Home
Verdict: 
Excellent rain protection and low-bulk fit makes them ideal for spring and autumn riding and racing
Weight: 
82g
Contact: 
Rapha Pro Team Rain Overshoes
8 10

Rapha launched the Pro Team Rain Overshoes as part of its new Pro Team Softshell range, designed for racing in cold and wet conditions, with input from Team Sky. The overshoes are made from the same softshell fabric used in the jacket from the same range. They're less bulky than a neoprene overshoe and provide impressive wet weather protection.

They're constructed from a three-layer fabric that Rapha has developed, with a polyurethane membrane sandwiched between the inner and outer layer. The fabric is then soaked in a DWR treatment – most fabrics have a DWR treatment coated on the outer surface.

Buy these online here

To ensure water resistance all seams are taped, the main seam externally from the toes right across the middle. The zip is water resistant too. The sole is constructed from a durable fabric with cut out cleat and heel holes. A few reflective details are added, but it's a shame the signature Pro Team horizontal stripes aren't reflective, though they do add a useful bit of contrast for low-light riding.

I found the Medium shoes a good fit over my size 45 Fizik shoes; the ankle could be slightly tighter, though it's fine when worn with a pair of legwarmers or bib tights as the extra layer of material around the ankle fills them out. A size Small provided a much more snug fit, but required a bit more wrestling into place.

Performance in the conditions they're designed for is very impressive. They do a top job of keeping road spray and rain out of your shoes. They're not completely impenetrable – ride in heavy rain long enough and the water will eventually overcome their ability to keep the damp out – but for short rides and races, I found them easily up to the task of keeping my feet dry.

They're also highly breathable, and that makes them well suited to riding and racing in the changeable conditions of spring and autumn (and wet summer days). When it can be warm but very wet, full-on winter overshoes are overkill and oversocks, my usual go-to choice for spring, aren't up to the task. The Rapha Pro Team Rain Overshoes suit these conditions perfectly. They keep the rain out, or most of it anyway, and certainly enough for a typical race distance or short training ride, yet don't overheat the toes.

With a lightweight build and excellent and comfortable fit, backed up with impressive bad weather protection, the Rapha Pro Team Rain Overshoes fit the bill for riding and racing in challenging weather, and are well suited to spring (and autumn) conditions.

Verdict

Excellent rain protection and low-bulk fit makes them ideal for spring and autumn riding and racing 

road.cc test report

Make and model: Rapha Pro Team Rain Overshoes

Size tested: Medium

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

Rapha says: "Traditional neoprene overshoes are ill-suited to racing and training, with their high saturated weight, bulky fit, and lack of breathability. The Pro Team Overshoe uses the same fabric as the Pro Team Softshell Jacket to overcome these problems, creating an overshoe that's suitable for high-tempo efforts in cold and wet conditions.

"The high-stretch fabric allows for a low-profile and aerodynamic fit, while taped critical seams and a water-resistant zip maximise weather protection. A durable sole panel prevents wear and tear from road grit, while pre-cut cleat and heel holes allow for grip when walking. Finished with high-visibility details."

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

Softshell fabric

Low-profile, aerodynamic fit

Durable sole panel

Pre-cut heel and cleat holes

Weather-resistant zip

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
9/10

First class construction provides a great fit and durability is good.

Rate the product for performance:
 
9/10

Perfect for mixed conditions, like the whole of spring and, unfortunately, plenty of the summer, with none of the bulk of winter overshoes but more protection than oversocks.

Rate the product for durability:
 
9/10

Solid construction and the durable sole and cleat openings has stood up well under demanding test conditions.

Rate the product for weight, if applicable:
 
8/10

About as light as you want to go and still offer a decent level of protection.

Rate the product for comfort, if applicable:
 
9/10

Really good comfort with a low bulk fit.

Rate the product for value:
 
8/10

Yes they're expensive but they offer first class performance.

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

Keep much of the rain out with none of the bulk and they're breathable as well so ideal for warmer temps.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

Close aero fit and low bulk and nice balance of rain protection and breathability.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

Fit around the ankle could be improved a little.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes

Would you consider buying the product? Yes

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes

Use this box to explain your score

With a lightweight build and excellent and comfortable fit, backed up with impressive bad weather protection, the Rapha Pro Team Rain Overshoes fit the bill for riding and racing in challenging weather, and are well suited to spring/autumn conditions.

Overall rating: 8/10

About the tester

Age: 31  Height: 180  Weight: 67

I usually ride:   My best bike is:

I've been riding for: 10-20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Expert

I regularly do the following types of riding: road racing, time trialling, cyclo-cross, commuting, touring, mountain biking

 

David has worked on the road.cc tech team since July 2012. Previously he was editor of Bikemagic.com and before that staff writer at RCUK. He's a seasoned cyclist of all disciplines, from road to mountain biking, touring to cyclo-cross, he only wishes he had time to ride them all. He's mildly competitive, though he'll never admit it, and is a frequent road racer but is too lazy to do really well. He currently resides in the Cotswolds.

18 comments

Avatar
surly_by_name [559 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

I can't stand posts that complain about the cost of the reviewed item - so I am going to try to avoid that. However, I find shoe covers (of pretty much every stripe, from fancy neoprene ones to more quotidian DeFeet oversocks) get destroyed pretty rapidly with use, especially if you have to walk anywhere (even a short distance) in them, or you put your left foot down all the time at lights, etc. Anyway, while these Rapha ones look great - seems a very sensible use of softshell fabric, hopefully other manufacturers will follow suit - £65 is more than I want to spend on a piece of clothing that I expect will get trashed in a season at best when there are a lot of other options out there that I can afford to be less careful with. I'd like to be able to justify the cost but i don't think I could. They do look good though.

Avatar
don simon [1761 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

I'll stick with merino socks, thanks.

Avatar
Darkhairedlord [57 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

A pair of socks, £65. Hmmm.

Avatar
HulaBoy [35 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Velotoze. You're welcome.

Avatar
sorebones [139 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

I have a set of these. Utterly brilliant. I didn't have to pay full RRP but it would have been worth it if I had, to me at least.

I've had no issues with water getting through, the fit is fantastic and adds very little bulk (I hate thick neoprene type overshoes). I also found them warm enough to wear down to 5 or 6 degrees as well. As for wearing out - after using them for several weeks from late winter and early spring mine look as good as new, although perhaps that's because I prefer to riding my bike to walking alongside it?

I don't understand how anyone can compare softshell overshoes with merino socks, but to each their own!

Avatar
surly_by_name [559 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
sorebones wrote:

... although perhaps that's because I prefer to riding my bike to walking alongside it?

Ride bike to work. Lock bike up at bike rack in carpark. Walk c.150m to lift. Don't remove overshoes until at desk. Repeat through winter. You can "prefer" whatever you want.

Avatar
Danger Dicko [282 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Another Velotoze user here. They're like a condom for your feet.
I tend to use them all year round too as aero covers.

Avatar
Poptart242 [185 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
surly_by_name wrote:

I can't stand posts that complain about the cost of the reviewed item - so I am going to try to avoid that. However, I find shoe covers (of pretty much every stripe, from fancy neoprene ones to more quotidian DeFeet oversocks) get destroyed pretty rapidly with use, especially if you have to walk anywhere (even a short distance) in them, or you put your left foot down all the time at lights, etc. Anyway, while these Rapha ones look great - seems a very sensible use of softshell fabric, hopefully other manufacturers will follow suit - £65 is more than I want to spend on a piece of clothing that I expect will get trashed in a season at best when there are a lot of other options out there that I can afford to be less careful with. I'd like to be able to justify the cost but i don't think I could. They do look good though.

Endura Road Overshoes -£25 bombproof commuter overshoes.

Only black and natty silver available so they're not quite as fashionable as the Rapha but they're pretty good: https://tinyurl.com/ncpecjo

Avatar
StoopidUserName [390 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

I've got some altura ones...

..which I no longer use since I bought some goretex winter boots but...

I gotta say, the main reason I ditched the altura overshoes (rrp £30 - £35+) was they were awful breathability wise. They definately leaked water on my commute (around an hour) but sometimes...in light rain or where I put them on expecting rain but there wasn't any...my socks were utterly soaked anyway - they don't breathe!! And thats in colder temperatures too.

Not sure I'd pay RRP for these but if they are breathable as well as waterproof/resistant then they are usuable then they may be worth the money...

Avatar
monkeytrousers [130 posts] 2 years ago
1 like

 21

Avatar
monkeytrousers [130 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

That's for the product, not any of the comments, BTW.

Avatar
robthehungrymonkey [177 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
Poptart242 wrote:

Endura Road Overshoes -£25 bombproof commuter overshoes.

Only black and natty silver available so they're not quite as fashionable as the Rapha but they're pretty good: https://tinyurl.com/ncpecjo

I've got these Endura ones and I don't use them. They are probably good for commuting, but long rides I sweat so much in them that my feet were soaked and stank. I don't think you're comparing like for like.

I'm actually looking for exactly these, but am a bit put off by the price (this isn't a rapha-bashing, I have other Rapha items and think they're generally worth it) as I doubt i'll get a huge amount of use out of them. I was looking at the castelli Nano overshoes, but reviews don't seem to be unanimous.

I'd like something that gives some waterproofing and prevents the squelching from a complete drenching like i had on Sunday.

Avatar
crikey [1251 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Coming soon to a sportive near you...

Avatar
Gordy748 [110 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

I got these for the spring for racing, and paid full rack rate. They're brilliant in the early season. But they're also so smooth, and so breathable, that I've used them in criteriums and track races through the summer as aero shoe covers. I've raced with them in weather over 30 degrees without an issue.

They are completely unlike merino socks, and a key part of my race wardrobe. Just brilliant and, for their flexibility, are totally worth the money.

Avatar
don simon [1761 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
Quote:

They are completely unlike merino socks, and a key part of my race wardrobe. Just brilliant and, for their flexibility, are totally worth the money.

I'll concede on the aero, but as I'm not paid to ride I don't need the marginal gains and I'd rather spend my money on kit, but each to their own.
Merino will keep me warm in winter, are cool enough for summer (not like it gets hot here anyway as the air is always cold) and don't lose heat when wet,
Winter is time for neoprene over shoes. Summer for shoes alone.
They are completely unlike merino, these overshoes are unnecessary for those non pros amongst us and merino is much more versatile.

Avatar
Siggsy [1 post] 2 years ago
0 likes

I recently bought a pair of these and can honestly say are the best clothing purchase I have made. I have tried some Castelli Neoprance overshoes, and like all Neoprane, when it rains they get completely soaked and weigh a tonne. living in LAncashir eit rains a lot so I wear overshoes regularly all year round. Water will get up underneath the vent in the shoes but externally these are great. £65 easily worth the money to keep my feet warm and dry. I dont understand cycoists. They will spend thousands of pounds on their bike, and then by cheap crap clothing? Rapha is THE best quality, and great customer service and repair/service.

Avatar
gthornton101 [162 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

My Endura overshoes have done two winters before starting to let too much water in (I can only use them for warmth when cold but dry now) so am on the lookout for new ones.

HulaBoy wrote:

Velotoze. You're welcome.

Those Velotoze do look appealing, especially at ~£15. Anyone know how they hold up durability wise? Would be putting them on/off twice a day typically commuting in winter.

Avatar
Poptart242 [185 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
robthehungrymonkey wrote:
Poptart242 wrote:

Endura Road Overshoes -£25 bombproof commuter overshoes.

Only black and natty silver available so they're not quite as fashionable as the Rapha but they're pretty good: https://tinyurl.com/ncpecjo

I've got these Endura ones and I don't use them. They are probably good for commuting, but long rides I sweat so much in them that my feet were soaked and stank. I don't think you're comparing like for like.

I agree with you there, was addressing another poster, should have been clearer. I do only wear them on shorter or very cold rides - if I need overshoes for any other reason I'll use my lycra booties for TTs and oversocks if it's a little cold.