Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Cyclist's Output Power

In stage 18 of the Giro, Nibali pedaled vertically for 1000 metres in 45 minutes.
By my calculation, using the formula;
power(watts)=mass(kg) x g(gravitational acceleration=9.8met/sec2) x height(metres), divided by time(seconds), and allowing an extra 20% for windage and rolling resistance, a 70kg rider(+bike) would work at an average rate of 304 watts. Does this sound right? Impressive since my horse weighs about 500kg.

Question for those of you who actually race; if two cyclists are on the road and one is slipstreaming the other, does the front rider get ANY benefit from having the second rider being there. (I'm thinking of some sort of bow wave effect).

My apologies if these subjects have been covered before, I'm relatively new to road.cc

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

6 comments

tony kappler | 10 years ago
0 likes

Sorry, my horse reference related to the fact that one horsepower equals 746 watts; At 500kg, this is 1.5 W/kg;
pathetic effort.

vorsprung | 10 years ago
0 likes

http://analyticcycling.com/ All the calculations you need for these sort of the questions and more

I am 83kg and generate about 200W. I think that's why I am a bit slower than the Pros  4

arrieredupeleton | 10 years ago
0 likes

Gkam's added the weight of the bike as well I think. But the watts per kg figure excludes the bike. So I think the right power output is 337.2 Watts if we use Gkam's figures.

However, your man above ^^ reckons Nibali's output for the first part of the TT was 6.22 w/kg or 373.2 watts. Even for the last 6.4km it only fell to 361 watts. In other words, he rode it f**king hard but measures his effort really well.

I am inclined to agree with Nibbles re power meters but there is no doubt they are useful in some applications - especially for uphill TTs!