've never seen people get so viscerally upset over perceived lack of value. Or take so much time to score perceived points. I really hate to break it to you, but many gravel bikes are well over 10kg, and over £2k for similar performance. Most punters don't care, because like most of us they are 10+ kg overweight and prioritise a comfortable, reliable, safe bike over a whippet-thin face-ripper. If you think the RRP isn't good value, just wait a few months.

I shouldn't take it personally, but when people are saying I'm on the take that rankles. Editorial policy forbids me using the sort of language I feel appropriate when accused of taking bribes for writing high-scoring reviews.

Chill out and go ride.

 

Mike

 

 

Avatar
KiwiMike [1297 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes
fluffed wrote:

2017 Ultimates have increased clearance upto 30mm, even caliper versions supposedly, which probably means a 28mm Conti GP.

 

Newsflash; 28mm is not Gravel. The Yltimate is not a comparable bike. 

Avatar
hsiaolc [350 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes

Fair enough. 

I take your word for it and weird I do believe you. 

Thanks for your correction. 

Avatar
Mystic Wind [1 post] 3 months ago
0 likes

FWIW, I have the 2016 version of the Datum 10 and I absolutely LOVE IT. 

The perceived compromise of the TRP HyRd brakes over full hydraulics is pretty much that - perceived, they had no problem stopping my 14 stone after a 40 mph descent at the weekend.

The bike is supremely comfortable - the only thing I've changed is the saddle (for a Charge Spoon), I think this year's model has the Spoon-like 'comfort' saddle anyway, rather than the flat hard thing that came with mine.

The Fulcrum Sport DB wheels seem fine (probably lighter than the ones on this year's model) and I'm quite impressed by the bottom-of-the-range (60tpi) Challenge Strada Bianca tyres too.

The new Tiagra has been faultless too (set up beautifully by the guys at 2pedalz in Olney), but the star is the frame - it is just so comfortable and confidence-inspiring without being boring.

If, like me, you're after one 'good bike' that'll do just about anything you ask of it then I can recommend a Datum, it will definitely put a smile on your face.

Oh, and I feel sorry for 2017 buyers - the pillar box red of my 2016 10 is just something else!

Avatar
hsiaolc [350 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes
KiwiMike wrote:
hsiaolc wrote:

Yes but who bran washed the great road c.c. public? Road C.C. 

Personally I believe there is some kind of colluding goign on between Mason and Road C. C and Bike Radar. 

Steel bike to get 5 star at that price range? hmmm 

Then the Broken (Bokeh) also get 5 star.  Just the price it demands can't be 5 star. 

But hey they can' give it 10 star and I still won't buy it and I won't recommend anyone else to do so. 

I take everything they review now with scepticism.

 

Dear Hsiaolc

I'm happy to advise you that there is zero collusion going on anywhere. I didn't ask for the bike, I was offered it to review as the Dirty Reiver was coming up. There was zero discussion between the distributor, the Road.cc editorial team, and myself. The words are my own, after thrashing it about for 6 weeks and a lot of miles, on and off road. FWIW I get paid as much for that review as I do for a £5 bottle of chainlube or inflator.

Road.cc has the most transparent model of any bike review site, in my view. Whilst any brand can buy clickfarmed reviews, the Road.cc methodology is as close as you'll get to asking a clubmate (but with a hell of a lot more ability to contrast with similar products). 

FWIW a product can be perfect - immaculate - but if the price is on-par with those *of a similar quality/function* then by definition it cannot get 5 stars, as it's not exemplary, it's average. 

Cheers

Mike

 

Fair enough. 

I take your word for it and weird I do believe you. 

Thanks for your correction.

 

Alumninum frame for over £2K before Brixit not something I will give 5 stars over.  Its not revolutionary anything but play with Geometry.  There is so much you can do with Geometry and much bigger companies knows and they are constantly going out their way to research for that extra specailness such as the new Specialised Roubaix (£2,700) for the frameset which I am more than happy to save up to buy. 

 

 

Avatar
hawkinspeter [773 posts] 3 months ago
2 likes
KiwiMike wrote:

Wow. I've never seen people get so viscerally upset over perceived lack of value. Or take so much time to score perceived points. I really hate to break it to you, but many gravel bikes are well over 10kg, and over £2k for similar performance. Most punters don't care, because like most of us they are 10+ kg overweight and prioritise a comfortable, reliable, safe bike over a whippet-thin face-ripper. If you think the RRP isn't good value, just wait a few months.

I shouldn't take it personally, but when people are saying I'm on the take that rankles. Editorial policy forbids me using the sort of language I feel appropriate when accused of taking bribes for writing high-scoring reviews.

Don't let them get you down. It doesn't make much sense to read road.cc reviews if you don't trust the reviewer, so I think it's more an issue of nit-picking than not trusting the reviewers.

Personally, I value road.cc reviews (even when it's for raceblade mudguards that always break). And Genesis make some lovely bikes.

Avatar
Kadinkski [682 posts] 3 months ago
0 likes
macbob wrote:

On the subject of weight, the bike is listed as 9.68 k at the top of the review and 10.46 k in the 'about the bike' section and 9.6 k in the text. One of those weights might even be right.

All of those weights are heavy for a two grand carbon bike.

It's so ridiculous how they don't correct their mistakes - utterly amatuerish.

Pages