Home
Verdict: 
Packed full of features, great menu design, but not quite at Garmin's level
Weight: 
104g
Wahoo ELEMNT GPS Bike Computer
8 10

The Wahoo ELEMNT offers a good alternative to Garmin's dominance but for some key elements. In terms of screen quality, navigation and size, it is still behind, but quickly catching up.

The Wahoo ELEMNT is the US company's long-awaited move into fully functional bike computers, usable as a standalone unit. We have previously looked at the Wahoo RFLKT, which essentially displays what's on your smartphone, but the ELEMNT offers the company's first fully integrated offering, even if it still lacks a vowel. 

> Find your nearest dealer here

The GPS bike computer market is one that has been long dominated by Garmin and with the company releasing its Edge 820 (see my first thoughts on it here), the market is at its most competitive. So how does the ELEMNT compare? 

Data and how it is presented is always the core function of a bike computer, and the ELEMNT excels at this; it seems like this is something Wahoo has really concentrated on. Along the lefthand side of the unit there are a number of LED lights that help to keep you in specific zones – power, cadence, pace etc. It is also quick to see more or less data, simply through pressing up or down on the two buttons on the side.

Wahoo Element GPS Bike Computer - on bars.jpg

Wahoo Element GPS Bike Computer - on bars.jpg

In terms of accuracy, I found that it was consistent in terms of speed, cadence, heart rate and metres climbed, although sometimes the gradient took some time to catch up compared with the two other computers I was using at the same time.

Another important feature of the unit is the GPS and routing capabilities. Here the unit is okay, although it is not at the same level as Garmin, with a simple navigation format consisting of a map with a highlighted route and a red LED showing on the unit if you are off this route. Unlike Garmin, the ELEMNT doesn't have turn-by-turn navigation, but you can do this through connection to apps on your phone which communicate with the unit. However, I found that this would drain the battery on my phone, so not an ideal solution.

Wahoo Element GPS Bike Computer - side.jpg

Wahoo Element GPS Bike Computer - side.jpg

One thing that is a great feature is that after creating a route on Strava, it automatically loads the route to your unit, making it really easy to quickly create a new route to follow. At the tail end of the review period, Wahoo also included Strava live segments, where it is simple to choose which segments you are targeting on Strava, which then show up on the unit and instantly show your results.

The screen is fairly large, offering a decent amount of display space, but it is only black and white, with basic use of pixels. It is still simple to see the maps and data, though, and far better than many others I have used in the past. It isn't touchscreen, unlike offerings from Garmin. It comes with three mounts, one attached through zip ties, one for TT bars and another out-front mount; these all held it in place well and I never felt like it was unstable.

Wahoo Element GPS Bike Computer - mount.jpg

Wahoo Element GPS Bike Computer - mount.jpg

Customising the unit is done through your phone, with the partner app easy to use, and pairing the two is perhaps the easiest I have found, simply using a QR code on the computer. The transfer from computer to phone and apps is simple, and within a minute of finishing a ride everything is uploaded to Strava or whichever app you choose. Connections on the device include Bluetooth and ANT+, and both are really simple.

The unit itself could perhaps be smaller, measuring 57.5 x 90.5 x 21.2mm and weighing 105g, but the screen is only 68.6mm, leaving a sizeable buffer around the edge. This has some use in incorporating the LEDs on the left, although it looks bulky on your handlebar. It is controlled by six buttons, two up/down on the right, three across the bottom and the on/off button on the top left. They are easy to use both with and without gloves and Wahoo has clearly put a lot of thought into their design. These are used to control every element of the unit and the bottom three buttons change use based on what you are doing at that time, with the up/down buttons allowing for more/less information to be shown and the on/off button also accessing the settings menu.

> Read our buyer's guide to the best GPS computers

In terms of pricing, the unit comes in with an RRP of £249.99, which is steep for a computer with a black and white, non-touchscreen screen. The new Garmin 820 is £80 more, but offers turn-by-turn navigation, full colour and a high pixel touchscreen.

Wahoo Element GPS Bike Computer - box open.jpg

Wahoo Element GPS Bike Computer - box open.jpg

Overall, the ELEMNT brings together some really good features, such as the easy to use buttons, strong Strava integration and innovative use of LED lights. It is on the large side and is a big outlay for what it is, but if you want to get a bike computer that isn't a Garmin, you certainly won't be disappointed. It is also worth noting that the unit is improving all the time, and Wahoo is well known for frequent updates, so it is drawing closer, in terms of software, to Garmin's standard.

Verdict

Packed full of features, great menu design, but not quite at Garmin's level

road.cc test report

Make and model: Wahoo ELEMNT GPS Bike Computer

Size tested: 2.7in screen

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

Wahoo says: "It is a high-end bike computer that allows for a strong suite of connections combined with a decent navigation option."

I would say it hits this mark and Wahoo has certainly invested a fair amount of effort into making it easy to use, which adds to the experience of using it.

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

DUAL-BAND TECHNOLOGY

WIRELESS CONNECTION & UPLOADS

GPS FUNCTIONALITY

FULLY CUSTOMIZABLE SCREEN

THREE MOUNTING OPTIONS

2.7" DIAGONAL SCREEN

USB RECHARGEABLE BATTERY

COMPANION APP SET UP

QUICKLOOK LED INDICATORS

PERFECTVIEW ZOOM BUTTONS

SMART BUTTONS

LIVE TRACKING

TEXT, EMAIL, PHONE ALERTS

STRAVA & RIDE WITH GPS INTEGRATION

KICKR SMART TRAINER CONTROL

ELECTRONIC GEAR SHIFTER COMPATIBILITY

MUSCLE OXYGEN SENSOR COMPATIBILITY

TURN-BY-TURN NAVIGATION WITH RIDE WITH GPS ROUTES

INCLUDES GLOBAL MAPS

STRAVA LIVE SEGMENTS INTEGRATION

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
8/10

Well made and with rubberised buffers, it is unlikely to break if it were to fall off the bike.

Rate the product for performance:
 
8/10

Performs well, offering excellent user experience, well thought out designs, and clear display of data.

Rate the product for durability:
 
9/10

Large buffers may not look especially good, but they are likely to protect it from falls. Wahoo is also especially good at updating its products, so even when it's a year old, it will still likely be up to date.

Rate the product for weight (if applicable)
 
7/10

Others are lighter, but at 104g it's not going to hugely slow you down.

Rate the product for value:
 
5/10

It is expensive, but given that it's one of the best non-Garmin computers on the market, it can be forgiven.

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

It performed very well. I didn't have any major issues using it, battery life was good and data showed up well.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

Ease of use and the ability to quickly navigate through different elements was great.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

It is bulky for a bike computer.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes

Would you consider buying the product? Yes

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes

Use this box to explain your score

This is a really strong showing from Wahoo, which has included several innovative features – some of which, such as the menus and pairing, are superior to Garmin. However, despite it being a strong contender it is not quite up at that level yet overall, although with a few more updates Wahoo could be a genuine threat soon.

Overall rating: 8/10

About the tester

Age: 27  Height: 6 ft  Weight:

I usually ride: Cannondale Supersix Evo 6  My best bike is:

I've been riding for: 5-10 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Experienced

I regularly do the following types of riding: commuting, club rides, sportives, general fitness riding, fixed/singlespeed, mountain biking

George spends his days flitting between writing about data, running business magazines and writing about sports technology. The latter gave him the impetus (excuse) to get even further into the cycling world before taking the dive and starting his own cycling sites and writing for Road.cc. 

When he is not writing about cycling, he is either out on his bike cursing not living in the countryside or boring anybody who will listen about the latest pro peloton/cycling tech/cycling infrastructure projects.  

38 comments

Avatar
pl6125 [10 posts] 1 year ago
1 like

Regarding turn by turn navigation, you can do this now with RideWithGPS routes:

How do I use turn by turn on my ELEMNT (Wahoo Support)

Turn by Turn Navigation Rolls out to Wahoo ELEMNT (DC Rainmaker)

 

Avatar
themartincox [553 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes

I've been using the elemnt for a few months and really like it, as the review says the turn by turn is needed, and clearly wahoo knew this because it was added to its features back in june!

Now the top level of LEDs flash left or right as you come to a junction. It's good in the day, but brilliant in the dark!

 

 updates are a regular feature with wahoo, it almost makes owning the elemnt fun, because there's a steady stream of new features being added (live Strava segments was added a couple of weeks ago)

Avatar
SilverMerlin [25 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes

I have had an elemnt for a couple of months now and really like using the device. the approach that it uses is innovative and logical and a bit different from other bike computer I have had. I would highly recommend it. 

Nice to see a generally positive review. I think perhaps it should be the Garmin 520  that the unit is compared to rather than the Garmin 820 as these are in the same price range. It is a more superior product than the 520. Don’t be put off because it is not a Garmin.

I would disagree with the writers comment about screen quality. The screen is excellent and makes for easy reading in bright sunshine. Black and white is actually an advantage. The device also does turn by turn with RideWithGPS. You plot a route on the RWGPS website which then syncs with your device. You do not need to be connected to the RWGPS app/website when following a route out on the bike.  The turn markers are clear and accurate.  You can follow a line on a map with Strava planed routes but there is no turn by turn directions. The device and companion app also seem to be updated on a regular basis with new features added all the time. 

Avatar
rjfrussell [414 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
pl6125 wrote:

Regarding turn by turn navigation, you can do this now with RideWithGPS routes:

How do I use turn by turn on my ELEMNT (Wahoo Support)

Turn by Turn Navigation Rolls out to Wahoo ELEMNT (DC Rainmaker)

 

Do you still have to pay a montly sub to RideWithGPS to be able to do this?

Avatar
SilverMerlin [25 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes

No you can use free RWGPS to use route planning with the elemnt. You do not need a paid subscription. I am new to RWGPS route planning but have been really suprised how good it is better than Strava and others I have used in the past. 

 

rjfrussell wrote:
pl6125 wrote:

Regarding turn by turn navigation, you can do this now with RideWithGPS routes:

How do I use turn by turn on my ELEMNT (Wahoo Support)

Turn by Turn Navigation Rolls out to Wahoo ELEMNT (DC Rainmaker)

 

Do you still have to pay a montly sub to RideWithGPS to be able to do this?

Avatar
hsiaolc [367 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
SilverMerlin wrote:

I have had an elemnt for a couple of months now and really like using the device. the approach that it uses is innovative and logical and a bit different from other bike computer I have had. I would highly recommend it. 

Nice to see a generally positive review. I think perhaps it should be the Garmin 520  that the unit is compared to rather than the Garmin 820 as these are in the same price range. It is a more superior product than the 520. Don’t be put off because it is not a Garmin.

I would disagree with the writers comment about screen quality. The screen is excellent and makes for easy reading in bright sunshine. Black and white is actually an advantage. The device also does turn by turn with RideWithGPS. You plot a route on the RWGPS website which then syncs with your device. You do not need to be connected to the RWGPS app/website when following a route out on the bike.  The turn markers are clear and accurate.  You can follow a line on a map with Strava planed routes but there is no turn by turn directions. The device and companion app also seem to be updated on a regular basis with new features added all the time. 

The size and the look put me off from buying one. 

I specifically went to a store to take a look before buying (been studying it for the past couple months) however, the moment I saw it infront of me it just completely put me off by the size (not the screen but the whole unit).  Its like a big black brick and its not light either. 

Maybe next gen?

Avatar
SilverMerlin [25 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes

Looks are always going to be subjective. I actually quite like the look of the elemnt, the colour also matches my bike - stealth black, sad I know! But some will obviously not like the way it looks. The weight and size is broadly similar with bike computers I have had, I wouldn't say it was a black brick - but again beauty is in the eye of the beholder. 

Avatar
Dante256 [27 posts] 1 year ago
3 likes

I think that the LEDS, used both for navigation and the general riding make this an AMAZING device.

So far this is the best implementation of Strava Live segments I have seen yet.

The turn by turn navigation could be a little better - you cant navigate to a POI or a location not stored in the device. Nor is there route to home, but that can easily be worked in over time

I've written a rather large (2995 words) review covering just about every aspect of the Wahoo Elemnt, and I really hope that the innovation seen here shakes up the other manufacturers 

if anyone is interested the review is here

http://www.titaniumgeek.com/gear-reviews/wahoo-elemnt-gps-bike-computer-...

Avatar
redhanded [27 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes

I've had an ELEMNT for about 4 months now and far prefer it to my previous Garmin Edge Touring.

I find the ELEMNT screen is a lot more legible than the Garmin.  I sometimes struggled to read the Garmin screen in bright sunlight but the large crisp B&W screen on the ELEMNT is simply more readable in all conditions.

As mentioned previously, the ELEMNT does support TBT when directions are provided in routes (such as from RwGPS)

Also from my experience with the Garmin Edge Touring, I found the Garmin implementation of routing and TBT very unreliable.  When I'm on a club run, it is a common occurance that the ride leader will take a wrong turn based upon what the Garmin is saying (or isn't saying) then I shout out the right direction based upon the ELEMNT.

I can't say I'm thrilled by the case design either but from a software perspective, Wahoo have consistently delivered updates to address bugs and add a lot new functionality.

Avatar
hsiaolc [367 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
Dante256 wrote:

I think that the LEDS, used both for navigation and the general riding make this an AMAZING device.

So far this is the best implementation of Strava Live segments I have seen yet.

The turn by turn navigation could be a little better - you cant navigate to a POI or a location not stored in the device. Nor is there route to home, but that can easily be worked in over time

I've written a rather large (2995 words) review covering just about every aspect of the Wahoo Elemnt, and I really hope that the innovation seen here shakes up the other manufacturers 

if anyone is interested the review is here

http://www.titaniumgeek.com/gear-reviews/wahoo-elemnt-gps-bike-computer-...

Excellent review.  Really makes you want to get one regardless of size and looks. 

Avatar
tritecommentbot [2268 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes

I'm sold on it, actually think it looks cool. Would love those LEDs when gunning it. //www.titaniumgeek.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/IMG_2157.jpg) Still, we can't get turn by turn without subbing to RidewithGPS This is an industry-wide problem. When will we get decent free software that's easy to use and gives us cues on any device.

 

Edit: I have a new 520 here, only two rides on it. Will do a trade for the Elemnt if anyone hates theirs. Missus took my 1000 surprise

Avatar
Mr. Sheep [60 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
unconstituted wrote:

Still, we can't get turn by turn without subbing to RidewithGPS This is an industry-wide problem. When will we get decent free software that's easy to use and gives us cues on any device.

You don't need a paid membership to do route planning on RideWithGPS - https://ridewithgps.com/help/compare-plans - I think the paid "turn by turn on Android or iOS" is for their own RideWithGPS app, pretty certain the cue sheet gets generated when you plan the route, and that's what the ELEMNT uses. Maybe someone without a premium membership but with an ELEMNT can confirm that...

I love my ELEMNT, really super-happy with it, can't remember the last time I was this pleased with a technology purchase right out of the box (it probably helps that I bought it after the first few rounds of firmware updates had come out so missed the teething problems  1 ). Yeah it might not be the best looking device out there but boy is it functional! And from the rider's position on the bike it looks great.

I also love the screen, super-clear and crisp and easy to read in any lighting conditions I've tried it in.

Dante256 wrote:

I've written a rather large (2995 words) review covering just about every aspect of the Wahoo Elemnt, and I really hope that the innovation seen here shakes up the other manufacturers 

http://www.titaniumgeek.com/gear-reviews/wahoo-elemnt-gps-bike-computer-...

Great review!

Avatar
tritecommentbot [2268 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
Mr. Sheep wrote:
unconstituted wrote:

Still, we can't get turn by turn without subbing to RidewithGPS This is an industry-wide problem. When will we get decent free software that's easy to use and gives us cues on any device.

You don't need a paid membership to do route planning on RideWithGPS - https://ridewithgps.com/help/compare-plans - I think the paid "turn by turn on Android or iOS" is for their own RideWithGPS app, pretty certain the cue sheet gets generated when you plan the route, and that's what the ELEMNT uses. Maybe someone without a premium membership but with an ELEMNT can confirm that...

I love my ELEMNT, really super-happy with it, can't remember the last time I was this pleased with a technology purchase right out of the box (it probably helps that I bought it after the first few rounds of firmware updates had come out so missed the teething problems  1 ). Yeah it might not be the best looking device out there but boy is it functional! And from the rider's position on the bike it looks great.

I also love the screen, super-clear and crisp and easy to read in any lighting conditions I've tried it in.

Dante256 wrote:

I've written a rather large (2995 words) review covering just about every aspect of the Wahoo Elemnt, and I really hope that the innovation seen here shakes up the other manufacturers 

http://www.titaniumgeek.com/gear-reviews/wahoo-elemnt-gps-bike-computer-...

Great review!

 

Unfortunately not. I wish though, would rather do fast rides in new areas, than have to do my usual laps. 

 

Sub plans:

https://ridewithgps.com/help/compare-plans

 

 

Avatar
cdean [23 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
unconstituted wrote:
Mr. Sheep wrote:
unconstituted wrote:

Still, we can't get turn by turn without subbing to RidewithGPS This is an industry-wide problem. When will we get decent free software that's easy to use and gives us cues on any device.

You don't need a paid membership to do route planning on RideWithGPS - https://ridewithgps.com/help/compare-plans - I think the paid "turn by turn on Android or iOS" is for their own RideWithGPS app, pretty certain the cue sheet gets generated when you plan the route, and that's what the ELEMNT uses. Maybe someone without a premium membership but with an ELEMNT can confirm that...

I love my ELEMNT, really super-happy with it, can't remember the last time I was this pleased with a technology purchase right out of the box (it probably helps that I bought it after the first few rounds of firmware updates had come out so missed the teething problems  1 ). Yeah it might not be the best looking device out there but boy is it functional! And from the rider's position on the bike it looks great.

I also love the screen, super-clear and crisp and easy to read in any lighting conditions I've tried it in.

Dante256 wrote:

I've written a rather large (2995 words) review covering just about every aspect of the Wahoo Elemnt, and I really hope that the innovation seen here shakes up the other manufacturers 

http://www.titaniumgeek.com/gear-reviews/wahoo-elemnt-gps-bike-computer-...

Great review!

 

Unfortunately not. I wish though, would rather do fast rides in new areas, than have to do my usual laps. 

 

Sub plans:

https://ridewithgps.com/help/compare-plans

 

 

I rode a route this weekend that I'd plotted on the free version of RWGPS, exported as a .gpx file and uploaded to my Mio Cyclo 315, and it followed it with turn by turn navigation.

Avatar
Mr. Sheep [60 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
unconstituted wrote:

Unfortunately not. I wish though, would rather do fast rides in new areas, than have to do my usual laps. 

 

Sub plans:

https://ridewithgps.com/help/compare-plans

From that page, "Create Your Own Routes" is available in the unpaid plan, which I believe is all you need to create routes with TBT cues for the ELEMNT.

Avatar
tritecommentbot [2268 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
cdean wrote:
unconstituted wrote:
Mr. Sheep wrote:
unconstituted wrote:

Still, we can't get turn by turn without subbing to RidewithGPS This is an industry-wide problem. When will we get decent free software that's easy to use and gives us cues on any device.

You don't need a paid membership to do route planning on RideWithGPS - https://ridewithgps.com/help/compare-plans - I think the paid "turn by turn on Android or iOS" is for their own RideWithGPS app, pretty certain the cue sheet gets generated when you plan the route, and that's what the ELEMNT uses. Maybe someone without a premium membership but with an ELEMNT can confirm that...

I love my ELEMNT, really super-happy with it, can't remember the last time I was this pleased with a technology purchase right out of the box (it probably helps that I bought it after the first few rounds of firmware updates had come out so missed the teething problems  1 ). Yeah it might not be the best looking device out there but boy is it functional! And from the rider's position on the bike it looks great.

I also love the screen, super-clear and crisp and easy to read in any lighting conditions I've tried it in.

Dante256 wrote:

I've written a rather large (2995 words) review covering just about every aspect of the Wahoo Elemnt, and I really hope that the innovation seen here shakes up the other manufacturers 

http://www.titaniumgeek.com/gear-reviews/wahoo-elemnt-gps-bike-computer-...

Great review!

 

Unfortunately not. I wish though, would rather do fast rides in new areas, than have to do my usual laps. 

 

Sub plans:

https://ridewithgps.com/help/compare-plans

 

 

I rode a route this weekend that I'd plotted on the free version of RWGPS, exported as a .gpx file and uploaded to my Mio Cyclo 315, and it followed it with turn by turn navigation.

 

Not the only person to say this recently.. not sure how though! I've used it for free on and off on the Edge 1000 and nothing!

Avatar
SilverMerlin [25 posts] 1 year ago
2 likes

As an elemnt owner just to confirm that you do not need a RWGPS paid subscription to plot routes and get TBT directions on the elemnt. I think the paid TBT is for the phone app. 

Avatar
bohrhead [82 posts] 1 year ago
1 like

"In terms of screen quality, navigation and size, it is still behind"
...
"The screen is fairly large, offering a decent amount of display space, but it is only black and white, with basic use of pixels. It is still simple to see the maps and data, though, and far better than many others I have used in the past. It isn't touchscreen, unlike offerings from Garmin."

Why is black and white and non-touch-screen considered negative?

I have a Garmin 510 which has a colour screen but when in use the scheme is pretty much just black and white but less readable than a traditional black and white screen. Also the touch screen on the 510 is a nightmare. That's why they abandoned it on the 520.

I think it's the notion that consumers demand 'cutting edge' technology (as the reviewer is appearing to do) even if it's badly executed or sub-optimal that leads Garmin to pump out the kind of rubbish that they do.

Avatar
cdean [23 posts] 1 year ago
1 like
unconstituted wrote:

Not the only person to say this recently.. not sure how though! I've used it for free on and off on the Edge 1000 and nothing!

 

View a route in the browser on your computer, then go to "Export" in the top right (next to "Overview" and "Metrics"). If you scroll down it gives you various options with guidance as to which option is best for your device. I click "GPX Track (.gpx)" which it describes as "Useful for any GPS unit. Contains no cuesheet entries, only track information (breadcrumb trail). Will provide turn by turn directions (true navigation) on the Edge 705/800/810/1000/Touring, but will not have any custom cues. Works great for Mio Cyclo". It should then download the .gpx file to your computer and you can then import it to your device. I'm not sure how you do this bit on a Garmin, but the Ride with GPS site Export bit also has a link to various pages for different devices - the Edge 1000 one is here: https://ridewithgps.com/help/garmin-edge-1000

I definitely have the free version - I've never even given RWGPS my payment details.

Hope that helps!

Avatar
xcleigh [3 posts] 1 year ago
1 like

Using the free Ride with GPS I have created a couple of routes. First by creating a route on the computer and it shows up on the app on my phone and once that is connected to the ELEMNT (and the RWGPS is linked to the app) it shows on the routes page (accessed from the map screen) and I can choose to ride the route.

You can also create routes in the ELEMNT app itself by going into your profile and clicking in ROUTES, this then gives the option of creating a route From History (basically a route you've already ridden, ideal if someone has guided you around their local area and you want to ride the route again sans guide),  From Web (Strava or RWGPS) and From File.

Never used Garmin but the Wahoo is just soo easy to set up and use, superb bit of bike kit.

Avatar
tritecommentbot [2268 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
cdean wrote:
unconstituted wrote:

Not the only person to say this recently.. not sure how though! I've used it for free on and off on the Edge 1000 and nothing!

 

View a route in the browser on your computer, then go to "Export" in the top right (next to "Overview" and "Metrics"). If you scroll down it gives you various options with guidance as to which option is best for your device. I click "GPX Track (.gpx)" which it describes as "Useful for any GPS unit. Contains no cuesheet entries, only track information (breadcrumb trail). Will provide turn by turn directions (true navigation) on the Edge 705/800/810/1000/Touring, but will not have any custom cues. Works great for Mio Cyclo". It should then download the .gpx file to your computer and you can then import it to your device. I'm not sure how you do this bit on a Garmin, but the Ride with GPS site Export bit also has a link to various pages for different devices - the Edge 1000 one is here: https://ridewithgps.com/help/garmin-edge-1000

I definitely have the free version - I've never even given RWGPS my payment details.

Hope that helps!

 

Created a quick route and emailed it to myself. Will try tonight or tomorrow to see if turn by turn pops. Cheers, fingers crossed and will report back! wink

Avatar
cdean [23 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
unconstituted wrote:

Created a quick route and emailed it to myself. Will try tonight or tomorrow to see if turn by turn pops. Cheers, fingers crossed and will report back! wink

 

Good luck!

Avatar
xcleigh [3 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
unconstituted wrote:
cdean wrote:
unconstituted wrote:

Not the only person to say this recently.. not sure how though! I've used it for free on and off on the Edge 1000 and nothing!

 

View a route in the browser on your computer, then go to "Export" in the top right (next to "Overview" and "Metrics"). If you scroll down it gives you various options with guidance as to which option is best for your device. I click "GPX Track (.gpx)" which it describes as "Useful for any GPS unit. Contains no cuesheet entries, only track information (breadcrumb trail). Will provide turn by turn directions (true navigation) on the Edge 705/800/810/1000/Touring, but will not have any custom cues. Works great for Mio Cyclo". It should then download the .gpx file to your computer and you can then import it to your device. I'm not sure how you do this bit on a Garmin, but the Ride with GPS site Export bit also has a link to various pages for different devices - the Edge 1000 one is here: https://ridewithgps.com/help/garmin-edge-1000

I definitely have the free version - I've never even given RWGPS my payment details.

Hope that helps!

 

Created a quick route and emailed it to myself. Will try tonight or tomorrow to see if turn by turn pops. Cheers, fingers crossed and will report back! wink

 

 

Or you could put the ELEMNT and RWGPS apps on your phone and link them through the ELEMNT app, create route on RWGPS Desktop site, turn on ELEMNT (it automatically synchs routes) and choose that Route from the map screen and ride it. Simple.

Avatar
700c [1171 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes

This all sounds really complicated! I've got an old Edge 800 and using Garmin Connect have never had a problem with turn-by-turn navigation

I would like there to be real competition for Garmin so that the prices can come down, for when I eventually replace mine. It sounds like this is nearly there for functionality (in some ways maybe better), but perhaps not for simplicity?

Avatar
Mr. Sheep [60 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
700c wrote:

This all sounds really complicated! I've got an old Edge 800 and using Garmin Connect have never had a problem with turn-by-turn navigation

I would like there to be real competition for Garmin so that the prices can come down, for when I eventually replace mine. It sounds like this is nearly there for functionality (in some ways maybe better), but perhaps not for simplicity?

It's not complicated at all on the ELEMNT, I think most of the above discussion is regarding using RideWithGPS routes on a Garmin or Mio or something?? Not sure, but to route with elemnt:

1. Prepare route on Strava or (if you want turn-by-turn) Ride With GPS.

2. Press the Sync button on the elemnt routes screen to connect to wifi and download all your routes (it syncs itself every 24 hours if it connects to a wifi network, so often times you don't need to manually do this).

3. Select the route you want, then ride! All your RWGPS and Strava routes are there in a list on the device to choose from, all fully downloaded so you don't need to be connected to wifi other than for the above sync. All the maps are pre-loaded too so no messing about ensuring you have the right map areas downloaded.

That's it. I struggle to see how it could be simpler with the exception of having on-device routing, but I've yet to hear anyone who's particularly satisfied with any implementation of that out there...

Avatar
700c [1171 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
Mr. Sheep wrote:
700c wrote:

This all sounds really complicated! I've got an old Edge 800 and using Garmin Connect have never had a problem with turn-by-turn navigation

I would like there to be real competition for Garmin so that the prices can come down, for when I eventually replace mine. It sounds like this is nearly there for functionality (in some ways maybe better), but perhaps not for simplicity?

It's not complicated at all on the ELEMNT, I think most of the above discussion is regarding using RideWithGPS routes on a Garmin or Mio or something?? Not sure, but to route with elemnt:

1. Prepare route on Strava or (if you want turn-by-turn) Ride With GPS.

2. Press the Sync button on the elemnt routes screen to connect to wifi and download all your routes (it syncs itself every 24 hours if it connects to a wifi network, so often times you don't need to manually do this).

3. Select the route you want, then ride! All your RWGPS and Strava routes are there in a list on the device to choose from, all fully downloaded so you don't need to be connected to wifi other than for the above sync. All the maps are pre-loaded too so no messing about ensuring you have the right map areas downloaded.

That's it. I struggle to see how it could be simpler with the exception of having on-device routing, but I've yet to hear anyone who's particularly satisfied with any implementation of that out there...

Simplicity probably depends on your perspective! The more technologically-minded probably have no problem at all with it.

Is the difference not that it is reliant on third party software to plan navigable routes and synch etc, as opposed to Garmin, for which you can use Garmin Connect to do everything? (Not that every Garmin user does, of course).

The review then talks about having to have your phone app running too, in order to get turn-by-turn which I can't get my head around.

Avatar
Mr. Sheep [60 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
markysparks wrote:

You do need your phone at all for a following a route with turn by turn directions created with RWGPS. Once you have the RWGPS route synced onto the Elemnt, it will use its own GPS and the cue instructions embedded within the RWGPS route to give turn by by turn directions.

I think you mean don't need your phone at all  3 The review is completely wrong about that.

Avatar
Mr. Sheep [60 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
700c wrote:

Simplicity probably depends on your perspective! The more technologically-minded probably have no problem at all with it. Is the difference not that it is reliant on third party software to plan navigable routes and synch etc, as opposed to Garmin, for which you can use Garmin Connect to do everything? (Not that every Garmin user does, of course). The review then talks about having to have your phone app running too, in order to get turn-by-turn which I can't get my head around.

The review is 100% wrong about that, you don't need a phone with you whatsoever for any of the features of the elemnt aside from live tracking.

The only thing you need a phone for is using the app to configure the screens on the elemnt, and it's a really intuitive way of doing that. You can also use the app to sync rides from the elemnt up to a selection of different online services, or you can simply let the elemnt do that itself when it connects to wifi at the end of your ride. For rides that finish at my house, I usually have a notification on my phone from Strava saying my ride is already there and ready for me, before I've even managed to unlock my front door, as the elemnt has already connected and uploaded it.

You're right that you're using a third-party service to create the routes, but RWGPS is a great way to create routes and likely better than anything Wahoo would have created themselves, so why re-invent the wheel? I've not used Garmin Connect so I can't comment on how they compare, but in terms of "things you have to deal with", it's just create a route on RWGPS and ride, vs create a route on Garmin Connect and ride (I assume?) - you're still only dealing with one computer-based thing, the only difference is who makes it  1

Avatar
markysparks [7 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes
700c wrote:
Mr. Sheep wrote:
700c wrote:

This all sounds really complicated! I've got an old Edge 800 and using Garmin Connect have never had a problem with turn-by-turn navigation

I would like there to be real competition for Garmin so that the prices can come down, for when I eventually replace mine. It sounds like this is nearly there for functionality (in some ways maybe better), but perhaps not for simplicity?

It's not complicated at all on the ELEMNT, I think most of the above discussion is regarding using RideWithGPS routes on a Garmin or Mio or something?? Not sure, but to route with elemnt:

1. Prepare route on Strava or (if you want turn-by-turn) Ride With GPS.

2. Press the Sync button on the elemnt routes screen to connect to wifi and download all your routes (it syncs itself every 24 hours if it connects to a wifi network, so often times you don't need to manually do this).

3. Select the route you want, then ride! All your RWGPS and Strava routes are there in a list on the device to choose from, all fully downloaded so you don't need to be connected to wifi other than for the above sync. All the maps are pre-loaded too so no messing about ensuring you have the right map areas downloaded.

That's it. I struggle to see how it could be simpler with the exception of having on-device routing, but I've yet to hear anyone who's particularly satisfied with any implementation of that out there...

Simplicity probably depends on your perspective! The more technologically-minded probably have no problem at all with it. Is the difference not that it is reliant on third party software to plan navigable routes and synch etc, as opposed to Garmin, for which you can use Garmin Connect to do everything? (Not that every Garmin user does, of course). The review then talks about having to have your phone app running too, in order to get turn-by-turn which I can't get my head around.

You don't need your phone at all for a following a route with turn by turn directions created with RWGPS. Once you have the RWGPS route synced onto the Elemnt, it will use its own GPS and the cue instructions embedded within the RWGPS route to give turn by by turn directions.

It works great - the best thing of all is the LEDs telling you at a glance to turn left or right (along with an audible beep alert). I struggled for a few years with Garmins and Mio's but this device is a big step forward. As others have already said, the high contrast e-paper like screen is a bonus - I can see the screen in bright sunlight without having to turn a backlight up full. 

Turning off wifi gives me a good 12hrs navigating. Setup is a breeze using the companion app and the company have released regular updates that fix any bugs and increase the functionality of the device - at last. So pleased I purchased this as I had almost given up with bike computers.

 

edit - You don't need your phone, thanks Mr Sheep!

Avatar
tgrx1901 [7 posts] 1 year ago
0 likes

I'm perhaps a bit late to the discussion but has anyone tried using plotaroute as an alternative to ridewithgps for the Elemnt?
It provides cue cards and you can select the distance you would like turn warnings to appear before the actual turn point. Its free to use.

Pages