Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

First Road Bike purchase

Hiya Folks,

I'm looking to get my first road bike and have been looking at the facebook marketplace for this. What bikes should I be looking for? Keep in mind that I am a student so am looking in the £100 - £200 price range. 

Additionally, I have found a Cube Peloton 2014 for sale for £190 which appears in good condition and I'm wondering whether people would think it's a good purchase for my first. I also intend to deliveroo on this bike in the city if that's information of any use.

Thanks!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

5 comments

Boatsie | 4 years ago
1 like

2 month post. Maybe you found a bike?
Different continent yet here there's loads of smooth beautiful lightweight bikes between $100 $250 on gum tree.
No one seems to want them.. They remain advertised a while (an opinion).
I love them.. There was a free Avanti, that went quick, read to need a lube or something like that.
There's a carbon bike at $250.
Delivery use and gutter rolling needs, road bikes with v-brakes or cantilever brakes tend to allow slightly larger tyres. Really useful.
Bikes around early nineties are my preference.
They feel light, they're running gear is usually cheaper to service. They're just as easy to service. They're proper road bikes. Not gutter humping bump machines. Bikes with vbrakes, cantilevers will probably allow wider tyres to do such if that's part of the need.

Kieran0885 | 4 years ago
0 likes

Either carrera if you want new and it’s on offer or second bargains like that cube a plenty on eBay. If buying second hand and are going to be relying on it for deliveroo then a good checkover at a bike shop wouldn’t go amiss. 

mtbtomo | 4 years ago
0 likes