Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Cannondale Integrated Headset Servicing

Got one of these on my Cannondale CAAD 12 & haven't touched it since I got the bike so figure it's about time it I regreased the headset. However I've no experience at all of the integrated headset setup.

Is it just a case of loosening the top cap with a 6mm allen key, unscrewing the bolt inside with a 5mm key, removing the expander "bung" & then taking off the bars? Everything the same as a "normal" headset after that in terms of dropping the forks out, bearings etc?

The other thing I noticed when I was looking at the Cannondale manual online is that it states clearly that there should be no spacers above the stem but mine came with 2 above it!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

8 comments

StraelGuy | 6 years ago
0 likes

I suspect he might mean the bit that looks like a split thin-walled tube with a rim aroung the top. It slides down the steerer to centre it in the headset.

ibr17xvii replied to StraelGuy | 6 years ago
0 likes

StraelGuy wrote:

I suspect he might mean the bit that looks like a split thin-walled tube with a rim aroung the top. It slides down the steerer to centre it in the headset.

Ah right, never heard it called that before!

Guess I just need to have a stab & get my LBS on standby if I stuff it up!

Nixster | 6 years ago
0 likes

A couple of tips from my experience:

The top bearing virtually lasts forever, the lower bearing not so much.  They can be bought separately, fortunately.  Not worth trying to refurb a gritty lower bearing IME.