Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Difficulty removing pedals on Boardman bike

I recently made the decision to switch to clipless pedals after 2/3 months of riding on the stock plastic flat pedals that came with my Boardman SLR 8.6 road bike. However, when I attempted to remove the pedals using a 6mm allen key, they would not loosen no matter how much force was applied (honestly they felt welded on)!

I know that the right pedal follows the standard 'righty, tighty, lefty loosely' rule, while the left is the opposite, but despite following this the pedals wouldn't shift at all.

As a complete novice when it comes to road bikes I fear I am doing something completely wrong and don't want to damage my bike.

Can anyone offer some advice?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

20 comments

Nick T | 3 years ago
0 likes

I once had to cut off the plastic pedal housing to expose the axle, remove the cranks and clamp the mostly rounded spanner flats into a solidly bench mounted vice then whack the shit out of it to release the fused screw threads

Oberon | 3 years ago
0 likes

I had the same problem recently with a BTwin bike. Using a Park Tool Pedal spanner, I still managed to round-off the pedal flats! Was thinking about drilling out the pedal, but found an easier solution: 1-2 litres of boiling water, which seemed to give enough expansion to free the thread. And to overcome the rounding, I had to use two pedal spanners side-by-side, which gave enough grip.

iso2000 | 3 years ago
0 likes
Gus T | 3 years ago
0 likes

I don't want to sound pompous but I think that the best thing to do is to invest in a good pedal spanner. In the meantime try putting some tubing over the hex key to get some more leverage. Stay safe.

Welsh boy replied to Gus T | 3 years ago
1 like

And what good would a pedal spanner be on a pedal which doesnt have spanner flats?