Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Gearbox oil

Hi peeps,

Just canvassing opinion on what lube to use through winter. I've been using squirt for a few years now, and its great until the gritters come out. I find it just doesn't cut it when the road is salty, and the chain rusts pretty quickly. Especially when commuting as I don't have time to clean it at work. As a summer lube though, its fantastic and my chain has done 3500 miles with only 0.5 stretch. Now onto winter lube recommendations.

A mate of mine swears by gearbox oil, saying it does 50k miles in a car, so why wouldn't it be good on a bike. It is tempting as 1 litre is about £7, and this amount would probably last a lifetime. Anyone any experience of it, or any other lube recommendations? I've tried muc-off wet lubes, and the c3, but found they didn't last long either.
Thanks in advance

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

24 comments

Simon E | 6 years ago
0 likes

I've used Green Oil year-round, applied sparingly with an old toothbrush to the inside run of the chain. Clean it up with a squirt of WD-40 on an old t-shirt then reapply the lube. Regular lubing, and not putting the bike away soaking wet overnight, seems to keep rust away through the winter. But I might try olive oil now, or even petroleum jelly...

abusivemonk | 6 years ago
0 likes

I've just done a check of the amount of lubes I've tried and used in the past. It's safe to sat I won't go without this winter. I have 8 more of less full bottles of lube to go at. I have a mixture of dry, wet, wax and ceramic to have go at. I won't buy any more until I've used these up.

Welsh boy replied to abusivemonk | 6 years ago
4 likes

abusivemonk wrote: