Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Am I in the wrong?

As I am sure most people do at some point, I have a voice in my head that often tells me I am wrong. It's especially loud the more inexperienced I am.

I have been cycling regularly for about 18 months now. I don't consider myself new, but I also don't know other people that regularly cycle - other than the good people on here.

There is a particular junction on my route home, where I cycle towards a joining road - my road sweeps hard left and they join right on the corner. It is Give Way for the joining traffic. I often am faced with cars not giving way. Twice now I have submitted footage to the police and twice they have rejected it. The last time was with the statement (I had to raise a complaint to get the statement): 

Quote:

The reported vehicle looked to pull away from the give way junction a long time before the reporting cyclist reaches the junction. The reporting cyclist rides straight at the "offending vehicle" whilst moving into the right-hand lane, the lane that the vehicle is already in. NFA on this occasion.

In my submission I made it clear that I was braking before the car pulled out, but had to brake hard (my back wheel locked) as the car swung out to cover both lanes, leaving me with no where to go.

As the police have done nothing, I have uploaded it to YouTube, to ensure other cyclists can see what is going on.
The internet being the lovely place it is, has given me this comment on the video:

Quote:

Another trouble making cyclist. U turned a complete non event into something. Could've just slowed ever so slightly but nope you needed something to upload?

My question is/are - should I have slowed a lot more and given way to the car? If the car had indeed pulled away from the junction "a long time" before I got there, surely I wouldn't have needed to brake at all, nevermind braking then hard braking?