Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

old bike worth restoring ???

Hi , I’m new to cycling and instead of going out and buying a new bike I thought id repair this bike that was in the garage of a property I bought and try it out before spending big money . I’ve cleaned it up, stuck some tires and some new cables on it but the back tire was rubbing on the frame. I stuck a bit of lead under the axel which gives it about 1mm clearance and id 40 miles on it without dying. Ill add some picture, if anyone can tell me what is wrong and if it’s worth me spending any money to fix it up properly that would be great.

I believe it is a claud butler, looking online I think it’s about 1998

Reynolds 653 frame 

Campagnolo avanti groupset

Mavic cxp 10 rims

Any help would be much appreciated

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

25 comments

David9694 | 4 years ago
0 likes

You’ve presumably already found this ad, which lists some original components: https://picclick.co.uk/CLAUD-BUTLER-PROFESSIONAL-Road-Racing-Bike-Reynol...

I don’t doubt that your tyres say they are 20mm, but as was suggested earlier, some makers can be a bit creative in this area and as it’s a few mm that represents the difference between success and failure... anyway, read all about it here:

https://www.sheldonbrown.com/tire-sizing.html

Re reading this thread, it’s also sounding like you may be struggling a bit with getting the rear wheel in and out? I find on my bike with these dropouts that the plastic end of the QR skewer hits the circular housing where the derailleur bolt is. If you unscrew remove the skewer completely you should find that the wheel goes in without too much bother.

If you’re  having seriously to pull the two back ends outward to get the wheel in, or otherwise wrestle with it, that could point To another issue.