Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

New Here; Some advice please. Replacement bike (and what to do with the old one!)

Hi there, new to these forums, please be gentle.

I started riding Road Bikes in 2011. I wasn't sure I would like them, having always ridden mountain bikes from a young age, but I had started commuting every day across London and wanted something quicker than my old, knackered Halfords Apollo.

I started small, with a (also Halfords) Carrera TDF, and I loved that little bike. It was cheap, did exactly what I needed and it got me into bikes in a much more serious way.

Eventually in 2015 I upgraded significantly and bought a Specialized Allez Comp to replace it with, and rode that until last year when a car pulled out of a side road in front of me without looking and totalled it.

The replacement for this was an amazing bike; a Specialized Allez SL DSW (2017).

I only had that one since October, but two weeks ago another collision; this time an Uber driver turning right (right into me) as I was going ahead.

The money for that crash is going to finance its' replacement, but now I am unsure what to do.

I only have space in my already crowded London house for one bike. I cannot store two. This has become painfully apparent to me this week whilst a friend has leant me their hybrid to use whilst mine is off the road.

Therefore I would like another Road Bike, with an endurance build as opposed to race, with disc brakes and fittings for mudguards. This will be used for both commuting every day as well as taking out on the weekend occasionally and the odd sportive.

I know straight away you will say that I shouldn't use a good Road Bike for commuting, and in an ideal world I would agree with you and own two bikes, but I cannot as stated above. I only have the space for one.

So what would be your suggestions for its replacement? Ideally I would like to spend about £1000 (though less is always nice!) but can go higher if necessary.