Home
Verdict: 
A tough winter tyre that can be ridden year-round thanks to its speed and grip credentials
Weight: 
275g
Vittoria Corsa Control G+ Isotech foldable tyre
9 10

The Corsa Control G+ is the beefed-up version of Vittoria's well-respected Corsa G+. They're a great alternative to many winter-specific tyres, offering levels of rolling resistance and grip seen on your summer lightweights without compromising durability.

  • Pros: Excellent grip levels wet or dry, puncture resistance
  • Cons: Pricey, firm ride compared with standard Corsa G+

The Corsa G+ came out just over a year ago, designed for tackling greasy cobbles and rough roads according to Vittoria, while still offering low rolling resistance and therefore speed. It's become a firm favourite among the amateur ranks and pros alike for its performance and robustness.

> Find your nearest dealer here

> Buy these online here

The new Corsa Control G+ that we've got here has a few extra tweaks which makes this model even more appealing for the British weather and road conditions that we tend to endure, not just in the winter but all year round. I'll get to those in a minute.

The Corsa Control G+ uses the same 320tpi (threads per inch) Corespun-K casing as the Corsa G+, which gives a very supple tyre as the higher density (you'd normally expect somewhere between 60 and 150tpi for this kind of tyre) allows for more movement in the sidewall to absorb small road imperfections and reduce rolling resistance. This suppleness also lets the tyre transfer more information back through the bike to the rider, so you can better feel the levels of grip on offer.

You may have heard the word graphene being bandied about in the cycle industry over the past year or so, with various applications of this oft-touted wonder material being put into production. Graphene is a form of carbon fibre that is the thinnest and strongest material yet known to man. It's harder than a diamond, 300,000 times stronger than steel and extremely light. And it's just one atom thick.

Vittoria uses graphene called G+Isotech, which is two to eight atoms thin and developed with its technology partner Directa Plus. It's a powder that's added to the rubber and other materials to create the various compounds.

Vittoria says that by using graphene in its tyres they have lower rolling resistance, and increased grip, durability and wear resistance thanks to the material's properties. Whether this is true or not is difficult to quantify by riding on the road, but these Corsa Control G+ tyres really are very good right across the board.

Grip is up there with the best I've found, especially in the wet; riding on a damp surface didn't affect my levels of confidence in them at all. You can still put in some decent lean angles without fear of the tyres disappearing out from underneath you.

Vittoria uses four different compounds around the tyre and like virtually every other manufacturer its ingredients aren't something they are willing to share, other than the graphene, obviously.

The centre of the tread uses a harder compound for lower rolling resistance and durability. As your bike spends most of its life upright and travelling in a straight line, this means the tyre can cover more mileage and any effect on grip is minimal. Climbing steep, wet hills weren't afflicted with much in the way of wheelspin.

The Corsas roll very well, and offer the performance of many lightweight summer tyres I've ridden.

For the shoulders you get a softer setup which gives more grip – more grip than the herringbone pattern that has been added to the tread will bring to the mix. The standard Corsa G+ doesn't have this.

> Buyer's Guide: 15 of the best winter tyres

Being an 'open tubular' (the tyres are handmade and created just like a tubular, without being sewn up) the rubber compound is bonded to the casing and on these it is a little wider than on the original Corsas. This means when it is fitted to the wheel there is more coverage over the shoulders to give even more sidewall protection.

The actual rubber compound is thicker too, by 0.4mm, for added puncture protection, coupled with the breaker belt beneath the tread. This extra bit of depth does mean the Corsa Control G+ feels firmer to ride than the equivalent Corsa G+ model so you lose a little of the comfort. As I've already mentioned, though, the high tpi count still makes these tyres much more comfortable than many designed for poor conditions. And I've had no visits from the puncture fairy.

Durability does look to be pretty good too. It's been hedge cutting season during the test period, plus I've done loads of wet rides, and they haven't picked up any cuts or nicks (or punctures).

Cost-wise, these tyres are pretty expensive at £54.99 each, although if you look around online you'll find them much cheaper at £41.99 (see the 'buy this online' link above). At rrp they're in line with Continental's Grand Prix 4 Season (£54.99 rrp), but you can find the Contis for around £30.99 online, and they're a lot more expensive than Michelin's Power All Seasons at £32.99.

Weight is pretty similar to those two, coming in at 275g for the 25mm model, and they are also available in a 28mm width.

On the whole, the Corsa Control G+ tyres are really good all-rounders, ideal if you want a quick, grippy, hardwearing set of tyres for year-round use not just winter. Especially at a reduced price.

Verdict

A tough winter tyre that can be ridden year-round thanks to its speed and grip credentials

road.cc test report

Make and model: Vittoria Corsa Control G+ Isotech foldable tyre

Size tested: 700 X 25C

Tell us what the product is for

Vittoria says, "The Corsa Control tackles greasy cobbles and rough roads with all the confidence of the classic Corsa. Sharing the same 320 TPI Corespun-K reinforced casing, and 4C Graphene G+ compound, the Corsa Control adds a textured shoulder tread. This pattern adds dynamic performance, allowing for increased grip on slippery surfaces, as well as added durability."

A more robust and durable version of the excellent Corsa G+.

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

Vittoria lists:

- Wear resistant tread with low rolling resistance

- PRB 2.0 breaker for excellent flat protection

- Foldable and rigid version available

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
8/10
Rate the product for performance:
 
9/10
Rate the product for durability:
 
9/10
Rate the product for weight (if applicable)
 
8/10
Rate the product for comfort (if applicable)
 
7/10
Rate the product for value:
 
6/10

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

Excellent grip levels regardless of the road conditions, and durability is impressive.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

Wet weather grip.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

Pricey at full rrp.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes

Would you consider buying the product? Yes, if I could find them for a cheaper price.

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes

Use this box to explain your overall score

You can get cheaper but if you want a tyre that is robust, grippy in all weathers and still rolls like a summer racer then the Corsa Control G+ is a must. It's only the high rrp and slightly firm ride that stops these from getting full marks.

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 38  Height: 180cm  Weight: 76kg

I usually ride: This month's test bike  My best bike is: Kinesis Aithein

I've been riding for: 10-20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Expert

I regularly do the following types of riding: time trialling, commuting, club rides, sportives, fixed/singlespeed

Stu knocked out his first road.cc review back in 2009 and since then he's chucked the best part of seventy test bikes around the West Country, a couple of them quite literally! With three alloy and two steel bikes in his fleet he's definitely a metal man (that'll be the engineering background) but is slowly warming to that modern carbon fibre stuff along with fat tyres & disc brakes.
It's not all nostalgia though, after spending the last few years in product design Stu keeps banging on about how 3D printing is going to be the next big thing and he's a sucker for a beautiful paint job too.

24 comments

Avatar
Rapha Nadal [847 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes

Tan walls on a winter tyre?  Nah.

Avatar
fukawitribe [2439 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes
Rapha Nadal wrote:

Tan walls on a winter tyre?  Nah.

It's not intended as a 'winter tyre' per se, just a tougher version of the Corsa G+ from what Vittoria seem to say. It's also available with black side-walls.

Avatar
Rapha Nadal [847 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes

Is it?  The black sidewalls are certainly of interest then!  The older versions were fantastic.

Avatar
fukawitribe [2439 posts] 7 months ago
1 like
Rapha Nadal wrote:

Is it?  The black sidewalls are certainly of interest then!  The older versions were fantastic.

Aye, and Sigma Sports has the Control G+ for just over 40 quid at the moment but there's a reasonable amount of stock elsewhere too.

 

https://www.sigmasport.co.uk/item/Vittoria/Corsa-Control-Gand-Isotech-Fo...

Avatar
BehindTheBikesheds [2018 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes

No lighter nor better rolling or puncture protective than a Giant branded PSL2 folder in 28mm guise. I've got both and the Giant certainly has more meat in the centre of the tread and I've yet to have a puncture on that in circa 1000 miles on the front (Specialized Pro Armadillo on the rear)

My mistake, this is different to the Corsa G+ I have, not seeing how a re-enfrced tyre that is a 'winter' version and tougher than the G+ can be lighter though. My G+ 28mm weighs in at 280ish

Avatar
shawdogg [20 posts] 7 months ago
1 like

Had a pair of 28mm Corsa G+ tyres on this summer (March to September ish) and in terms of comfort, grip and rolling resistance they were the best I have found so far (have previously used GP4000 sii and Schwalbe Ones). HOWEVER my rear tyre had lots of cuts in by the end of the season and I actually had to switch it for my winter tyre a couple of weeks earlier than intended due to punctures starting to occur. Interested in trying these out though if the price comes down nearer the £30 mark.

Avatar
sammutd88 [86 posts] 7 months ago
1 like

Using these at the moment in the 25c size with black sidewalls. Look great.  Like the original Corsa G+, these measure 27mm on a 17c inner width rim. Ride is slightly harder than original I’d agree, but they seem very resistant to cuts compared to the original. I also never thought the original corsa g+ had the floatiest ride even with latex tubes. Veloflex and Pirelli seemed more supple in my opinion. I also never liked the “sound” the originals make when rolling, these don’t seem to. To me it looks as though the centre tread lines are not cut as deep as in the original Corsa which probably helps reducing cuts and sound. Grip is excellent. I bought them for the same price online as the original Corsa’s. No punctures in 600km and no visible wear other than could be expected. 

Avatar
BehindTheBikesheds [2018 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes

I just tried my 28mm Corsa G on a 17mm Mavic rim and it came up well short at 26.75mm, frankly I'm very dissapointed with it, I won't be wasting my money on another, over-rated and over priced for the reality of what you're getting.

I hope others have better fortunes with this variant but I guess if you're coming from a low level to start it will seem like a good tyre, for me it really isn't all that.

Avatar
Yorkshire wallet [2046 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes

Car tyres seem cheap in comparision to bike tyres and their length of use. 

Avatar
fukawitribe [2439 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes
BehindTheBikesheds wrote:

I just tried my 28mm Corsa G on a 17mm Mavic rim and it came up well short at 26.75mm, frankly I'm very dissapointed with it, I won't be wasting my money on another, over-rated and over priced for the reality of what you're getting.

I hope others have better fortunes with this variant but I guess if you're coming from a low level to start it will seem like a good tyre, for me it really isn't all that.

Interesting.. 17mm external or internal rim width ? 

 

Avatar
BehindTheBikesheds [2018 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes
fukawitribe wrote:
BehindTheBikesheds wrote:

I just tried my 28mm Corsa G on a 17mm Mavic rim and it came up well short at 26.75mm, frankly I'm very dissapointed with it, I won't be wasting my money on another, over-rated and over priced for the reality of what you're getting.

I hope others have better fortunes with this variant but I guess if you're coming from a low level to start it will seem like a good tyre, for me it really isn't all that.

Interesting.. 17mm external or internal rim width ? 

 

Internal, Mavic T215, tried it on a Mavic SSC (2001), Open Pro ceramic and Velocity A23, the Giant comes up at least a mm wider on every rim I've tried, the kevlar bead appears to me to be superior and more flexible than the one on the Vit right out the box as it were. 

Whilst the tread thickness is more on this tyre I can't see it being any thicker than the Giant given how much thicker it is than the std G+. I bagged a couple of  NOS for £25 and will snap them up if I see them, I was hoping the Corsa would work as a front for a light flat bar build with a bit more comfort using a 33mm NOS Vredstein Ricorso on the back but it looks like the Giant at least is going to be used instead.

If it weren't for the fact I got the Vit using Evans vouchers I got through Tesco clubcard I'd be really pissed at wasting the money.

Avatar
fukawitribe [2439 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes
BehindTheBikesheds wrote:
fukawitribe wrote:
BehindTheBikesheds wrote:

I just tried my 28mm Corsa G on a 17mm Mavic rim and it came up well short at 26.75mm, frankly I'm very dissapointed with it, I won't be wasting my money on another, over-rated and over priced for the reality of what you're getting.

I hope others have better fortunes with this variant but I guess if you're coming from a low level to start it will seem like a good tyre, for me it really isn't all that.

Interesting.. 17mm external or internal rim width ? 

 

Internal, Mavic T215, tried it on a Mavic SSC (2001), Open Pro ceramic and Velocity A23, the Giant comes up at least a mm wider on every rim I've tried, the kevlar bead appears to me to be superior and more flexible than the one on the Vit right out the box as it were. 

Whilst the tread thickness is more on this tyre I can't see it being any thicker than the Giant given how much thicker it is than the std G+. I bagged a couple of  NOS for £25 and will snap them up if I see them, I was hoping the Corsa would work as a front for a light flat bar build with a bit more comfort using a 33mm NOS Vredstein Ricorso on the back but it looks like the Giant at least is going to be used instead.

If it weren't for the fact I got the Vit using Evans vouchers I got through Tesco clubcard I'd be really pissed at wasting the money.

Weird - everywhere i've heard the width of the Corsa G+ mentioned in 25mm form, they've come up wide ** (in this sort of width rim), odd that the 28mm ones come up so narrow even given the slightly enhanced light-bulbing they'd have over the 25mm. Mind if I ask what's the height on these on your rim ? Cheers

 

** 

Quote:

The Vittoria Corsa G+ tyres are also exceptionally wide for “25mm” tyres, coming out at 27mm when measured on our stock rim. Significantly wider than Bontrager, which at 24mm are also sold as 25mm. Interestingly, the 23mm tyre comes out wide too, at around 24.5mm.

http://www.cyclingweekly.com/reviews/tyres/vittoria-corsa-g-plus-tyres

Quote:

Our 25mm tyres felt much wider, to the extent where we checked we weren’t riding 28s by mistake.  http://www.bikeradar.com/road/gear/category/components/tyres/road/produc...

Quote:

As previously mentioned, the claimed weight of the 25-622 version of the Corsa G+ is 240 grams. My sample came in at 255 grams; this is quite a bit higher than specified. Most of its direct competitors come in closer to 220-240 grams. The maximum width at an air pressure of 100 psi, on a 17C rim, is 27 mm. The measured height is 24 mm.

https://www.bicyclerollingresistance.com/road-bike-reviews/vittoria-cors...

Quote:

At 25mm wide, coming up something nearer 27mm mounted on the Quranos, I felt I could happily run the Corsas at 90psi without fear of pinch-flats, and so it proved to be.
http://www.cyclist.co.uk/reviews/1321/vittoria-qurano-60-wheel-and-corsa...

Avatar
powergoose [9 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes

I had a pair of the standard version with the much-vaunted "wonder material" graphene.  FIVE punctures in 2 months !

Avatar
BikeJon [210 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes

Are they tubeless compatible?

Avatar
fukawitribe [2439 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes
BikeJon wrote:

Are they tubeless compatible?

The only Corsa that is currently tubeless ready is the Corsa Speed TLR alas.

Avatar
gunswick [131 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes

Assuming not, as it wasn't mentioned, but are these tubeless capable?

Avatar
Kadinkski [780 posts] 7 months ago
1 like

Yes, they're tubless ready. I only ride tubless these days, and these are fantastic.

Avatar
sammutd88 [86 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes
Kadinkski wrote:

Yes, they're tubless ready. I only ride tubless these days, and these are fantastic.

Incorrect. These are clincher only. As previously stated, only the Corsa Speed are tubeless compatible. 

Avatar
Rapha Nadal [847 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes
BehindTheBikesheds wrote:
fukawitribe wrote:
BehindTheBikesheds wrote:

I just tried my 28mm Corsa G on a 17mm Mavic rim and it came up well short at 26.75mm, frankly I'm very dissapointed with it, I won't be wasting my money on another, over-rated and over priced for the reality of what you're getting.

I hope others have better fortunes with this variant but I guess if you're coming from a low level to start it will seem like a good tyre, for me it really isn't all that.

Interesting.. 17mm external or internal rim width ? 

 

Internal, Mavic T215, tried it on a Mavic SSC (2001), Open Pro ceramic and Velocity A23, the Giant comes up at least a mm wider on every rim I've tried, the kevlar bead appears to me to be superior and more flexible than the one on the Vit right out the box as it were. 

Those are pretty old rims so unlikely to be 17mm internal.  Mavic only did this in recent years to follow the trend.  Sure they're not the older 14-15mm internal widths?

Avatar
BehindTheBikesheds [2018 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes
Rapha Nadal wrote:
BehindTheBikesheds wrote:
fukawitribe wrote:
BehindTheBikesheds wrote:

I just tried my 28mm Corsa G on a 17mm Mavic rim and it came up well short at 26.75mm, frankly I'm very dissapointed with it, I won't be wasting my money on another, over-rated and over priced for the reality of what you're getting.

I hope others have better fortunes with this variant but I guess if you're coming from a low level to start it will seem like a good tyre, for me it really isn't all that.

Interesting.. 17mm external or internal rim width ? 

 

Internal, Mavic T215, tried it on a Mavic SSC (2001), Open Pro ceramic and Velocity A23, the Giant comes up at least a mm wider on every rim I've tried, the kevlar bead appears to me to be superior and more flexible than the one on the Vit right out the box as it were. 

Those are pretty old rims so unlikely to be 17mm internal.  Mavic only did this in recent years to follow the trend.  Sure they're not the older 14-15mm internal widths?

I didn't say they were all 17mm internal just the T215, the point being that not only does it come up well short compared to its stated width on a reasonably wide rim, it's also coming up a good 1mm smaller than another 28mm tyre (Giant P-SL2 in my case) on narrower rims that used to be the std BITD.

Comparing tyres on the same rims no matter what the width and with the same tube and same inflation amount and using digital calipers is pretty much THE test to compare to see how wide tyres actually are in use.

In this case the Corsa G+ 28mm (not the control version here) does not meet spec, in fact it falls woefully short, not only that but the tread thickness is a lot less than the Giant and has noticebly less flexibility in the kevlar bead, it rolls no better and is the same weight, so for me I wouldn't go back to the inferior tyre and I'll stick with a tyre that so far hasn't let me down and gives good comfort and matches closer to its actual stated width than a higher end tyre that is supposed to be something great, for this rider it isn't.

As I said before I can't see how the G+ 'Control' can be the weight they've said it is in the article here if they've added more meat to the tread and everything else is the same, it's also not going to have any more tread thickness than the Giant given the disparity between the std G+ and the Giant as it is. That's why I'd rather snap up the Giant and never use the Vit unless somehow I'd run out of other options.

Avatar
fukawitribe [2439 posts] 7 months ago
0 likes

BTBS - the weight shown at in the article is wrong according to Vittoria. The Corsa G+ is 255/270g for the 25/28mm versions, and the Corsa Control G+ is 265/280g in the 25/28mm ones, i.e. 10g heavier per tyre, both obviously being claimed weights.

https://www.vittoria.com/tire/corsa-control-2/

https://www.vittoria.com/tire/corsa-open/

 

As for the width, the reason I asked is that i'm after a set of the straight Corsa G+ for Christmas and was debating the 25mm vs 28mm versions. My frame will take a 27mm Pave for sure and probably a 'true' 28mm tyre on my 17mm internal rim wheels - but a large 28mm might be too tight. What you said seemed at odds with all the other reported sizing for these tyres i've seen, basically your 28mm were measuring what others 25mm were coming up as on wider (17-19mm) rims and I thought i'd check whether your sub-27mm width was on a narrow rim or not (if it was, the 28mm might not be a worth gambling on for me - if so, might be).

Avatar
Miller [117 posts] 5 months ago
0 likes
sammutd88 wrote:

Incorrect. These are clincher only. As previously stated, only the Corsa Speed are tubeless compatible. 

It's nuts that this tyre isn't tubeless especially now that Vittoria have dipped their toe into that pond. Maybe they'll get round to releasing a tubeless version.

 

Avatar
sammutd88 [86 posts] 5 months ago
0 likes
Miller wrote:
sammutd88 wrote:

Incorrect. These are clincher only. As previously stated, only the Corsa Speed are tubeless compatible. 

It's nuts that this tyre isn't tubeless especially now that Vittoria have dipped their toe into that pond. Maybe they'll get round to releasing a tubeless version.

 

 

Not disagreeing with you. I just think certain companies aren't THAT interested in tubeless (ie Continental). Maybe Vittoria have done their research and the Corsa Speed just doesn't sell that well. Theres not much rubber on them and they are pretty pricey. I think to be hinest, it was an experiment for them to just make the fastest tyre possible, which theoretically has to be tubeless.

Avatar
Chris Hayes [251 posts] 5 months ago
0 likes

Mine have literally disintegrated - the tan wall came away from the beading at the rim - I'd hesitate before I bought these again...