Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Chain slipping off cassette. Won't drive in any gear.

Hi all,

I am still fairly new to cycling. My bike has been in the shed for a while and I've now taken it indoors to use on my turbo trainer( direct drive)
I have set the bike up on the trainer, however when I try to pedal the chain just starts slipping and come off the cassette, I have tried setting it on each of the gears the chain just kind of grinds and slips off eventually at the bottom.I can't seem to get it to actually provide any drive. This is the same if I have the bike set up as or as not on the trainer.

Any advice or suggestions on how to fix this would be much appreciated.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

19 comments

Reddy90 | 3 years ago
1 like

Update: thanks for all your help, I have changed the cassette on the turbo trainer to one that is compatible with my chain. This issue with not being able to change gears has been solved, the internal rachet was stuck, stopping it from changing gears this is now being fixed

don simon fbpe replied to Reddy90 | 3 years ago
0 likes

I can't get my head around what has happened, but glad that it's sorted.

hawkinspeter | 3 years ago
1 like

Looks like a chain/cassette mismatch to me.

Reddy90 replied to Lance ꜱtrongarm | 3 years ago
0 likes

I belive the one on the trainer has more gears than the one on the back wheel. Will need to double check, but the same issue was happening with the back wheel but 2 of the gears did work.

Will try changing the cassettes over and see if that helps.

AlsoSomniloquism replied to Reddy90 | 3 years ago
0 likes

Looking at the video I agree with Nige. You probably have a 9-10 speed bike (look for Sora or Tiagra on the levers) and an 11 speed cassette in the trainer.