Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Which bike?

I've been riding for a few years now, but have had a steel light tourer for most of it. I want a lighter more fun bike for the evening ride. So I've been looking at bikes at around 1500 in my LBS.

I have a choice of 4 -
Giant Defy advanced 1
Bianchi Intrepida 105
Cannondale Synapse carbon 105
Trek Domane 4.3

What are your thoughts and which one would you choose?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

7 comments

Daveyraveygravey | 7 years ago
0 likes

Not in your list, but I have  a Propel.  I love the thing, did an Everesting on it last year, 27 hours all told, so comfy enough!  My logic before I bought it was I don't do many 100 mile rides a year, maybe 5 or 6.  I do however do hundreds of 1-2 hour rides, and 50 or so 3 hour rides.  It doesn't have to be as comfy as a sofa for most of the time, but luckily it works ok for me on longer rides.

I found Evans the best place for trying before I bought, you have to book the ride and pay a deposit etc, but they can get pretty much anything they have in the warehouse in any of their stores in under a week.

At the time, there was nothing else that looked as good as the Propel.  It had full Ultegra, and the own brand wheels and tyres have been as good as anything else I could have got at the time.   

Ogi | 7 years ago
0 likes

All similar bikes - endurance category. As people mentioned it here, try them out if possible.

If not, looks/current price can swing it either way...

Vejnemojnen | 7 years ago
0 likes

Synapse.

Velo_Dom | 7 years ago
1 like

its not your list, but the Cannondale CAAD12 105 

Mikerammell | 7 years ago
0 likes

I've just had by Cannondale  Synapse 105 (Ally disc) written off being hit by a car. Loved it! Very stiff. The carbon version can only be better.