Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Recommended alternative bike consumables

I got a reminder from Wiggle for Ultegra pads being back in stock. Fortunately, they'd run out again by the time I'd got there. Last year they were as rare as hen's teeth and it's not much better.

Anyway, in desperation last year I bought some cheap and cheerful pads off Amazon at £8.06 a pair - Wiggle wanted £32 after discount! Admittedly the Wiggle model were finned but for the majority of riding, that's not really going to help.

The model I chose were Vandorm Comp which were ceramic. I've been using them for about 3 months, seem to be wearing well, squeak-free. They've gone up a bit, now about £8.80, however just bought 4 more sets - that's 4 pairs for the price of 1 pair of top spec branded ones.

So, do you have any hot tips on no-name brands that are considerably discounted from the real thing but work just as well? I suggest the rule is you must have tried them out to give them a proper recommendation.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

10 comments

iandusud | 1 year ago
1 like

https://www.discobrakes.com/ for brake pads, shoes and more. Excellent quality, price and service in my experience.

NOtotheEU | 1 year ago
0 likes

I use Carboncycles.cc (or discobrakes, same company) for pads and I've also bought discs, stems, bars, suspension corrected rigid forks and miscellaneous bit and pieces. The price is very competitive and the parts are always top quality. 

I always use their sintered Deore style disc pads at £10.99 a pair or £32.89 for 4 pairs and they stop great and last forever although can be really noisy the first couple of uses on a wet ride. They go from £8.29 for semi metalic to £13.29 for copper free.

Their carbon parts are always rated highly and seem well priced but i've only ever bought alloy so no personal experience there.